We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“steak to perfection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Steakhouse

New York Steakhouse
Ranked #135 of 1,382 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“steak to perfection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

well organized and attention to detail this place offers great steaks cooked to perfection. a bit pricey and the offer of selection of knives a bit unnecessary but overall a very good experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 7September
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerveSaigon, Owner at New York Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear 7september, thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, we are very happy to serve you and hope to see you again for Great steaks cooked to perfection !
Herve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great steaks - but at New York prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

As the other reviews say, this isn't the place to go for a budget night out. But you really won't be disappointed. The food, wine and service were excellent.

The steaks were cooked to perfection (accompanied by a little bucket of chips and assortment of sauces) and I've never been asked to chose which steak knife I'd like before which was a nice touch.

The place was quiet so we had the problem of bored waiters coming by every 2 minutes to top up wine and water which was slightly annoying.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bilbodotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, Owner at New York Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Bilbodotcom,
Thank you for your comment. we are very happy that you enjoy your time in NYSH PNH, we are serving only American beef and you choose the aged one. Only a few legendary steakhouses in the world including New York Steakhouse do their own dry-aging because it's expensive and takes meticulous attention and expertise.
For the service our team is here to gives you a memorable experience with all our rituals including our knives ritual.
Hope to see you again in a near future
Herve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff were very accommodating, Chef came and had a chat, and genuinely was interested if you were enjoying your meals. Little bit more costly than others, So well worth it though you would not be dissapointed in the meals

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reldi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, Owner at New York Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Reldi M, Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor, our team is proud to receive such comment, we are here to please our customer and we are happy when it's work.
Thank you for being a part of it.... New York New York...
Best regards
Herve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had another heavenly dinner at New York Steakhouse last night. This is the place to go to satisfy those evenings when you need meat and potatoes but it is so much more than that. The steaks are aged and perfect meat lover heaven in each delicious morsel... I love the wee pot of pate and roasted garlic with breads presented to whet your appetite, and the presentation of a selection of steak knives for the diner to choose from, the selection of sauces that accompany each dish, the array of flavoured salts and mustards. The service is absolutely amazing as well; owner Herve's attention to detail includes a staff trained to perfection in every aspect of dinner service. The house has a great selection of wine to choose from. This is not a budget place to dine in Phnom Penh, but the quality of the food and the service are well worth the price!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyBA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, Owner at New York Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear NancyBA_10
Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor, you made the season even more festive for our staff, they try so hard to provide good service that when guests give such a feedback like yours they understand that they are a part of it !!!!!
You said all about our Rituals, from the sea salt to the dry aged beef, Our chef take special attention to dry aged our USDA meat from 2 to 3 weeks and the result is in the plate !
Merci encore for your feedback and hope to see you soon in NYSH as you are now a member of our NYSH membership card !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
200 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Exceptional steak house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Everything is prepared to perfection; and the service was top notch. Just be prepared to drop some coin at this steakhouse.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Portlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, Owner at New York Steakhouse, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Portlander,
Thank you very much for your quick post, we appreciate it, specifically from a person from Oregon who knows a lot about wines, my favorite is Evening Land, Pinot noir !
Regarding the price, yes it is expensive but you know already why, let me explain for those who have some question, The time-honored process of dry-aging begins with top quality American beef. The meat is hung in our large sterile chiller room with carefully controlled air flow, humidity, and temperature for two to four weeks. During this ripening period, several key things happen. Enzymes break down the muscle fibers, improving tenderness, until by the third week the meat is positively buttery. Dry-aged beef also develops a crust which has to be trimmed away, resulting in an additional loss of up to 25-percent of the meat's original weight. Even though it's an expensive proposition, dry-aged beef has long been considered the best among seasoned steak connoisseurs. They describe its flavor as rich and nutty, decadently tender, and "beefier" than non aged.
Only a few legendary steakhouses in the world including New York Steakhouse do their own dry-aging.
Hope to see you again when you will be back in Phnom Penh.
Herve Beal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Steakhouse also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to New York Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing