We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel - wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One Up - Banana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 325 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Great little hotel - wonderful staff”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I recently spent a few days at the One Up and found it extremely clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing - always ready to help, with beaming smiles and good English. Good location near many sites and an abundance of restaurants and always a tuk-tuk at the ready waiting outside. Staff were always ready with advice regarding directions and good local Khmer eating localities etc.
It was always a friendly, quiet, calm, gentle and relaxing haven to return to after a hot, busy and dusty day out on the streets. Quite difficult to find - up a lane way at the corner 288 St and 51 St.
Would definitely stay again. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Ann K,
We appreciate your review, pointing out to excellent staff as well as our convenient hotel location. Our little hotel indeed offers a friendly quiet place after long day in this sometimes chaotic city. We recommend to ask our staff to serve our guests a cool drink on our rooftop garden terrace. A cool breeze and a nice view over the city to finish your travel day before you head out for dinner. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    96
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
288
99
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Tucked away from the busy bars of the BKK area it is a perfect central location to explore Phnom Penh!
The rooms are cosy, clean and have everything you need!
The staff are super friendly, helpful and accommodating! They even went out of their way and offered me a VIP room for the two extra nights I needed on my own after my boyfriend left! Amazing! Would definitely recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelylisa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Lisa M,
Thank you for your review. Indeed our guests do enjoy great quiet sleeping night as we are a bit tucked away from the street buzz but still with everything you need on walking distance! Please do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel was just perfect! When I got there the desk people all spoke in English. This was a very quiet hotel because it is in a sort of off road where no horns or people outside can disturb you. It is about a five minute tuk tuk ride to the river area where most of the cool restaurants and FCC are (The Foreign Cor. Club where you can see some interesting historical photos and enjoy happy hour drinks from 5PM) The hotel room is spotless- big white towels- free water in the fridge everyday and the greatest cable channels are available. I think the greatest comfort was the front desk workers who gave me a map and helped me find the musuems and other interesting places I wanted to see.

Oh.........

When you first arrive- after immigration- you are going to pass a small stand where they will offer to take you to any hotel for 7 dollars. The fellows behind the desk know this hotel and so they will give you a piece of paper and you walk out, past the taxis (who charge 12-15 dollars to go to the hotel) and pay the driver once you get there.

Another option is to just walk out of the airport area and flag down a tuk tuk. You can negotiate a price for five dollars but the time and effort is not really worth it unless you are on a really tight budget.

Don't forget to get a ton of dollar bills before you leave! Dollars are accepted everywhere.

Room Tip: Just get the key to different rooms and pick your favorite room. This is a small hotel so just check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Jeffrey W,

Thank for your review, very much appreciated. We'd like to add on your remark regarding the Airport - One Up Hotel transport. As it does happen that tuk-tuk drivers or taxi drivers do not know our little tucked away hotel, we do recommended to have a driver waiting for you at with your name on a signboard. Sometimes the drivers also get commission for bringing you to other hotels and they will tell you One Up is flooded, closed or burned down....

So please contact Arun at bookings@1uphotelcambodia.com so we can make sure you get to us hassle free! And this way you are most ensured off a smooth check-in at One Up Hotel and a relaxed start of your holiday! Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay at One Up Banana Hotel after thorough research and needless to say we were not disappointed at any time during our 3 night stay.

We were greeted with warmth and humility by Arun the manager and this continued throughout the following 3 days, not only from Arun but also from his polite, friendly and professional staff who were always happy to help and enjoy a good chat.

They really couldn't have done more to help and accommodate us, we always felt right at home. So much so that we stayed in one night and ordered a pizza!

The room was spotless, spacious and the bed out of this world (especially if you've been staying in Asia for over a month!).

Only downside was that it was Khmer Year and he city was dead! Nothing that the One Up Banana staff could have done about that though!!

A definite recommendation for Phnom Penh and the best that we have stayed in having been to 5 other countries during our trip!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Mike W,
It's great to read you selected One Up Hotel after ** thorough research ** and even greater to learn you were not disappointed during your 3 night stay!

All our staff loved reading your review mentioning our General Manager Arun as well as our staff being: warm, humble, polite, friendly and professional! That is amazing. But also, so true, we love our guest and we do all we can to make them feel at home with us during their stay. We care genuinely about our guests having a wonderful stay.

Thank you so much for the compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Quite comfy for that price. If there were been breakfast and a window in a room it would be perfect. Staff is very observing and caring. Staff really care about customers needs. Room is nice, shower were working properly, bathroom was good, bed was big and nice.

Room Tip: If there were been breakfast and a window in a room it would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello Mic V.,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Indeed the Price/Quality of One Up Hotel is probably unbeatable in Phnom Penh. We have an excellent price point for the exceptional service and Hope away from Home that we offer our guests. Please future guests, if you can spare the few extra dollars go for our Rooftop rooms number 12 and 13. You'll have a private garden in front of your door... You won't regret it! Thanks you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Me and my beau enjoyed our stay.

Their location is close to various restaurants and their staff have good knowledge of English and were very helpful.

They accept credit cards ( a big convenience) and they assisted us in coordinating with the hotel in our next destination and also in bus tickets.

The room was clean and quiet with good functioning A/C and a fan, too in the mini kitchen.

We were lucky to be allowed an early check-in without extra charges.

Room Tip: Request that you be in the second floor coz they don't have a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajarn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello Ajam J.

All our guests are allowed early check-in without extra charges (if the room is available...). This is more or less our standard service, no need to be lucky for that at One Up Hotel as it is our goal to make all guest feel very lucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

An excellent budget stay in the heart of Phnom Penh. A new-ish hotel so everything was spotless and functional. The youngs lads on reception were very friendly and genuinely wanted to provide top quality service. They even organised a tuk-tuk pick-up at our next hotel in Cambodia. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi AntBadger.

Thank you for your review. Yes, we keep our little hotel spotlessly clean and functional. And yes, our staff genuinly want to provide top quality service. And judging by our reviews, these young lads are doing a wonderful job! Thank you for your recommendation AntBadger, much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,466 reviews
1.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#7 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#58 of 267 in Phnom Penh
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Up - Banana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Up - Banana Hotel

Property: One Up - Banana Hotel
Address: Z9-132, Street 51 | Bkk1, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — One Up - Banana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 14 great rooms, two with private balcony, and two on our beautiful rooftop. All our rooms feature: Mini Bar, Air Conditioning, In-room WiFi, 32" LCD TV, Kitchenette with fridge, Kettle Tea and coffee in room, Walk-in shower with hot water, Daily cleaning service, 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Up - Banana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing