We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Up - Banana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
One Up - Banana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edlesborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good value hotel but what makes it recommendable are the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they always greeted you with a smile and asked how your day / evening was. They organised tuk tuks and transport to Siem Reap, all went smoothly and on time. Roof terrace is lovely. Great for breakfast or to relax with a book after a busy day sight seeing. Hotel location is a bit away from the main night life area but that makes it quiet. Tuk tuks are so cheap if you do want to hit the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Ashley C,
Thank you so much for your review and pointing out to our lovely ROOFTOP TERRACE. Our two rooftop rooms are indeed perfect to retreat after a hectic day in the PP. But as the terrace is open to all our guests, please do check out the wonderful dinner we serve on the rooftop garden. Ask our staff, they'll gladly assist. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    91
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
283
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The staff are fantastic and really and make this hotel what it is. They are so welcoming, helpful with nothing being too much trouble. It has a lovely roof top terrace and our room was large and spotlessly clean with everything you would expect (air-con, cable tv, fantastic shower and free bottled water daily).

We also took them up on their offer of a tuk-tuk driver for the day (whose name I can't remember -sorry!), but again he was brilliant and for only $20 ferried us around all day. They also booked our onward bus journey to Siem Reap letting us wait in our room until they came to pick us up even though we had checked out!

Highly recommend!

Minor points others may need to consider:

But for this price other hotels include breakfast - something you may require.
No lift - again not an issue for us,
For us the location was perfect, but it is a 20 minute walk to the Riverfront with it's more expensive bars, restaurants and nightlife - however we thought the above were over-rated and over-priced much preferring Street 283 and 272 which are seconds from the hotel and lined with much nicer and cheaper bars and restaurants. That said everything is easily accessible with a cheap tuk-tuk!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor as you have direct access to the roof top terrace. We stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickCharlieCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
NickCharlieCullen,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked it at One Up Banana Hotel.
Indeed the ROOFTOP ROOMS are worth the few extra dollars. Lush flower garden on the topfloor directly in front of your room.
Try our promotional offer from * Restaurant Paris * , served to you with a glass of wine on the rooftop terrace. It is just wonderful... Have a good trip Nick!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

my wife and I (we are in our late 70's) had the pleasure of staying for 5 nights at the One-Up Hotel.
We requested a room with a balcony and that was probably a bit of a mistake. The room was about 25 sq.metre, which was quite good, but the problem was that the room was divided by a wall, resulting in 2 rather small rooms. The fittings were brandnew and high class with beautiful ornaments. There was a safe, small teamaking area with tap and basin, a/c, cable tv/and a wardroom.
With hindsight we would have been better choosing one of the rooms without a balcony, it is still 25sq.metre, but it is an open area, no dividing wall.
The staff were wonderful, getting up, greeting you every time you come down the
stairs and really trying their best to please you in every way they can.

Some of the staff are from poorer areas and are being trained in the hospitality trade. There is a box for gratuities on the reception desk and once a year they pool all the money and all the staff go away for a week-end and have a party for themselves.
The staff are trained in all aspects of hospitality and even have to attend English classes and are all very keen to do so and they do appreciate the opportunity to learn a worthwile trade.

I would like to suggest that every guest puts in $1.00 for every day they spend in the hotel, to show the staff our appreciation for their kindness and their genuine kindness and willingness to help in any way they can. After all, $1.00 is a very, very small part of our holiday budget.

The hotel is well located, within minutes of all the main tourist-attractions and about 3 minutes from the hotel is a great restaurant for breakfast. ( I think about $5.50 for full American b/f, inc.juice,bacon.coffee etc.)
In our humble opinion this hotel is best value in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: ask for room at end of corridor without dividing wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoldCoastBatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello GoldCoastBatik!!

Thank you so much for your Exceptional Review! Our staff loved your 1$ tip idea :-))) Let's hope future guests, who experience the same exceptional staff service, will read your proposal...
Tips are used for staff education and growth, staff trips, to the box to pay for "Staff (and Staff Family) Healthcare" and lastly, as a supplement on their salaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
489 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

In the heart of a Phnom Penh.
We loved it here for various reasons.
It is in a great spot, it's quiet, spotlessly clean and has lovely helpful staff.
ROOM 2 is beautifully furnished but tiny.
Small balcony off the bedroom hints of more space.
Cable TV, fridge, tea making facility, wardrobe, safe, air con.
Small bathroom with no bench space.
Kitchen annex has bench space for toiletries .
ROOM 4 seemed smaller with bed against the wall and no balcony.
Same inclusions.
Very open bathroom with no shower screen so floor is constantly wet plus there's no bench space for toiletries.

There's no lift in the building so be mindful if you have mobility problems.
If you are a BIG couple suggest you will feel claustrophobic

The little inconveniences became incidental to us hence the reason we returned.
We would next time take a Penthouse and suggest if you can afford it do so.
They open onto the roof terrace...........very nice with table and chairs for all to enjoy.

Arun, the Manager is an absolute gem, and has no doubt influenced his staff with his beautiful manner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Lyrebird6,
Thanks for your review, we have taken you up on the constructive remarks to further improve our hotel. Thank you for that. We agree, our ROOFTOP ROOMS, are absolutely stunning and more then worth the few extra $$. The Rooftop Garden is directly outside your door, staff waiting to serve you a refreshing drink... Have a great trip onwards! One Up Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were at One up hotel for a 2 nights stay in Sep 2013. It was our first time travelling in Asia and we felt our stay just like home at One Up. The room is fantastic! Spacious, clean and well furnished. It's really touching for the hotel to provide their guests welcome drink, and the Tuk Tuk service provided by the hotel for our day trip and drop off at airport were excellent! We are very satisfied with our stay, and we were very glad to have chance to know people there! We would definitely recommend One Up to our friends & family members whenever they visit Phnom Penh! !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, General Manager at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Kathy R.,
Thank you! We are happy you felt at home with us. We do our utmost best to offer our guest a quiet safe place, just like home, for their stay in chaotic Phnom Penh. Kind regards, Arun (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My self and my girlfriend stayed here from 25 september to 1 october 2013. We stayed in 1 of the 2 penthouses a few dollars extra but well worth it with stunning views accross the Phnom Penh skyline.Location is excellent right in the city and if you want to go further afield there are
numerous tuk tuks viaing for your business.To the owners of this hotel i congradulate you on your staff who are very friendly and really make guests feel welcome.I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this chaotic city.

Room Tip: Choose the penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank atcBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi atcBangkok,

GREAT FEEDBACK, thank you sooo much for the compliments.
1. YES, the ROOFTOP ROOM is definitively worth those few extra bucks, you have a semi-private rooftop garden terrace to enjoy after a busy day in the city.
2. YES, owners are very proud and happy with the One Up staff and do take good care of them by offering staff development opportunities and a Health Care plan for staff and staff family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I'm going to stay at one up every time I come to Phnom Penh, they have the friendliest staff I've ever encountered traveling. They have become like brothers to me. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. Very clean bathroom. Amazing location, walking distance to most everything. Also if you feel the need to see the city the staff here are more than willing to help you out and look for the best deal for you to travel. Thank you to everyone at one up for making my Phnom Penh experience wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Alex P,
thanks for your positive review. Our staff love their work and like to help our guests to a great stay. We love to welcome you again on a next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
1.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
0.6 mi away
VMansion Boutique Hotel
VMansion Boutique Hotel
#9 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Up - Banana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Up - Banana Hotel

Property: One Up - Banana Hotel
Address: Z9-132, Street 51 | BKK1, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — One Up - Banana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 14 great rooms, two with private balcony, and two on our beautiful rooftop. All our rooms feature: Mini Bar, Air Conditioning, In-room WiFi, 32" LCD TV, Kitchenette with fridge, Kettle Tea and coffee in room, Walk-in shower with hot water, Daily cleaning service, 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your One Up - Banana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing