We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Place"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One Up - Banana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 334 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Quiet location in the BKK area, close to some great bars/ cafes & restaurants. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bed was firm but thats normal travelling throughout Asia. We had a balcony room which had a 32 inch LCD tv, fridge, great bathroom (nice shower with hot water) and spacious kitcheonette area. The air con worked a treat and there is a fan in the kitcheonette area. The wifi was very good also.
There were renovations going on all day next door but didnt seem to bother us as we were out and about all day.
The staff are just so friendly, could not fault their mannerisms at all. William the general manager was wonderful also, really nice guy to talk too & he was very helpful to me as we checked out as i was very sick. We didnt want to check out but they were fully booked, they arranged another hotel down the road for us. Arun?? He even carried my backpack to the next hotel. What a gem!
Thanks so much for an enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MysteriousCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

This review is accurate and personal, thanks! It's unfortunate that you had to change hotels, sometimes we do get all booked out but even if you are leaving we are more than happy to help you get to the next place without trouble. Arun is a star at his work and because of his excellence he is now our general manager. Not to worry, William has moved on to do other work but remains a close friend of our hotel. Thanks for reviewing One Up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 578 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

The room was one of the best we had in SE Asia. Clean and modern, complimentary water.
The service was very attentive and helpful.

What I found nice what the entrance to the hotel, you would never expect a hotel there.

The location is good in terms of away from the big street and therefore quiet. However, to the city centre it is not far but also not very convenient. You might have to take a tuk-tuk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aroundtheworldnow89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thanks for reviewing our hotel! We are located in BKK1 area of town and in a quiet corner of the district, we are very close to the independence monument. If any future guest has an issue finding us feel free to check out our Map on our webpage, or call the hotel and we will help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is clean enough, the staff is so friendly just like an old friend that already met. They could gave us an excellent service as well as safe transportation during our first tour in phnom penh and gave us suggestion to the location of tour that suppose to be visit for our one day travelling over there.
Besides this hotel is nearby some restaurant that suppose to be visited that we never regret to come there again. Just take a walk only 5 minute than we could find some food and mini market there.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelasui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Your review is fantastic as well! Thank you so much for your feedback, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been travelling for 3 months in SE Asia and this place is probably the best deal and value we have come across. The rooms are very nice, new, clean and quite. The area has lots of good restaurants and is central to pretty much everything. The staff is also very very friendly and helpful. A really great place to stay, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank isurf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

At One Up we want to be the Best in Cambodia. With feedback from our guests and personal attention we hope to give all guests the experience you had. Thanks for writing a review, we hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff is very welcoming and friendly, making sure you get the best of your stay.
The rooms are modern and clean.
Great example of the cambodian hospitality!! Good price also!................................................................

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlmeidaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your friendly review, we hope all our guests can have this positive experience! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in One up in Feb'13 and we loved our stay there. In the mornings, there was construction work going on, and it generally gets a lil' noisy in the room, does not have an elevator but other than that, it is centrally located near all the tourist attractions, is close to the best eating joints in Phnom Penh - we were flooded with different options. The rooms also had a mini kitchen, kettle and usual coffee/tea jazz. The hotel managers even arranged for a tuk tuk to take us around, booked us our tickets to Siem Reap. They were very helpful, warm and made our stay very comfortable. We would definitely recommend it to others who are on the lookout for budget accommodation.

Room Tip: Get the garden room on the top floor or just get as far away from the Reception as possible :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thanks for your great review. I apologize that you experience some unwanted noise, unfortunately we cannot control when neighbors do renovations or other outside work, but our rooms are generally very quiet and the construction work that was taking place in feb, should no longer be an issue for future guests. We value our guests and are pleased that your experience was a good one, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The staff, in particular Sidat and Reang, were eager to assist us with information, help in getting Vietnamese visas and with anything we requested. They didn't try to push anything on to us. Their personal approach made our stay extremely enjoyable, they smiled all the time and were thoughtful towards our questions. It was nice to learn a little about everyday Cambodian life from them and we hope their hard work results in a bright future. Everything about the room was as advertised and it was a comfortable respite from the dusty city. The only downside was the building construction going on next door, but that will come to an end in about four months or so. A few times the alley leading to the hotel was blocked by large cement trucks. However there was no problem with noise at night, it was lovely and quiet.

Room Tip: The ground floor room just off the reception area so if you like quiet, opt for a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goreme1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng S, Owner at One Up - Banana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Our staff make our hotel a home away from home, without them the hotel is beautiful but has no heart. A traveler who wants a more personal experience would gain a lot from interaction with our staff. I'm sorry our neighbors had a truck in the alley way which can be an inconvenience, luckily if you come back, we no longer have this issue since their cement work is completed. Thanks so much for leaving us this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.7 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 274 in Phnom Penh
218 reviews
1.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#33 of 274 in Phnom Penh
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 274 in Phnom Penh
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Up - Banana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Up - Banana Hotel

Address: Z9-132, Street 51 | Bkk1, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $24 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — One Up - Banana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 14 great rooms, two with private balcony, and two on our beautiful rooftop. All our rooms feature: Mini Bar, Air Conditioning, In-room WiFi, 32" LCD TV, Kitchenette with fridge, Kettle Tea and coffee in room, Walk-in shower with hot water, Daily cleaning service, 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your One Up - Banana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing