We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Phnom Penh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilary's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #57 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Phnom Penh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a very nice hotel centrally located and with nice, comfortable rooms in a beautiful setting. The staff are very friendly and try to help you with whatever you need. There is good wifi and great breakfast choices for both European and Asia breakfast. Great restaurant and pool. A good place to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary0307, Owner at Hilary's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Tanja,

We are so happy to hear you loved your stay with us! Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and also for such wonderful feedback. Your comments have been passed on to our staff and they were delighted to hear such positive feedback.

We would love to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future,

Thank you,

Hilary - Hotel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    47
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
32
83
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I couldn't fault Hilary's Boutique if we tried.
We stayed for 4 nights here and wish we could have stayed more.
The accommodation was fantastic with extremely clean & comfortable rooms.
The staff are SO friendly and accommodating and go out of their way to make sure you are made to feel welcome and ensure all your needs are met and always with a smile.
Food - my goodness the food. I loved every single meal I ate whether it be by sparkling pool or outside in the restaurant amongst the ambience of the trees and fairy lights. Tasty and fresh, high quality ingredients in every meal. Superb.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Boutique to any of our friends.
We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabecce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary0307, Owner at Hilary's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Nice to hear that you had a " PERFECT TIME " . Please do come back again I will convey your message to the staff as this is good feedback for our self development program. Nice to hear that you enjoyed our food as everyday all dinners make these comments so we must be ticking all the boxes on our food menu and preparation. Kind Regards -- Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from Cambodia with my partner and we were blown away with this hotel.
Food was amazing, Great clean rooms and fantastic staff with an excellent location. During our stay in Phnom Penh we ate at various places that are highly rated like Foreign Correspondent Club and a few others. They were all disappointing when you compare them to this hotels food - in terms of prices and quality.
I cannot talk more highly about this hotel as it it ticked all of the boxes for me. It is an ultra clean place and the attention to detail was impressive. In fact better than many of the 5 star places that We have stayed in the past.

If you are looking for a good all round hotel to stay in when visiting Phnom Phen this is the place to be. I will be back. Thank you to all the staff for making this a memorable trip

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maersf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary0307, Owner at Hilary's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi there .. Thank you for the kind words in your review . The hotel tries very hard to ensure that all guest have a wonderful stay whilst experiencing all that Cambodia has to offer. Our food we believe is the best around which is prepared by our trained chefs in our modern day Western standards kitchen. All areas of our hotel practices Western 5 star hotel standards in house keeping and hospitality. In addition to this we are teaching our staff english so we encourage all guests to speak to our staff as this helps with our self development program Happy to advise we have changed our menu and it seems to be exciting our dinners every night as excellent comments are made on how authentic and delicious their dinning experience was. So happy that you and your partner enjoyed our food.Please do come back soon . Many thanks - Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, lovely pool area which we enjoyed chilling by. Good rooms. Good value for money.
5 min tuk tuk ride from the Royal Palace and riverfront restaurants.
Food was good and we were recommended another nice place round the corner for lunch.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BenDessau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary0307, Owner at Hilary's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello Ben -- Glad and very happy that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Yes we are very proud of our hotel as we are here to please, So please do come back soon as we have some exciting plans in the pipeline for our repeat guest. . Kind Regards -- Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Most of the room was filled with a four-poster bed. Lovely furnishings, but a bit boxy. Nice garden area with small pool and restaurant by the reception. Helpful staff, most of them speaking some English. Manager was fluent and eager to help organize our stay. Located in an expat area with lots of great restaurants nearby. 3 dollar ride with tuk-tuk to all the sights. Nine different choices of decent breakfast included in the room rate.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofuspus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary0307, Owner at Hilary's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello Sofuspus. Good to hear you had a great stay it means so much to our staff . Please do come again and when you do you must try our dinner and lunch menu as as we have the best chefs in town. One is classically trained in Western foods while the other is a master in Khmer foods. Kind Regards and thanks -- Hilary & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, we had a room which faced out to the pool so had lots of natural light and windows, I'm not sure if all rooms had external windows. The staff are friendly and helpful, they organised our bus to Siem Reap and taxi to the Killing Fields. The pool area is lovely, they have bed areas so you can relax after a day out. The breakfast was good with 9 choices available being a mix of western and asian which was included in tge room rate. All and all we were happy.

Room Tip: Recommend booking a car / driver instead of a tuk tuk to the killing Fields as a long way and very d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel looks inviting as you enter past the pool. The staff are friendly but not very knowledgeable... perhaps management doesn't share knowledge or responsibility with the staff. Forget about making a specific reservation, they will give you a room but NOT the type of room you reserved. Seems a manager controls the reservations and doesn't do a very good job. Reservations come in and they really don't exist because the manager does NOT update the system promptly or if ever. THIS IS FACT because we were allowed to make reservations TWICE online but the room type did not exist when you ask the front desk. The new rooms are still under construction so noise during the day and much dust. Also, having a shower and running the air conditioner at the same time caused the electricity to go off in the room - repeatedly!! We found the fuse box and tripped the fuse ourselves to get power again.
The breakfast is good but we had butter that had gone rancid and they don't know that it shouldn't stink like smelly cheese so it was served to us. As a result our toast was inedible and when we told the staff the butter was bad they did not offer to give us replacement toast. As a result, I would say the staff are friendly but service was so so.
The room was new and nicely furnished and it was clean. We asked that our room NOT be cleaned one day BUT that message did not get to the cleaning staff because our room was cleaned. we even the took the room key with us specifically so it would not be cleaned and they still did.
The location of the hotel was good and there are lots of restaurants and coffee shops nearby.
But, NOT worth the asking price!! Many hotels in Phnom Penh with similar prices and much better than this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary0307, Owner at Hilary's Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Cjay .. thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are noted however I have to very respectfully ask why did you not report the issues to management during your stay rather than wait almost 3 months to post your review.. . All of your comments have been discussed with management and staff. Our hotel extensions have all been completed and our guest are all enjoying our new renovations so we welcome you back to rectify any bad situation that you might have had. Kind Regards Hilary Evans ( hotel owner )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
TEAV Boutique Hotel
TEAV Boutique Hotel
#12 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
the 252
the 252
#11 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilary's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilary's Boutique Hotel

Property: Hilary's Boutique Hotel
Address: 302 Number 16 Bis, Street | Sangkat Boeng Keng Kang I, Khan Chamkamorn, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilary's Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilary's Boutique Hotel a former villa built in the 1960's has been remodelled into a modern and luxurious boutique hotel. Hilary's Boutique Hotel offers luxury boutique hotel comfort at good-value prices completely refurbished to international standards while maintaining Khmer inspired themes and décor. All 20 rooms are well-appointed and contain all modern amenities. The hotel has been opened to meet the needs of those interested in staying at a elegant place, calm, cool with the pool close to the tourist sites, shopping malls, Russian Market, Central Market. Tourist street 178 and 240, restaurants, bars, entertainment and riverside street.Conveniently located city center in Boeung Keng Kang 1 - the pleasant ‘foreigners quarter’ of Phnom Penh, with many nearby dining, drinking and shopping venues and only 5-10 minutes from the popular riverfront area (Royal Palace and National Museum. Swimming pool. Massage service. International restaurant and cocktail lounge. The Hotel specializes in Camdodian foods. The hotel owner Hilary is a keen "foodie"" an has gone out his way to ensure a interesting an varied menu is on offer. The menu includes many Western favorite dishes but the real treat for its guest are local delights such as Sour Spicey fish soup or grilled charcoal chicken served with a Kampot dipping pepper sauce. After your meal try some of the fresh exotic fruits washed down with a ginger cocktail drink flavored with local honey an brown sugar. All fresh produce is sourced locally from farmers markets so you will only eat the freshest ingredients daily. Interested in food ask the duty manager about a master cooking class with the resident chef. The menu is constantly updated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilary's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing