We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of The Plantation

The Plantation
Ranked #90 of 1,470 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A menu that can be enjoyed by the pool and in the hotel.
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Family of four with teenage children enjoyed a beautiful meal at The Plantation. The food was excellent and service was also great. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zbrowelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    54
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sikkim, India
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Just Great”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

On our last day, we had our lunch at this restaurant, by the pool side.
Ambiance: fantastic, by far the best we have experienced
Food: truly delicious
Service: can be better
Overall: pretty good

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PavalikaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“A cozy dining experience in a romantic setting”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It feels like a little oasis in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. It is set in the French colonial building and offers luxury city chic and boutique feel. The building dates back to the thirties and was most probably built by the French to be an administration connected to the Royal Palace nearby. Your choices include dining inside Plantation Restaurant, or stepping out and letting yourselves be romanced by the sidewalk sounds of Phnom Penh on the terrace deck.

The barbecue buffet dinner we had on May, 4 2013 was simply delicious (US$ 31.50 per person). Khmer cuisine was “blended” with French influences that created truly authentic Cambodian style. Fried frog's legs were simply delicious especially when paired with a glass of chilled white Bordeaux.... Chef Sothea Seng is real master to create authentic dishes, both Western and Asian influenced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Dr_Igor_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautiful outdoor setting”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I ate lunch here with our toddler - the service was exceptional, particularly given that we are travelling with a 19month old. We enjoyed a lunch 'special', very fresh and high quality. This made the meal good value for us ($20USD for drinks and mains) - the quality of the food was excellent and we will visit again when we are next in Phnom Penh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adnazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but it's worth the visit!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We decided to dine at the hotel's restaurant as we were tired of haggling with tuk tuk drivers or being taken for a ride. I'm pretty glad we tried this restaurant.

The atmosphere was great (open air overlooking the courtyard) and the food was delicious. We had the smoked eggplant caviar for starters, I had the pineapple duck while my husband had the vegetable curry (he's vegetarian). All the dishes were fantastic and definitely offered a unique take on Cambodian food.

Lovely, lovely fusion food and worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plantation also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing