We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out”

Phnom Tamao Wildlife Rescue Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Full Day Trip to Takeo Province from Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 1,200 animals including elephants, tigers, bears, gibbons, crocodiles and leopards, the wildlife rescue center is a fantastic day trip from Phnom Penh. Several all inclusive tours are available! The Behind-the-scenes tours with Wildlife Alliance allow access to private staff areas - tiger dens, nursery with the baby animals and an opportunity to be a human jungle gym for rescued macaque monkeys, elephant enclosure for hand feeding and watching gentle rewards based training as Chhouk's prosthetic foot is changed, and a personalized tour complete with rescue stories of the animals. This is a fundraising tour and 100% of profits go directly to the rescue, rehabilitation, care and release of wildlife. Tour information is shown above (see contact website and email *please note we are currently experiencing difficulties with our online booking system, please email us to make a booking!). Volunteer and Bear Keeper for a Day programs are available with Free the Bears, allowing behind-the-scenes access with the sun and moon bears and profits go to their care. There are also several independent tour operators, or you can visit independently, although the centre coveres 6,000 acres and signs are yet to be finalised! Established in 1995 by the Cambodian Forestry Administration, the day to day running is now done in partnership with Wildlife Alliance, with specific animals cared for by other NGO's Free the Bears, Fauna & Flora International, Conservation International. Most animals at the center were rescued from the illegal wildlife trade by the Wildlife Rapid Rescue Team, a patrol team created by Wildlife Alliance in coordination with the Cambodian Government. Where ever possible, rescued animals are released back into the wild, or if release is not possible they are given a home at the centre for as long as needed. Many of the species are listed as Endangered or Vulnerable and now part of important conservation breeding programs or act as ambassador animals to promote conservation.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great day out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a very large park, not just a zoo, and you can get lost or waste a lot of time if you try to walk around on your own. Definitely take a tuk-tuk or taxi and ask the driver to take you around.

Clearly this place is on a low budget. The enclosures are rusted and not very well kept, and the animals don't always look very happy. But this is a poor country, and instead of telling potential visitors to stay away from it, I would say : go and visit the place, donate generously and show your encouragement.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildlifeRescueTours, Wildlife Tours Guide at Phnom Tamao Wildlife Rescue Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your insights and encouragement!

Phnom Tamao is actually a rescue and rehabilitation centre first and foremost, which simply doubles as a zoo and is part of a larger body of work being done by Wildlife Alliance. The vast majority of animals you saw have been rescued from the illegal wildlife trades, often involving poor treatment or even abuse. Release is always our primary goal and with over 60,000 animals rescued since 2001, we only have 1,200 permanent residents at the centre who are unable to be released due to physical or psychological injures, lack of suitable habitat, or to allow them to be part of conservation breeding programs. You are correct that some of the animals don’t look happy, many still carry the scars of their mistreatment before rescue!

The area is very large, covering just under 6,000 acres. The animal enclosures cover a third of that size and the remainder is regenerated forest which acts as a small release site for suitable rehabilitated animals. We do recommend transport around the centre to make the most of your visit, particularly in the heat! Keep your eyes open for some released animals, including macaques, deer, boar and birds!

We agree that some areas need to be renovated, however we rely heavily on donations and our money always goes to caring for the animals rather than aesthetics! We started a behind the scenes tour in March 2013 specifically as a fundraiser and have big plans! We hope you can stay in touch and watch the progress made possible by generous donors, we post achievements and our Wishlist on our Facebook page with page details in the owner description above!

Thanks again for visiting and for your review, we could not achieve all we do without our supporters!
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    143
    76
    40
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend bear keeper for the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We went for savethebears.org and found this bear keeper for the day program. Amazing amazing day!! The best part is feeding enrichment to the bears and watching them search around for food. The tour and the people are amazing and know so much about the bears. Highly recommend and spread the word about these amazing animals.

Helpful?
1 Thank rowrow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

There were 4 of us on the behind the scenes tour and we loved it. Being able to see these amazing animals up close and personal is a memory I'll cherish forever. From the elephant painting our free t-shirts, to the monkeys jumping all over us while we fed them cucumber it was amazing. Wish I could do it all over again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank braddles87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Precious Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Did the Behind the scenes tour with Emma and Nikki a few weeks ago and absolutely loved it! Don't let the $150 donation fee put you off, the money goes towards a great organization and you will get your money's worth out of the day. It included transport in an air-con van all day, cold water all day, a massive khmer lunch (vegetarian too) and up-close encounters from the get go. As well as a wealth of knowledge from the tour guides about the treatment of animals prior to and after their rescue. If you love interacting with animals then this is for you! But remember, this is not a zoo..it's a rescue centre.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaireMacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

What brilliant work these young workers are doing. The animals are well looked after and the programs that have been put in place to educate people are inspiring.
So much love and care to bring these injured animals back to good health. Lucky is just lovely - I am going to treasure my painted t-shirt.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phnom Tamao Wildlife Rescue Center also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Phnom Tamao Wildlife Rescue Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing