We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious rooms and friendly stafff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
Ranked #153 of 321 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious rooms and friendly stafff”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights, a friend of mine has been here before and she was right: next to a market and close to all touristic attractions, this sure is one of the best guesthouses in Phnom Penh. No bar, no restaurant, so of you want to meet backpackers you neef to go out. Especially the rooms at the back (I stayed in #301) are quiet. No view at all, but I don't need one since I only stayed in my room at night. Room came with a cooler and a tv.

En speciaal voor de Hollanders die dit lezen: prijzen zijn onderhandelbaar. Hij begon bij dertig dollar, maar toen ik zei max 10 te willen betalen was dit ok. Kwam ook deels doordat het guesthouse niet vol zat.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan-Ynze v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
20
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The manager was very helpful and his English was very good. The staff person that I met was eager to please, but his English was very limited. My room, 201, was very clean. I agree with the other posts about the carpet, but I wore socks for a period of time and they remained clean suggesting that the floor was just stained. While the outside windows and doors were barred, my room had curtains so I just left those closed. The hotel is within walking distance to the riverfront and many attractions. I did hear evening and morning "street" noise as those living around the hotel went about their evenings and morning activities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBA101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have booked this place with my boyfriend for 3 nights, but we checked out by first night, even though we arrived very late in night from Laos and have paid through hotels.com up front. First of all the room was very dirty, hair and dust everywhere and spider nets hanging from the ceiling, coffe cups were dirty. We got one towel and no toilet paper. The room was on the same floor as reception so when we opened the door we could see some dirty sink and probably cleaning staffs spot for towels and dirty bed sheets.
The view from window- or rather what could we see between the bars- was wall and some dark corner with garbage and im guessing by the noise- rats- cos i hope that the noise we heard in the night was coming form the garbage outside and not inside of our room...
Together with window there were also doors with bars, all going out to the garbage and even pieces of toilet paper were pushed in between doors and bars and walls... horrible! It was so noisy already vefore 5am we barely could sleep, which actually was the only thing we wanted to do after 17h bus trip from laos...
Our first aim when we woke up was to look for another place around the city, on our way out person standing in reception asked how we like the room and we said we don't like it and we proceed to go out when he said that he can give us different room upstaira. That made me so angry- how can you give such an aweful, dirty and noisy room to someone at first place, knowing that they booked and paid for 3 nights in front and also having another room to offer, which I assume was better and still- offering the worst one when they arrive? This amount of disrespect and bad service was a nail to coffin- within 15min we found a perfect hotel for us just behind the corner.
I do not wish anyone such an unpleasant stay and I cannot understand how this place can have such a high score on tripadvisor - which was the main reason why we chose to stay in it. This is the second 'terrible' review this hotel is getting on tripadvisor, the first one was rudely commented by manager, so to back my review I am posting pictures from the room that proves its poor condition.

Room Tip: not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ola182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasibona D, Manager at Golden River Palace Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thanks for your review. You did not meet me on that night as you come so late at night time around 12-1am. My new staff provides you that room as other rooms are full. Normally, we clean and collect rubbish at the back of our hotel every morning whenever this room is available. Most of people at the back are uneducated and poor. They throw rubbish whenever they finish it. We have other rooms clean and comfortable available. If all our rooms are so bad as what you have mentioned, our previous customers won't write good reviews. I met you on the following day and I even offered you any room you like as they are available on that day. I appreciate what you have responded me on that day. Only minority customers are selfish. Don't mention about the worst previous reviewer. He is exactly a cheater and he does want to cheat my staff just for little money. He wrote a bad review cuz I called the driver to ask him to pay back. He even has mentioned on the third day that he did love the room and location here so much. He would write a good review on tripadvisor. Everybody could contact him on tripadvisor if it is fact or not. Your review does affect our business. However, I do thank for your time for reviewing our hotel. Bye :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The staff and very friendly and accommodating, especially taking your luggage up the flights of stairs (yes stairs, so if you're staying above the first or second floor - prepare yourself for a leg workout). We received a free upgrade for the first few nights and changed to our original booked room halfway through our stay (not annoying because our luggage was moved for us once we packed). Air con and bedding was good, bathroom was 'open plan' but we didn't have any problems with it. Great location, right near the Riverfront which is pretty central to cafes/restaurants and anywhere you couldn't walk to, a tuk tuk will take you there for a very reasonable price and wait around for you to take you back. We were able to sleep better than what we though we would considering the location. Laundry isn't done on site but staff are happy to take it out for you to have it done. If you don't bring high expectations with you like we did then it's fine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praia, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The staff are awesome. They are incredibly kind and helpful. They treated my son so very kindly. The hotel is in the "Riverside" area of Phnom Penh, so it was very convenient to sight see. However, while the price was reasonable, it wasn't great value. The bathroom could use a shower curtain or stall. We didn't receive any maid service in our three days. We had a big pile of garbage outside our door. Our towels were nasty after the second day.They need to rip out the carpet and put in linoleum floors. If you want a good location and a kind staff, this is your place. If you are a clean freak, avoid!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chetsuabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

After travelling in Vietnam for 4 weeks we had experienced a wide variety of hotels and didn't necessarily have the highest expectations regarding hotels. The golden river palace proved to be the worst hotel experience I have had for a long long time. The price at $30 per room is in no way justified. The staff service was non existent and our room was not cleaned once after 3 nights. We were also undercharged by an employee and later received a phone call demanding $4 or the police would be called despite us insisting this error was not our fault. To top it all off there was no hot water and despite our enquiries (and being assured it would be fixed) nothing transpired. Overall there are far far better options for your money and we were very happy to see the back of the the Golden River Palace.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davey1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenriverpala... G, Manager at Golden River Palace Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for your review. Honestly, I have never ever met customers from Europe like you. You called me to book a room with two KING size beds with the price of 30. When you came, I offered you superior deluxe TRIPLE room(45$) with the same price. You were so happy and also knew price. How come you did NOT you know the price for three days? Even a child, he also could calculate it. You have intention to NOT to pay us in full. For cleaning the room, I would like to let you know that you stayed in the room all day. I even knocked the door but you all was still sleeping. How come you said like this? We always asking you: the room is okay? You always say good. You all have to paid 3.5$ per person more but you insisted and paid only 3$. I never EVER seen customers from Europe who betrayed their willingness because of NOT wanting to pay the room. I would like to ask you again: DO YOU KNOW THAT THREE NIGHTS COSTS 90$ SINCE YOU KNEW AND ACCEPTED 30$ PER NIGHTS? I recommend all hotels and other restaurants or even bus and air ticket sellers to be SO careful with you and charge you immediately. Please don't don't agree with them if they request you all pay me you later as these customers will get angry and write a bad review about us. If our room is so bad like this, they WON'T stay here for three night. They will check out immediately after ONE night staying here. They BETRAYED their willingness because of little money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Pros - good location and friendly staff. Ok price
Cons - room smelt of smoke. Room half tiled and then had a weird iron bar/prison type door. Bathroom and fridge in separate annex room. Carpeted floor. not that clean. Bathroom didn't appear to have been cleaned, there was what looked like a urine stain on toilet seat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#131 of 267 in Phnom Penh
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#166 of 267 in Phnom Penh
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lance Court Hotel
Lance Court Hotel
#203 of 267 in Phnom Penh
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Velkommen Guesthouse
Velkommen Guesthouse
#13 of 321 in Phnom Penh
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Local - Riverside
The Local - Riverside
#123 of 321 in Phnom Penh
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonle Khmer Guesthouse
Tonle Khmer Guesthouse
#79 of 321 in Phnom Penh
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden River Palace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Property: Golden River Palace Guesthouse
Address: No.139, Street 13, Sangkat Phsa Kandal 1, Khan Daun Penh,, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden River Palace Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your long weekends in advance...Plan your visiting Phnom Penh, Kindom of Wonder ahead to benefit from our great deals! We offer a wide range of discount rooms to accommodate you and your family at an affordable rate. The Royal Palace, National Museum, Riverside and the Night Market are just 3 minutes by foot. Nightlife, restaurants and entertainment are just around the corner on Sisowath Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden River Palace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing