We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Great Location, Mediocre Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
Ranked #158 of 334 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The staff are awesome. They are incredibly kind and helpful. They treated my son so very kindly. The hotel is in the "Riverside" area of Phnom Penh, so it was very convenient to sight see. However, while the price was reasonable, it wasn't great value. The bathroom could use a shower curtain or stall. We didn't receive any maid service in our three days. We had a big pile of garbage outside our door. Our towels were nasty after the second day.They need to rip out the carpet and put in linoleum floors. If you want a good location and a kind staff, this is your place. If you are a clean freak, avoid!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chetsuabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

After travelling in Vietnam for 4 weeks we had experienced a wide variety of hotels and didn't necessarily have the highest expectations regarding hotels. The golden river palace proved to be the worst hotel experience I have had for a long long time. The price at $30 per room is in no way justified. The staff service was non existent and our room was not cleaned once after 3 nights. We were also undercharged by an employee and later received a phone call demanding $4 or the police would be called despite us insisting this error was not our fault. To top it all off there was no hot water and despite our enquiries (and being assured it would be fixed) nothing transpired. Overall there are far far better options for your money and we were very happy to see the back of the the Golden River Palace.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davey1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenriverpala... G, Manager at Golden River Palace Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thanks for your review. Honestly, I have never ever met customers from Europe like you. You called me to book a room with two KING size beds with the price of 30. When you came, I offered you superior deluxe TRIPLE room(45$) with the same price. You were so happy and also knew price. How come you did NOT you know the price for three days? Even a child, he also could calculate it. You have intention to NOT to pay us in full. For cleaning the room, I would like to let you know that you stayed in the room all day. I even knocked the door but you all was still sleeping. How come you said like this? We always asking you: the room is okay? You always say good. You all have to paid 3.5$ per person more but you insisted and paid only 3$. I never EVER seen customers from Europe who betrayed their willingness because of NOT wanting to pay the room. I would like to ask you again: DO YOU KNOW THAT THREE NIGHTS COSTS 90$ SINCE YOU KNEW AND ACCEPTED 30$ PER NIGHTS? I recommend all hotels and other restaurants or even bus and air ticket sellers to be SO careful with you and charge you immediately. Please don't don't agree with them if they request you all pay me you later as these customers will get angry and write a bad review about us. If our room is so bad like this, they WON'T stay here for three night. They will check out immediately after ONE night staying here. They BETRAYED their willingness because of little money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Pros - good location and friendly staff. Ok price
Cons - room smelt of smoke. Room half tiled and then had a weird iron bar/prison type door. Bathroom and fridge in separate annex room. Carpeted floor. not that clean. Bathroom didn't appear to have been cleaned, there was what looked like a urine stain on toilet seat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Staff did their best with limited English, but wouldn't recommend using their laundry service as they use an external service and forgot to pick ours up on time, which meant we had to pack wet clothes at 7am on the morning we left. The room was very yellow with tiles going half way up and a strange security gate between the bathroom and bedroom. The beds were clean, but the bins were never emptied and the bathroom never cleaned in a three night stay. The location is good, near the palace and riverfront, but the view from our room was over a street which the neighbours used as a toilet/shower (not the best sight to wake up to!) We had to keep our curtains drawn at all times!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in may and we would recommend. The rooms are spacious, clean enough and a great location too. But to top that the staff were very accomodating too. We only stayed one night as we were moving on but we would return. The location is very good for visiting the killing fields and other tourist attractions by tuk tuk at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess-Dave86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Golden River Palace Guesthouse was a fairly basic hotel located near the river and Royal Palace in Phnom Penh. The room was decently sized and relatively clean, though the floor was dusty when we arrived. This is more of a backpacker accommodation, so nothing fancy there. The location is great to get to all the bars and restaurants on the river, as well as the Roayl Palace and National Museum. The staff were friendly, though one guy who was there most didn't speak any English. However, what he lacked in language skills he made up for in cheer and enthusiasm! Another staff member was very helpful by calling the bus company we took after we forgot something on the bus. He then flagged a tuk tuk and gave him directions to ensure we got there. We were very thankful for his help!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sm0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Paid £11 a night for double room with a/c. Arrived mid afternoon and was checked into room 001. The only room on ground floor. The view was into an alley and the room was very disappointing and nothing like the pictures displayed on hotels.com. The manager was not on site but we emailed him and explained we weren't happy: the manager was very helpful and moved us to a much better room on the second night on the first floor.
The wifi is excellent and the second room was good. Well located and good customer service to put things that had gone wrong right.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#78 of 274 in Phnom Penh
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 274 in Phnom Penh
873 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.9 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#75 of 274 in Phnom Penh
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden River Palace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Address: No.139, Street 13, Sangkat Phsa Kandal 1, Khan Daun Penh,, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $12 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden River Palace Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your long weekends in advance...Plan your visiting Phnom Penh, Kindom of Wonder ahead to benefit from our great deals! We offer a wide range of discount rooms to accommodate you and your family at an affordable rate. The Royal Palace, National Museum, Riverside and the Night Market are just 3 minutes by foot. Nightlife, restaurants and entertainment are just around the corner on Sisowath Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Golden River Palace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing