We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking not fulfilled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
Ranked #153 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Booking not fulfilled”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had received confirmation of our booking for two doubles rooms. When we arrived at the Golden River Palace Guesthouse in 35 degree heat after a full days travel from Chau Doc in Vietnam we were told the rooms were not available and they could send us to their "partner" hotel just around the corner for the same price.

Even though we had read about this method of sending travellers to substandard accommodation we forgot as we were hot and tired and just accepted it on face value.

The Modern City Hotel on the surface was ok, but was not up to standard, aircon didn't work in one room and was poor in the other, windows didn't shut, toilet door didn't shut etc etc.

Also, breakfast was meant to be included but was not available at the second hotel.

Please note: We did not see the rooms at the Golden River Palace Guesthouse so can not comment on the standard of those.

Room Tip: Do not accept a referral to another hotel. If you do check that the aircon works, doors close, nois...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisinasia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
20
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good location, infront of market, walking distance from bus station. We stayed Overnight. Aircon is good and wifi connection is fast. Drawback, no restaurant inside the hotel and no elevator. Not good for senior guest climbing upstairs. Although staff very helpful in carrying our luggages.

Overall okey because the manager owner is very friendly, polite and offer help to check our pick up service on our way back to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Take lower floors when travelling with kids or senior family members
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank changme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Rooms tiled to half way- strange decor in a bedroom- not sure it works. Rooms small. Air con, good. Bathroom good- modern, white and clean. Fridge good. TV reception sketchy. Location good. Staff nice and helpful. Having no window, isn't too bad, until you want to know if you have woken up in the middle of the night or the morning, or if it is raining in outside or not. There's not even a fake window onto hallway so you really cant tell anything. In a good location, 5 minute walk to river front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAMlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Golden River Palace Guesthouse twice now. The location is great, and provides easy access to the river front and many shops and markets. Although the rooms may be a little out dated, the beds are comfy and the AC works great...what more could a person need! What makes this guesthouse really stand out is the level of service from Mr.Bona and his brother (and the rest of the staff too!). There is always a friendly hello or goodnight upon entering the guesthouse, and both men go out of their way to help arrange future travels. We needed to get last minute tickets to HCMC and had called the guesthouse to see if they could arrange it for us. We arrived in PP and they had our tickets organized and even ensured we found a tuk tuk driver who knew where to take us for our bus. I would highly recommend this place...and don't be afraid to ask the wonderful staff for some help.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krdowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed in this guesthouse for 3 nights in February 2013 and all I have to say is that is was a very nice place. I was on the top floor with a balcony and could see alot of the market downstairs in front of the hotel. The staff was very helpful and helped me in everyway to make my vacation even better.

Very crowded streets outside the hotel, but that is not all that bad. Phnom Penh is crowded anyways. Loved my stay here.

Room Tip: Very close to food, shopping and sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogyglfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

When I first asked about a room, I was shown a triple room with a double bed and a single bed, and a window, and told this was the only room available at US$20 - I said this was too much, though, and the staff member suddenly remembered there was a double room with no window available at US$18. Not sure if this was intentional or not - may have been a miscommunication.

After that, though, our stay at this guesthouse went very smoothly. The room was small but comfortable, with one of the more comfortable beds we've experienced in SE Asia, and good facilities including a television, a fridge and a cabinet. We really liked having carpet in the bedroom for once! The lack of a window didn't bother us and we found the room to be very quiet at night. Wifi in the room worked well and I also used the computer in reception - if you use it, make sure you click the mouse button firmly as it doesn't respond otherwise!

The bathroom was clean and roomy. We did have some trouble at first using the shower unit but eventually managed to figure out how to get it going. It never had great water pressure though.

The staff were all friendly and spoke excellent English. They helped us carry our bags up to the room. We asked about booking a bus to Siem Reap, and the prices offered seemed expensive so we went elsewhere; later, the staff member apologised and explained he had mistakenly given us the prices for Ho Chi Minh City.

On the whole, we liked this guesthouse and enjoyed our stay here. It was a good base, close to the riverside, and good value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocmilk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

room's are nice and clean..customer service was very good..Good hotel in centre of the town..Mr.buna the manager there is very helpful to all..quiet and peace hotel..I stayed four nights here and it was a good,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan171184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#149 of 267 in Phnom Penh
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#168 of 267 in Phnom Penh
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lance Court Hotel
Lance Court Hotel
#203 of 267 in Phnom Penh
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Velkommen Guesthouse
Velkommen Guesthouse
#14 of 322 in Phnom Penh
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Local - Riverside
The Local - Riverside
#125 of 322 in Phnom Penh
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonle Khmer Guesthouse
Tonle Khmer Guesthouse
#79 of 322 in Phnom Penh
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden River Palace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Property: Golden River Palace Guesthouse
Address: No.139, Street 13, Sangkat Phsa Kandal 1, Khan Daun Penh,, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden River Palace Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your long weekends in advance...Plan your visiting Phnom Penh, Kindom of Wonder ahead to benefit from our great deals! We offer a wide range of discount rooms to accommodate you and your family at an affordable rate. The Royal Palace, National Museum, Riverside and the Night Market are just 3 minutes by foot. Nightlife, restaurants and entertainment are just around the corner on Sisowath Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden River Palace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing