We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that good”
Review of The Boston restaurant - CLOSED

The Boston restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: European, Asian, International, Mediterranean, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Friendly family-run restaurant serving traditional Cambodian as well as western food. Great music, fantastic atmosphere, centrally located on popular street 172.Special drinks including Mojito and Rum and Passion fruit, Chat'n Chew, and other cocktails.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Not that good”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Have just come back to Phnom Penh after a few months away and had noticed Chat & Chew was a new Trip Advisor entry so gave it a go. First off it is not located on the best street in Phnom Penh, surrounded by cheap restaurants and even a 'girlie' bar just a few doors down. Secondly I was disappointed with the decor, I was expecting something similar to the other top ranked restaurants in Phnom Penh, instead it has a very amateurish look and feel. The service was OK but in my opinion too over-friendly, we came to eat as a group of friends to chat amongst ourselves not to be interrupted on more than one occasion by the waitress asking us personal questions. Finally the food, whilst it was enjoyable it was not amazing, well prepared and well presented, which is what you would expect from any good restaurant. In summary, from the Trip Advisor reviews we were expecting more, something similar to Deco or Romdeng, so a bit disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    35
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great western food consistently prepared well by a trained chef for a fraction of the cost in a relaxed backpacker atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We literally ate at least once a day at Chat n Chew during our week in Phnom Penh. Excessive? We think not. We love Asian food but traveling for a long time through SEAsia, it gets a little old. We've never been to a more unassuming place that serves western dishes that taste authentic without going to some nice hotel restaurant. We don't know what one of the reviewers was complaining about. The family running the business is super nice and interesting people. We've chatted (ha, ha) with Sony and Touch for hours, learning about their life and business. Service is relaxed because it's Southeast Asia! No one is in a hurry, so just go with it, people. They've only been in business for 5 months but have a strong expat clientele. It's no wonder because Touch's food is awesome! Argentine filet mignon in kampot peppercorn demi glacé sauce with potato (choices: mashed, fries, but our fave was the au gratin) and veggies should cost $25 anywhere else. Instead they're charging less than $10 for the best steak we've had since we left Argentina 3 months ago. The burger was good, chicken was perfectly juicy, great salads, the most tender fall-off-the-bone pork ribs in BBQ sauce (tasted very American), and the bolognese sauce for the spaghetti was one of the best. He is a trained chef from a French culinary school with experience cooking at a high-end restaurant. He is trying to bring the same flavors and quality to the backpacker and expats at a very affordable cost at his family owned business. We think you will be amazed if you are looking for a change from the myriad of Asian and mediocre western food. We could serve this food at home and charge triple.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSabbatical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
370 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A truly excellent budget choice in PP”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

OK, the setting is not great but the same could be said of the vast majority of places to eat in PP. at least it doesn't smell of raw sewage like the places down by the river. That aside we had a fabulous meal at this place and they really would suit a much more upmarket venue to match the qualit of the food. Beer dirt cheap but same in many places in Cambodia. Can't comment on the Asian cuisine but they looked good when delivered to adjacent tables. We te European and the food was excellent in presentation, taste and price. Would highly recommend the fillet of beef. Service was good and friendly too.Hard to fault really

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great beef!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

After reading previous reviews we decided to go for the 'meats' options rather than the Khmer/Asian options. The steak and beef Wellington were both fantastic - just like you would get in a really post restaurant back home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alexkateg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not worth of Phnom Penh's No. 4 spot”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Went to the Chat & Chew based on Trip Advisor reviews and were a bit let down, certainly do not feel it warrants the No. 4 spot for the whole of Phnom Penh when there are so many great dining experiences on offer. The Chat & Chew is located on Street 172 along with many other similar restaurants, its the backpacker area and it has a backpacker vibe to it, which is not a bad thing if this is what you are after. However the service is also at a backpacker lever with the staff not being very attentive and seemingly more inclined to chew the chat with each other. The food is ok, but again certainly not No 4 in the city.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulSimmons_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boston restaurant also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing