We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when in Phnom Pehn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #72 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed at the Governors House at the beginning of July for 2 nights. First off, the hotel is in the style of a French Indochine colonial mansion which has been expertly maintained. The interior is simply stunning as you start of in the lobby, which its ceiling goes straight up to the roof of the mansion. The whole place, especially the bar in the lobby oozes with class and style as if you've walked back in time to la Belle Epoque. As you climb the stairs which go along the walls of the building, the walk up in never boring as each time you will notice something new, whether it be antiques housed in museum-like cases or photographs of the country that you're visiting now.

On arrival greeted by the friendly and helpful staff and by François, the manager of the hotel. They were well equip to assist us with any of our travel needs, arranging tuk-tuk to take us to the riverside where the Royal Palace and National Museum are (10 minutes away; but don't leave that area at 9pm or you'll be stuck in the carnage that is PP traffic) and planning our onward journey.

We stay in one of the room on the upper-most floor. Very comfy beds and bathing facilities in the room. A nice touch was the Art Deco travel posters framed on the walls. While it could come off as cheesy like an outdated travel agency, it added to the adventurous environment and romantic setting of a bygone era that the hotel has successful created.

The pool, though small, is quaint and has a tree carefully growing over it to keep things feeling tropical and organic. Some of the best times during the stay was going for an early morning dip and then having, hands-down, the best breakfast (Western and Asian both on offer) available in Phnom Pehn.

Stay at the Governors House, whether starting off or finishing up your journey in Cambodia. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Mr. Lee,

On behalf of my whole team I would like to thank you for your great review posted on Tripadvisor about our property. We work hard to insure best quality service and it is a real pleasure for us to read that we have provided you with beautiful moments and agreeable stay. We hope having you back soon in Phnom Penh to enjoy your company again.

François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 261 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

We loved every aspect of our stay here. The pleasant, helpful staff, the lovely design and fittings were top notch! Truly an oasis of gentle calm in this bustling city. Will certainly return and plan to make it our home every time we visit PP!!!

Room Tip: The Jackie Suite was Marvelous!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeff g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Jeff,

Thank you for writing these kind words about our Boutique Hotel concerning your stay among us. We truly enjoyed your company and were very glad to accommodate you in Phnom Penh. My whole staff and I hope to welcome you every time you visit the city.

François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

stayed for 6 days and found the hotel to be perfect. The staff were extremely helpful.The breakfast was amazing as was the setting (right by the pool). There was free wifi throughout the building and by the pool. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EPCBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with "TripAdvisor" community. We are delighted to read your review and especially that you experienced a perfect stay with us. My whole team join me to wish you a nice return to your daily concerns and we all look forward to welcoming you again in Phnom Penh!

François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed for three nights as part of our vacation in Cambodia and enjoyed it a great deal. For me it was'nt really my kind of hotel as I enjoy the anonimity or larger hotels but it was ideal for our needs.
We were the only guests for one night and only one of two for the remainder of our stay. The room ( Maralyn ) was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. we were upgraded from a Landmark room to this one which was kind of Francios the manager. The bed was huge and comfortable, although the linen ( from Beligium ) was a bit course and the pillows a tad firm for my liking.
The bathroom was nice but the shower was a real pain as it was an over bath shower and it could'nt be angled correctly so sprayed beyond the bath and onto the floor. THIS SHOULD BE CORRECTED AS WHEN IN SUCH A HOT STICKY CITY A GREAT SHOWER IS A MUST.
The pool is delightful but I would imagine it would be a crush with more guests ( two sun beds and some sofas) The food was nice as we ate in the resteraunt one night but it lacks atmosphere.
Stay here is you like intimacy and a colonial style but don't if you like anonimity

Room Tip: Ask for a separate rain shower room...you'll need it!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banffUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your kind support.

We have noted that the shower was not at your convenience. Unfortunately you did not mentioned that it is also including a Jacuzzi which provide our guests with great relaxing moments back from sight seeing in the city. We will undertake your remarks seriously to improve our services concerning this very important time of a traveler's day even if the bathtub is already featured with a shower curtain and an adjustable head shower holder.

Our pool, restaurant and Boutique Hotel are always very quiet. We are surprised that you found our restaurant lacking atmosphere as all our guests always appreciate having dinner with us in a colonial mood and private way. As you mentioned, our property is a place where we want our guests to feel treated with a personalized service unlike anonymous people.

We really enjoyed your company as much as you enjoyed your stay among us and we hope you will manage to come and visit us again very soon to discover more about our different products.

François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here under rather stressful circumstances as my son was involved in a motorbike accident in rural Cambodia. So the Governor's House was my peaceful sanctuary after long days. I stayed in two different rooms and each was different but with the same high standard of attention to detail, comfort and a heightened aesthetic.

The food in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner was well priced and delicious. The setting beside the pool was tranquil and elegant. This is a small, genuinely boutique hotel where guests speak to each other in a natural, friendly and unforced way.

This is such a beautiful building which houses a very special hotel. It is the absolute opposite of a generic chain. The owners have style and taste and I even loved the music! I hope to return one day out of choice rather than as an emergency.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank nina99Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your touching review very much appreciated. We are delighted to read all your good comments on our property and quality service. We hope you will manage to come back to Cambodia under better circumstances to take advantage of this beautiful country. The whole staff of our Boutique Hotel is looking forward to welcoming you again in Phnom Penh.

François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We loved The Governors House Boutique Hotel. From the minute we drove through the front gates we knew that once again, with help from Trip Advisor we had another accommodation gem!
We spent two nights in room 1, which was on the ground level situated only a few metres from the swimming pool. It was "off season" when we were in Phnom Penh, so our room was very quiet, but think it may be a different story during a busier time if guests were taking advantage of the swimming area.
The food in the restaurant was first class - we were the only guests dining and it was a little off putting to have a staff member hovering behind us for the majority of the time but this seems to be the norm in Cambodia.
Our room was large with an outdoor shower, a wonderfully comfortable bed, large bath and an indoor shower for more modest guests. Even though the temperature was in the high 30s for our time in Phnom Penh the room was kept cool by the very efficient air conditioning unit.
The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful, Mr Vincent, our driver was entertaining and very informative and we felt very much at home.

Room Tip: Room 1 on the ground floor was very private.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Kathy B,

Thank you so much for your good feedback on your stay among us. We really appreciate to read it and we are glad to know that you consider our Boutique Hotel as an accommodation gem. It was a pleasure to serve you at our restaurant and during your stay. Again thank you for your informative review allowing us to improve our quality service. As you mention you felt at home we want to let you know that we really enjoyed your company and hope to welcoming you back in our quiet property during your next stay in Cambodia.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I chose this place because i simply because i liked the name. it was not expensive compared to a lot other hotels. we were not disappointed. the house is really nice and beautifully decorated. there are 3 levels, each room is different, we were told. Ours was on the third level and we had a balcony with a view. The room and bathroom are clean and well equipped with modern amenities. We ate in the restaurant on the first night. The food and service were good. Breakfast was also served at the restaurant which is by the pool. The area is small but cosy. we enjoyed sitting and having a meal but certainly not being a meal to the mosquitoes -- so do remember to spray on the repellent. The frontdesk staff are generally friendlly and will talk to you. the location of this hotel is very convenient to many places - you can take the tuk tuk or walk. The tuk tuk are not expensive and the guys are more than happy to be your guide for a day - just have to negoitate the price upfront. it is very convenient to get around on them. when we left, the hotel was undergoing some redecoration work in the garden. i'm sure with that, it'll be even better.

Room Tip: The hotel has no elevator so if you can't climb up stairs, take a room on the first level.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renee6764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear valued guest,

It is the first time someone mentioned that the reason of his choice is the name of our Hotel. We are very glad to read your review and would like to thank you in the name of the whole staff for supporting our property the way you do it with this great feedback. We hope you will manage to come back in Phnom Penh for your next journey out of Singapore. Pleasure will be our to accommodate you again in our Boutique Hotel and save you from the mosquitoes with a dinner in our air-conditioned dinning room.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm Tree Boutique Hotel
Palm Tree Boutique Hotel
#40 of 272 in Phnom Penh
123 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sangkum Hotel
The Sangkum Hotel
#44 of 272 in Phnom Penh
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#37 of 272 in Phnom Penh
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,256 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 272 in Phnom Penh
472 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $122 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House boutique hotel in Phnom Penh - the most luxurious and exclusive place in Phnom Penh.The Governor’s House is an exclusive boutique hotel with 12 rooms in an elegant colonial-style mansion located in the heart of BoeungKeng Kang I (BKK I), an area which is known as the best residential area in downtown Phnom Penh, located just a 10 minute drive from the Riverfront. The hotel is only a short drive to the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the National Museum.The hotel was once home to a senator of Phnom Penh and is an old style architectural beauty; tastefully furnished with all original colonial antiques. The hotel shows the exquisite taste in the interior design as directed by the owner, an award winning and internationally recognised interior designer. This boutique hotel offers a perfect balance of colonial style elements combined with modern amenities. With three stories in a Victorian style building, the hotel is inspired by the Asian architectural treasures of ‘The Strand Hotel’ of Yangon, ‘The Raffles Grand d’Angkor Cambodia" of Phnom Penh and the ‘Oriental Hotel’ of Bangkok while still maintaining its originality. The owner recognises the needs of the 21st century business traveller and offers free wi-fi, daily newspapers and an excellent 24 hour concierge.The Governor's House offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant offering breakfast (a la carte menu), lunch and dinner with both outdoor and indoor seating, and balcony space to relax and enjoy the views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing