We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a personality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #76 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It is an oasis in the crazy polluted Phnom phen. A little difficult to find around 20 mins from the Mekong Express bus station and 30 minutes from the airport. A little incognito and does not have any signs up so come prepared with an address map or directions just incase. But once you get here it is like coming home. The welcome was warm and they helped to arrange a reliable Tuk Tuk for 2 days at an extremely reasonable price right off the bat. The location is safe and busy we walked around late at night and felt quite comfortable. There are multiple Tuk Tuks outside and they will take you to the heart of the action for $4. My only complaint would be that we were not able to close the windows completely and as a consequence were frequently visited by mosquitoes this is where the netting on top of the bed came in handy. The breakfast was made to order and tasty. If you want something quick and to go this wasnt it . The shower was rain fall style and huge! The service consisted of one person trying to serve around 5 tables so make sure you take out an hour of your day for breakfast. DId not try the bar or the dinner but both looked good. The front desk was very helpful in making dinner reservations and etc when needed. There was a french manager on site who was hospitable and friendly. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Valued Aimen,

Thank-you for taking some of your time to write a review and post beautiful pictures of our Boutique Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the property, the warm welcome of our wonderful staff and the tasty breakfast. Just after having received your feedback we proceed to a small inspection in "The Winston" room and the windows closed properly. We really hope that you will be able to come back in our hotel and make the most of our helpful staff available round the clock for assistance and always pleased to solve little problems for our guests. We very much look forward to accommodate you again and introduce you to our fine dinning restaurant.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 261 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here our last few days before leaving Cambodia after a two week holiday and we were very presently surprised. The hotel was perfect in all its details. Its decorated with stile and taste. You have many places were you can sit and relax, read a book or admire different are pieces collected by the owner. The rooms are nice and bathroom were luxerious. The hotel staff was very helpful and especially the owner could tell us a lot of the history of Cambodia and the house. Food very good and centrally in the city. We loved our stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWalkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. Our staff is always very proud to learn about good reviews and it is great source of motivation. We are delighted to read that you experienced the perfect accommodation with consistent service during your last stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in Phnom Penh.

Mr. François Sigogneau,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

What a found... As soon arriving on the driveway, surrounded with lush gardens we know this will be a special place. The lobby, in the open atrium and decorated with original colonial antiques is very impressive. Wonderfull restaurant along the pool. Absolute not to miss is the Mekong sunset cruise on the wooden colonial boat. We stayed in The winston room with a massive marble bathroom with rainshower. Raymond, our tuktuk driver was extremely friendly and the drive is only a few minutes from the touristic area. This was the best stay during our 10 days holiday in Cambodia. Definetly will recommend this place to everyone. Thank you Governors house.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Laurent,

First of all we would like to thank you for this great review posted on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to know that our Boutique Hotel was your best stay during your 10 days holidays in Cambodia. We also are glad to hear that you appreciate our products as the sunset Mekong cruise as well as our special tuk-tuk partners always prompt to take good care of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in our exclusive mansion.

Mr. François Signgeau,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Absolute wonderful stay. Starting from the very warm reception in a stunning atrium open to the roof to the check out. It is in an old colonial building, once belonging to the governor of the king. Nice room with lots of details and wonderful bedding. I cannot decribe the feeling. Once you are in this hotel, you feel the whole old world charm. You are truly living "indochina" times.
Would definitely be back

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SopChavax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your great feedback about our Boutique Hotel. We are very glad to hear that our property and service provide such a feeling to our guests. It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back in Phnom Penh during your next travel in Cambodia.

Mr. François Sigogneau,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Situated in a busy Phnom Penh street but its walled garden and drive cut out all noise. Like staying in the home of a good friend. The hotel, including our room, was filled with beautiful antiquities. The owner and staff went out of their way to help us. The food was delicious, the room spotless. What a find!

Room Tip: Choose one with the balcony overlooking the pool. Lovely to sit out in evening and see colours of il...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank weekendwanderers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear valued guest,

What a pleasure for us to read your feedback about our Boutique Hotel. We are glad that you appreciate our garden which set back the building from the boulevard, the antiques and the design which offer a special colonial and relaxing mood, our local staff always trying to help and our fine dinning restaurant. Thank you for finding us and staying with us.

Mr. François Sigogneau,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This boutique hotel is a lovely change from more brash large places one tends to stay. Well appointed room on top floor was very small with no where to unpack if staying a few days. Not suitable for someone with infirmity. That said very comfortable. Poolside and through the hotel whilst we were there for 3 nights the same tedious tape of jazz and Frank Sinatra was played loudly and intrusively The owner said he was proud of his music system!
We had a very good meal on our own in the restaurant. It was a pity the restaurant was so quiet as the food was excellent with delicious wine which is hard to get in Cambodia .
I do not think this hotel will disappoint.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the lower floors sound better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Normanferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciate our special Boutique products: the "Attic" rooms are made for single travelers with a wide range of amenities and comfortable queen size beds. Conversely we are surprised by your feedback about our music system as it manage more than 300 playlists and radios always played as background musics. We hope you will manage to comeback, stay with us again and appreciate the quietness of our property.

Mr. François Sigogneau,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I came for an academic conference, traveling alone and without much time for sightseeing. And so, I was focused on a short stay in Phnom Penh only. My search for a place focused on having breakfast and free wifi....and from there I read reviews. I knew that I may not ever return to Cambodia, and so I wanted to find a 'nice' place to make up a bit for my limited time and sightseeing opportunities. Staying at the Governor's House was like visiting a beautiful home of someone who has a clear sense of aesthetics. How could someone have such a sensibility and create such an atmosphere? Yet a place such as this can only be because of the staff that operates it. No one would praise this hotel (or return to it) if the staff wasn't as welcoming, helpful, and friendly. No issues from my perspective at all. Only 4 stars from me because there is not much within walking distance.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Ron,

Thank you for writing such a nice review about our Boutique Hotel. We are glad that you appreciated our affordable rates including breakfast and WiFi during your last stay among us. We also are very pleased to know that you appreciated our quality service and we look forward to welcoming you back again and introduce you to some interesting places close from our location in the growing Boeung Keng Kang 1 Area.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,562 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#38 of 274 in Phnom Penh
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm Boutique Hotel & Residence
1.6 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $126 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House boutique hotel in Phnom Penh - the most luxurious and exclusive place in Phnom Penh.The Governor’s House is an exclusive boutique hotel with 12 rooms in an elegant colonial-style mansion located in the heart of BoeungKeng Kang I (BKK I), an area which is known as the best residential area in downtown Phnom Penh, located just a 10 minute drive from the Riverfront. The hotel is only a short drive to the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the National Museum.The hotel was once home to a senator of Phnom Penh and is an old style architectural beauty; tastefully furnished with all original colonial antiques. The hotel shows the exquisite taste in the interior design as directed by the owner, an award winning and internationally recognised interior designer. This boutique hotel offers a perfect balance of colonial style elements combined with modern amenities. With three stories in a Victorian style building, the hotel is inspired by the Asian architectural treasures of ‘The Strand Hotel’ of Yangon, ‘The Raffles Grand d’Angkor Cambodia" of Phnom Penh and the ‘Oriental Hotel’ of Bangkok while still maintaining its originality. The owner recognises the needs of the 21st century business traveller and offers free wi-fi, daily newspapers and an excellent 24 hour concierge.The Governor's House offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant offering breakfast (a la carte menu), lunch and dinner with both outdoor and indoor seating, and balcony space to relax and enjoy the views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing