We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #74 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Excellent. Stayed for 4D/3N. Arrived a bit earlier than check in time due to flight but was still allowed to check in as the room was already available. Excellent staff, jovial and willing to go the extra mile. Decor and ambience was fantastic. Stayed in the Marilyn suite and what a treat it was especially with the jacuzzi bath. Only fault was the water in the swimming pool was quite cold. Will definitely stay here in the future if ever I am in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Jason,

It is a great pleasure for us to read your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the experience with us. Concerning the swimming pool, the temperature often exceed 30 Celsius degrees in Cambodia and the difference between water and air can be huge sometimes. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in Phnom Penh and hope you will appreciate a fresh swim after a hot day in the city.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 261 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed in the Jackie suite which we thought was lovely. Nice decor throughout the hotel, good wine list and super friendly staff. Alain was a lovely host and we particularly enjoyed the river cruise he arranged for guests - tapas, bubbles & red wine! What more could you ask for? Although not in the centre of town we did walk from the riverfront to the hotel and it is an easy walk. Hotel is priced at the higher end but if you are looking for more personalised service it is worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Alan and Irene,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review about our Hotel. We are glad that you appreciated both service and products, especially our Mekong Sunset Cruise, during your stay among us. It was a real pleasure to have you as guests here in Phnom Penh.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Sadly we only stayed for one evening but really enjoyed the experience. Very friendly and helpful staff, great setting and location and a short tuk tuk ride into the centre of town. When next in Phnom Phen we will definitely stay at this hotel and it will be for more than one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tommotomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment your recent stay among us. The whole staff is delighted that you enjoyed the service and location we provide. We very much look forward to welcoming you again in Phnom Penh and hope you will manage to stay for longer next time.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 days/ 2 nights in December 2013. The staff were very friendly and the food exceeded our expectations. The personal touches and attention to detail make this hotel feel both relaxing and homely. We were inspired by the design/decor and plan on using some of the ideas in our own home. Will definitely stay again when in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Warren,

Thank you for your stay with us and your great review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted that you appreciated the best of our property products and service. We are also very glad that you felt at home during your stay among us.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in Phnom Penh during your next travel in Cambodia and maybe tell you more about the antiques and the design of our Boutique Hotel.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was in PP for business for the second time selecting the same property.
And will select it again, because of the service level. Very pleased!

If you travel for business its the right place to stay in Phnom Penh

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Your continued support and the confidence you have placed in our Hotel and service is a great motivation source for the entire staff. They keep doing their up most to deliver the best service and exceed expectations thanks to returning guests like you. Thank you for having shared your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very nice hotel, I've stayed here for 3 weeks for business. This delightful property allowed me to invite my clients to a beautiful environment. Also the restaurant was delicious. And last but not least, the staff is extremely friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThibaultVdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Thibault,

Thank you for the review you have posted after your stay among us.
We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our exclusive Boutique Hotel as well as our fine dining restaurant. The whole staff look forward to the pleasure of your company during your next business trip in Cambodia.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed it, as a sole traveller. The Paris Attic room is quite small, but enough and clean if you don't necessarily want to chill at the hotel and go roaming. The hotel has no lift - which was no issue for me and my backpack, but might be for suitcase travellers. The staff are overly friendly. There's free Wifi in the rooms. Breakfast is ordinary. The hotel isn't quite walking distance - but you can get a Tuk Tuk (there's always one outside the hotel). They charge a few dollars more than one on the street, but their English is fluent and they're fun guys.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank erdemk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, Directeur général at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at our Hotel and for your review. Ours Attic rooms are our smallest rooms made for providing great comfort to single travelers with a queen size bed and all en-suite amenities. We never have had complaints about carrying suitcases up to the rooms because our friendly staff always take care of it for all our guests. We are sad that you didn't appreciate our breakfast as we provide a wide choice of 4 menus plus "à la carte" morning meals and we always receive congratulations on our restaurant. The hotel is 10 minutes away from the city center by Tuk-Tuk but also at walking distance from local life and attractions like Beong Keng Kong market. We hope we will accommodate you again in our hotel and introduce you to more places in Phnom Penh city.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm Tree Boutique Hotel
Palm Tree Boutique Hotel
#41 of 270 in Phnom Penh
122 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sangkum Hotel
The Sangkum Hotel
#44 of 270 in Phnom Penh
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#37 of 270 in Phnom Penh
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,254 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 270 in Phnom Penh
470 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 270 in Phnom Penh
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $123 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House boutique hotel in Phnom Penh - the most luxurious and exclusive place in Phnom Penh.The Governor’s House is an exclusive boutique hotel with 12 rooms in an elegant colonial-style mansion located in the heart of BoeungKeng Kang I (BKK I), an area which is known as the best residential area in downtown Phnom Penh, located just a 10 minute drive from the Riverfront. The hotel is only a short drive to the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the National Museum.The hotel was once home to a senator of Phnom Penh and is an old style architectural beauty; tastefully furnished with all original colonial antiques. The hotel shows the exquisite taste in the interior design as directed by the owner, an award winning and internationally recognised interior designer. This boutique hotel offers a perfect balance of colonial style elements combined with modern amenities. With three stories in a Victorian style building, the hotel is inspired by the Asian architectural treasures of ‘The Strand Hotel’ of Yangon, ‘The Raffles Grand d’Angkor Cambodia" of Phnom Penh and the ‘Oriental Hotel’ of Bangkok while still maintaining its originality. The owner recognises the needs of the 21st century business traveller and offers free wi-fi, daily newspapers and an excellent 24 hour concierge.The Governor's House offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant offering breakfast (a la carte menu), lunch and dinner with both outdoor and indoor seating, and balcony space to relax and enjoy the views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing