We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Anise Villa(Phnom Penh)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Residence(Phnom Penh)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
145
68
26
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
68
26
16
6
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 261 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Belgian owner of this beautiful house in the heart of Phnom Penh has created a colonial style gem. Each room is different but exquisitely decorated and beautiful antiques are in abundance as you walk up the central staircase. The pool area outside is not huge but very pleasant.
The food is excellent; service is somewhat on the slow side and the staff is struggling a bit with foreign languages - both issues are quite common in Cambodia and the owner is working on improving this.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different - best to talk to someone
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slow2Melt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Looking for an exceptional place to stay while travelling
through Phnom Penh, Cambodia..? Seek no further,
give "the Governor's house" a go. The colonial atmosphere
welcoming you when entering (especially in the evening)
is unparallelled. Belgian owner Alain has created a cosy,
very personalised place : the (very) small scale boutique
hotel bursts with authentic antiques, every room has its
own name (Hemingway, of course..), old style opera music
floats through the lofty corridors. Wake up refreshed (yes,
aircon is provided), and enjoy the curated open air breakfast.
Tempted ? Try, you won't regret!
Luc - Belgium.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Luc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel over Easter for a few days on our arrival in Phnom Penh and again when we left Cambodia. Both times we enjoyed our stay only somewhat feeling maybe we could've done better.

The building itself is a colonial style villa with nice veranda on the front, inside the rooms go around and up three floors making a high atrium and nice high cool ceiling and reception, lovely wooden floors and many antiques.

There is a nice sized lawn in the front with seating and umbrellas but the law hadn't been cut for awhile and it looked like there was a bit of a serious drainage problem as the grass was thin rank and tall and the ground soggy. Didn't inspire us to linger. Up stairs there is nice veranda and shade of a tree but its a bit unused and could do with nicer seating maybe a few loungers.

We were given the wrong room on arrival but that was no problem as they changed after about half an hour phoning as the "owner" wasn't in. The two at reception couldn't speak more than a word of English between them luckily a very efficient girl from Belgium came to our rescue. The room they tried giving us in the beginning was even smaller than the one we got but apparently it was one "class" up in the twelve room hierarchy for some reason, maybe it was the novelty of the bath in the middle of our small room.

The rooms themselves were disappointingly small for such a nice large supposed "French villa". I doubt this was originally so, so they must've squashed in extra rooms when converting the building to a guest house. Im not sure but it was very cramped in the rooms. The pictures of "beds" in the rooms in its advert are basically the whole room. We had a bath in our room as I said, there was no where else to put it as there was no bath room as such. Cluttered is putting it mildly, there were antiques in our room that were far to big or out of proportion many, the scale to the tiny room was completely out. Everything was but a nose hair away, the dressers and draws all quite honestly simply too large or the room, the room to small or both. Even we were too big for the room (not fat) ! The bath took up half the room.

Luckily we did have a balcony without it I would've gone mad. Small with a chair and table and a rather nice little splash of colour from some bougainvillaea on the corner but just that extra space to brush ones teeth, get dressed or put your shoes on without hitting ones head made a difference. Remember there were two of us in the room so we moved clock wise around the bed to avoid collision.

One other thing that took us by complete surprise, even though the bed itself was comfortable was that the linen had the texture of sacking and felt very scratchy on the skin and face. We felt this might be the norm in Cambodia where the majority make do with very little so we didn't complain.

Not really a hotel to spend any time in as a result though the pool was nice and for South East Asia also quite cool due to it being under a mango tree, little but so worth a pleasant dip on your return from sight seeing. Seating is limited to three couples or three singles, they may be sprayed with a fine mister hung above this is not optional.

The breakfast included was al la carte with a simple menu and was ok if not exactly sumptuous. Especially good were the fresh crispy baguette luckily they've had time to practise this in Cambodia since the French arrived back in 1863. The jams were not nice, homemade I feel and strangely greasy on the tongue, lacking any real flavour, too much gelatine maybe I dont know. Honey might be a better touch or Bonne Maman marmalade. Coffee was good but luke warm and half full of foam it was special order as it was cappuccino. Breakfast service was completely and absolutely charming!

There is not much more one can say about this tiny guest house. Would I stay there again? Probably not it was a bit too claustrophobic for us and besides I doubt we have much of a need to go back to Phnom Penh, Siam Riep would be a preferred destination in Cambodia we enjoyed it a lot more.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony rooms if you must stay
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gauldi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Feeling well immediately when arriving in this beautiful,cosy,exotic, so well located "home" where dark wood and perfectly choiced khmer statues give a warm buddhic sensation! & the cookie is not the least gift of this cambodian experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It is a great hotel, staff are friendly, price not too expensive, and most importantly, the settings is first-class. The furnitures and all the decorations is very europeanized. I went to Cambodia with another friend in July 2013. We were both surprised by how boutique and delicate the hotel is.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erica x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews