We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply scrumptious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deco - CLOSED

Deco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Deco is a relaxed, stylish restaurant serving lunch, dinner and cocktails. A great place to have a business lunch, dinner with friends or just pop in for a drink. Using local products as much possible, Deco is creating inventive European food with an Asian touch running through the menu. From house cured salmon and kampot crab cakes to slow cooked steaks and home made burgers. We aim to raise the bar of European food in Phnom Penh while still keeping the price affordable. The lounge area at Deco is the perfect place to sip one of our delicious cocktails before or after dinner, or perhaps hang out with friends over a bottle of wine from our extensive list.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply scrumptious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I took my parents there about three weeks ago. The crab cake is a must have. We also enjoyed the duck with plum sauce. Although it tasted like Asian style cooking, we thought the watermelon addition was splendid.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IRGGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    101
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Fantastic food, superb staff, elegant courtyard - we couldn't have had a nicer evening. Has to be the best in Phnom Penh.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 6pmf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deco is not just a great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am a regular here for a number of reasons. The food is excellent and always excellent. The ambience and service for the price is unique in this city. But one thing struck me last Monday. The owners of this restaurant have encouraged and trained their staff in a way which you do not see in Phnom Penh very much. The staff are charming, knowledgeable, polite but not servile. They know the menu, they can professionally open a bottle of wine. They present the food in neatly and without fuss. They are attentive but not hanging on your shoulder the entire meal. The kitchen staff are immaculately dressed in chef's whites and they are friendly and open when you pass them on the way to the bathroom upstairs. You can watch them work and you see immediately that they are professionally trained chefs and that the owners have really invested in veeryone who works in that restaurant. By the way the kitchen and bathrooms are spotless.

A lot of the foreign run service businesses in this city exploit local people. Deco not only produces fine food in a fantastic environment but they are giving back to the local economy and people by preparing excellent staff for the ever increasing hotel/restaurant/tourism industry. And maybe even encouraging a new Cambodian entrepeneur from their staff. It is not the only reason to go Deco but I think an important one. Go for the food, go for the ambience but go also to see how rapidly young people in this country can develop and shine if given the right opportunities and encouragement.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

At last, a really fantastic restaurant in PP. original and totally delicious cuisine. Brilliant service, outstanding cocktails and all at prices that don't make your eyes water. We'll be back and back and back again. Why bother going anywhere else?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pender island
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice courtyard and very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a nice small restaurant in a quiet residential area away from the busy Riverfront strip ($2 tuk tuk ride). The food quality is very good. Wine list is ok. Outdoor dining is exceptionally nice. Only problem is the cigarette smoke from the guests. That's why I give it 8 out of 10. If you go book the tuk tuk there and back because it might be hard to get one there later.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bucketlistmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deco also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing