We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Ranked #29 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here for our last night of our trip and were slightly disappointed. It is in a great position but on entering it has a distinct feel of being unfinished. The floor was not great and there were bare walls everywhere….a design feature?? The pool was lovely and the views from the roof were wonderful. Our room was small, no outlook at all and was in need of a coat of paint. Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. Fine for one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie31204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    305
    132
    40
    17
See reviews for
97
281
87
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I was disappointed at first as it didn't have that 4 star feel to it, felt a bit like a flashy backpackers, however i did enjoy my time here, it's clean and comfortable, the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful, spa services were reasonably priced and had a great foot massage. Nice little pool on the roof, cute and spacious rooms, Wifi excellent, great roof top bar with very cheap and yummy cocktails, and the biggest draw is the location.

What I think could be better.
breakfast was a limited selection, the cereal was stale croissants weren't that fresh either.
The lighting in the bathrooms and at the end of the hallways made it really hard to see even in the day.
Had an awkward metal key to lock and open the doors which was a bit of a process of jiggling the lock and turns, and also was bulky in your pocket if you didn't have a bag.

I don't recommend The tuk tuk drivers from the hotel, even though the hotel has set prices the drivers try to double the price from the already hotel inflated prices, i use the hotel tuk tuks to avoid having to argue over the fare but there's no point as they try and rip you off anyway even with hotel controlled prices.

Overall the good outweighs the bad and it's a very pleasant stay for a reasonable price, would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank kmm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerang, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

From the time we arrived the staff were fantastic. Our room was comfy and a good size. The bed was the best of all the hotels on our holiday. I had a full body massage which was great. The pool area on the roof overlooking the royal palace great. Lovely cool breezes at the bar on the roof . Not far to walk to some good restuarants. We would definately stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank purplestamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pouch Cove, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Frangipani is a great name and I loved the building's architecture but the chain's management are out of the dark ages. Sure Cambodia does not yet have the service culture other Asian cultures do but the people are friendly surely with significant unemployment you could find willing people you could train. But management seems to cheap out at literally every turn and what could be a fabulous active thriving operation in the heart of Phnom Penh is at best an average place. I would try somewhere else, especially after staying with Frangipani in Siem Reap which was an unmitigated disaster.

If you want details of the sort of problems we had, the safe came with no instructions and the desk just thought we were idiots. There was no wifi so recognizing the issue asked them to reboot the router which finally after five hours they did. Tub is a step up with no hand rail, but don't grab the shower rod it is a plastic one from the sixties. Not that you will be showering much unless you like them cold. Huge potential with their sky bar if they had not shipped unsold Walmart tables in to kit it out. And on it goes. Like I said try another chain like Essence in Vietnam. They were awesome people whose stay continues to stay in touch.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lower floor. The elevator is all but useless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

If you want a mid range hotel when you step out you are beside the Royal Palace ,national museum; the river and prom , all the restaurants and bars.....then i can reccomend.The staff are lovely, I had a nice clean room with balcony overlooking the palace.There is a small rooftop pool and bar with great views over the city, good place to have a cool drink watching the sun set.........Only negative comment is that it could do with a lick of paint......

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed there once when the other frangipani I booked was full and the system made a mistake. So the staff was kind enough to give me a deluxe room with huge bacolny in the Royal Palace. However I really didn't enjoy much of my stay there. For one the smell of fresh paint was very strong although it has opened for more than half a year before I went there. Then the breakfast was not very good for Phnom Penh standard. The taxi was not a metered taxi and over charged, From every aspect it doesn't deserve a 4 star. If I have to pay over $150 for the room I stayed, I rather pay more and go to Sofitel, at least you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chenjiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel was very conveniently located next to the Royal Palace and the riverfront and also near to street markets, bars and restaurants. While basically decorated (the walls had obviously been newly plastered and still awaiting painting?) the rooms were clean and bedding immaculate and comfortable. There was no hot water though and this was repaired by day 2. This did ruin it for us a bit.

This hotel has a lovely rooftop bar with superb views (again with plastered walls in need of painting) but could have benefitted from some nice plants and foliage to give it some ambience. They make very nice reasonably priced cocktails though!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaylo909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
381 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#15 of 267 in Phnom Penh
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,623 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel

Property: The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Address: 27 Street 178 (Corner of Royal Palace & In Front of Riverside), Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel is situated in the heart of Phnom Penh on the edge of the citys art district and couple of minutes walk from the bustling river front area and the historic Royal Palace.With a roof top pool and restaurant, our own spa, and spacious, comfortable rooms, the hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Cambodia’s capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing