We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Ranked #28 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights in Oct 2013 with my husband. Our room was not ready when we arrived and had to wait, but were given a complimentary drink and our room was also upgraded. No problems after this initial hiccup.

This is a lovely hotel. Lovely clean and refreshing rooftop pool area with a great view over The Royal Palace and the city. We swam three times in four days, although the spa is not much. However the bar is very expensive.

Very close to the riverfront.

Lovely staff.

Breakfast is good. We had room service at one point which is prompt, hot and good value for money.

Free airport transfer one way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    290
    126
    39
    17
See reviews for
92
269
86
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth-WA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were picked up from the airport by the hotel in a car and greeted by the staff on entering reception and offered a cool towel and drink whilst checking in. We had a balcony room which is at the front of the hotel overlooking the palace and museum. It is one street back from the busy river front on a side street so it is quieter but still in a central location. The room is spacious with a seating area and a canopy bed. The bed was very comfortable but would have been better with a second pillow. The bathroom is very clean and functional. The shower is over the bath but good water pressure and always hot. There was a good wardrobe/storage area outside the bathroom. The wifi in the room is good and the flat screen tv has adequate channels. There is a fridge and coffee making facilities and complimentary bottled water. The pool area was on the roof with great views over the palace and river but at times it could be very windy. There is a restaurant on the roof and off the reception area on the ground floor which is also where the breakfast is served and is open to the road. The buffet breakfast is small but adequate, the best omelettes made to order. The staff were always friendly and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianKPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at this hotel. We had actually booked the Frangipani Fine Arts hotel, but when we arrived the hotel was full, so they "upgraded" us to the Royal Palace Hotel.

Positives:
. Location is great: a fews meters away from the Royal Palace, Museum and river. You can actually see the hotel when you visit the Royal Palace ...
. Staff is really friendly, even the tuk tuk driver parked outside are always smiling and helpful.
. Rooms are clean, and breakfast nice.
. However, I only rated the hotel 3 stars because I found the rooms & overall atmosphere were average, not memorable. Also, even if it did not matter to us, if you are selecting the hotel for the pool, please be aware that the picture is actually misleading - it is actually very small.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabienen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. The room was ok, clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was ok. The pool area was great with outstanding views of the Royal Palace and city all around. The most redeeming feature of this hotel was it's location. Next to the Royal Palace, 50 metres to Riverfront, Restaurants etc.
Overall the very friendly & very helpful staff, and the location of this Hotel made our stay far more enjoyable..

Room Tip: Try to get a high room, facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robhan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Very minimalist in fittings and finish. Shower rail fell down and no wall fittings in room. Food very ordinary. Tour set menu dinner over priced and bland. Heavy thunderstorm flooded hotel corridors. Second night meal no better. Pool and roof terrace stunning - extensive views over the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JETB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a great Hotel-excellent staff.

The swimming pool and roof top bar provide great views of the City.They have a "happy hour" in the early evening-go with the drinks- avoid the food it is very ordinary and is cold by the time it gets to you.

Breakfast buffet is very good.

Room Tip: Avoid the roof top restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leikanger, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location close to The Royal Palace, National Museum and Riverside. Lots of restaurants close to the hotel. The room was large and clean. Great view from the roof top restaurant. Very friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borgtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen Grand Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel

Property: The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Address: 27 Street 178 (Corner of Royal Palace & In Front of Riverside), Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel is situated in the heart of Phnom Penh on the edge of the citys art district and couple of minutes walk from the bustling river front area and the historic Royal Palace.With a roof top pool and restaurant, our own spa, and spacious, comfortable rooms, the hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Cambodia’s capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing