We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple with superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed 2 nights at the hotel and i have pretty good experience with them. The hotel staffs were friendly, polite and approachable with pretty good command of English. They allowed us to check in early at 9am without charging. The hotel has superb location where it is near Royal Palace and National Museum. The room was pretty simple with comfy bed. The room is quite clean too. There are also Wifi services which allows us to connect to the world. However, the breakfast is a disappointment. It wasnt even heated up when i was having my breakfast.
Besides that, i think is value for money. The hotel even have Day trip for you to sign up if you don't know where to go. There is a roof top bar with very afforable drinks and nice view of the vicinity.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsf_tan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 791 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay.
Staff wonderful.
Breakfast very nice.
Yes the rooms where nice but not finished, if you read comments it will tell you.
Workmen working on the building.
Staff went out of there way to accommodate. Room was very clean.
When it's finished you can se it will be nice. A few things to do. But overall a
Lovely place to stay.
Location wonderful... Loas people very gentle and friendly.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.
Frank and deb Johnson.
Western Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have booked at Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel and they've upgraded us into this one. At first, I hesitated because I was already tired and needed a bed ASAP. But their concierge assure me that it will be better. We were directed to this hotel and was assisted immediately. My friends and I were in awe at the sight of their lobby entrance. The design of the hotel is a fusion of contemporary and classic which made it unique and interesting. Their hotel is at close proximity of the places we wanted to visit, a number of restaurants and shops and the riverside. The staff made us feel at home and overwhelmed us with smiles. Our room has big windows but no interesting views. We have two twin beds and an extrabed to accomodate us 3. It has a spa-like feel (maybe because of the aroma diffuser) and very relaxing bed. We have a spacious and very clean room and bath. We have strong Wifi which is a plus for us who wants to keep ourselves connected. The hotel got a bar and heated pool at their rooftop. Which also have nice view of the city lights. The breakfast was well planned and very good! It was served buffet style and we were elated by the food choices. I'll definitely comeback someday and will recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: please ask for a room with a view to avoid intriguing neighbors or dull walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in this place in December 2012. We had money stolen from the safe. The furnishings are cheap. Nothing works properly. No internal locks on the doors. We had a worker enter our room in the wee hours mistakenly..!!! Unacceptable. Tour companies keep using this accommodation. Food was cold. Furnishings cheap. CCTV is not connected. Many fantastic places to stay in Phnom Penh this is NOT one of them - more like a 1.5 star. Stay away - noisy all street noise comes in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HolidayOz q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniManagement, Manager at The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. However, the part of the review does not reflect the fact and did not give a ground on the case of money stolen. For the money stolen case, we put a full investigation by checking CCTV and the safe box but we found nothing wrong and we could not accept that the money was stolen because the password is owned by the guest. For other part of the review, for example, there was no internal locks on the door at that time and for this matter, we already fixed it and now all the doors attached with door locks.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked to stay here for 13 nights, but left after just one, the location is great right opposite the royal palace and just one street back from the river, the staff are very friendly and always smile, but that is where it ends, the air conditioning is under sized for the rooms, on entering our room the temperature was 31 degrees it took over three hours for the room the get to 25 degrees it never got any cooler then that making sleeping very uncomfortable, the same could be said for the rest of the hotel very hot with non existent or under sized units, this is not acceptable for a so called four star hotel in Asia, we went to the pool on the roof top there was one umbrella for shade, when I enquired if there was more I was told they were all broken, making it impossible to spend any time by the pool for fear of being sun burned, I would say a lot of the photographs you see of the hotel have been photo shopped, at breakfast the food on display (bread and fruit) were not covered and were being attacked by flies making them not very appetising. for a four star hotel costing nearly $100.00 a night in Cambodia, it needs to do a lot better.

Room Tip: Find a hotel with good air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Frangipani is beautifully located near the Royal Palace, Museum and Mekong waterfront. best of all are the incredibly warm, lovely staff ( Flower and September!). The rooms are clean, spacious and if you manage one of the special deals, very good inner city value. we would definitely stay here again, having already visited twice during our recent stay in Cambodia. It's not five star but extremely nice and the staff are gorgeous. Kate Arnold

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay the extra for a balcony room if budget is an issue. there is little difference in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katearnold2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and couldn't fault it. Our room was lovely with a large balcony including seating and a spa!
The location is delightful, just a short safe walk from FCC and many restaurants. The rooftop pool was a welcome relief from the heat. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming with nothing being too much trouble.
A great place to stay in PP

Room Tip: 6th floor at the front of the hotel. Best views and it appears from other reviewers best rooms also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#10 of 278 in Phnom Penh
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#24 of 278 in Phnom Penh
1,685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#19 of 278 in Phnom Penh
611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 278 in Phnom Penh
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel

Address: 27 Street 178, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $62 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel is situated in the heart of Phnom Penh on the edge of the citys art district and couple of minutes walk from the bustling river front area and the historic Royal Palace.With a roof top pool and restaurant, our own spa, and spacious, comfortable rooms, the hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Cambodia’s capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing