We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Gate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #100 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
AUSSIE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Golden Gate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

we booked the Golden Gate Hotel after looking at trip adviser. We were a group of 16 people, and had no hassles whatsoever in booking accommodation, being picked up at the airport everything went smoothly. The rooms are clean and spacious, bathroom a little dated, breakfast was good and they do your washing the same day for free. Overall excellant stay. Most places were easy to get to and there are plenty of tuk tuk drivers out the front

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEEBS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    60
    49
    15
    3
See reviews for
10
25
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

We paid $28US and thought that this was a bit expensive for what it was. It is in a very good location, with many great restaurants on the same street. The cable was also very good, with lots of english language channels to choose from (HBO, star movies). But the air-con didn't really seem to work that well, in fact it seemed like the fan in the room was providing more cool air than the actual air-con did. Also, the water from the shower didn't drain from the bathroom floor, leaving the room smelly after a few hours because the bathroom door didn't close. This was room 311. I thought getting free laundry would be fantastic, but they write your room number in pen on the actual material of each item of clothing. The staff were mostly nice, but we were continually hounded to book a room with one of their affiliate hotels in Siem Reap. Our in house phone was even called at 9pm the night before we left to try to get us to book through them.
Out the front of the hotel everyday and night are a gaggle of tuk-tuk drivers who run up to you before you've even walked down the stairs. It really does start to get annoying when you just want to walk to the restaurant next door. At night some of them seemed to be drunk because they get a lot more aggressive and loud.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trutraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

When you've been round Cambodia you appreciate the little luxeries. This place is excellent value with hot water, air conditioning and friendly staff with perfect english. I say enough and beyond because as a Numatatist, collect notes and coins, i wanted to get old Cambodian notes. The girl at the desk and a male member of staff had 5 guys there the next day notes ranging from 25 -40 years old, rare notes. You don't get this just anywhere.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank littlerego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

It's a simple hotel with a bed for sleep. The hotel has very limited facilities and a small lobby. I find it more comfortable to sit in nearby cafes or restaurants. I got a Superior room for USD 35. It comes with a la carte breakfast and free in-room cable internet. Cable TV is good. They've got all the movie channels, natgeo, international news, and a few Thai channels. Room decor is odd and the furniture seems to be mismatched. The door is thin and water pressure is quite low.

Breakfast: If you are a coffee drinker, forget the coffee offered at breakfast.

Airport transfer is USD 10 per way. You can book it at the hotel's reception.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue9bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldie1688, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
First, we would like to thank you the guest who have written this review. All review, good or bad, is read by us with great care so that we can continue to improve and offer the best service possible for all guests. The interior of the rooms have been recently remodelled at the new wing in order to serve guests better. It is now equipped with 32 inches LCD TV at Superior Room. Also regarding the coffee, we have replaced the old one with the best premium grade coffee now. We hope you will enjoy it at your next visit with us. Once again, thank you very much and we hope you enjoy your stay in Cambodia.

Golden Gate Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel, and many others in Phnom Penh, over the last 6 years. Tried elsewere, but always return. It is in a great location that is quiet, well serviced by restaurants and supermarkets and away from the hustle and bustle of the Riverside or City Centre.

One good thing is that the staff turnover is small and they enjoy their work. It doesn't matter whether you are in the new wing, or across the road at the old wing or annex we are always warmly welcomed on our return and looked after. If we have been traveling for a while, we know there will be no hassle getting a large load of laundry done on the first day, FREE of charge. Room rates vary from $20 tp $35 depending on the wing and the size of the rooms. As people have said there is only a lift in the new wing.

I am amazed that the internet is free here in the new wing, as it is generally quite expensive in Cambodia to install and operate. If you are in the annex, you can come over to the lobby of the new wing and use WiFi there.

All up a no frills, comfortable and safe hotel in a lovely part of Phnom Penh that has easy access to most of the tourist destinations in and around the city.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samdevau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

The Golden Gate hotel is clean and offers comfortable en-suite rooms for approx. 24 USD / night incl. breakfast. The hotel is located near the Independence Monument, all major sights of Phnom Penh can be reached easily from there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kugelblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

Helpful staff, front street are rows of western,
khmer resturants, coffee house


& also Tour agencies for coach ticket to places like:


- Ho Chin minh,
- sikhanoville,
- Siem Reap;


With $20+ USD,
hiring a tuk tuk driver at hotel entrance for bringing you to:

- Killing fields,
- S21 Genocide museum,
- Russian & Central market,
- Royal Palace & Pagoda etc;


Will stay there again;

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fluzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Anise Hotel
Anise Hotel
#25 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#61 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#99 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#98 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#82 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Property: Golden Gate Hotel
Address: No. 9, Street 278 | Sangkat Beng Keng Kang 1, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Phnom Penh
Golden Gate Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing