We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$77
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$152
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilion(Phnom Penh)
$73
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$38
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$58
$44
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $49/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

G Mekong Hotel(Phnom Penh)
$51
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TeaHouse(Phnom Penh)
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Mansion(Phnom Penh)
$95
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
23
65
48
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
65
48
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree laundryshort or long stayindependence monumenttuk tuklaundry servicenoodlesspeak good englishwifiac
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 155 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for around 3 days after our business trip in Vietnam, the service quality was just so-so. I remember when we arrived to check in to the room, the bellboy was confused to find a way to our room. The room wasn't amazing, but it's clean. The AC works fine. The price is quite cheap, but I guess the service quality was also quite 'cheap'. They are friendly, but a bit unprofessional.
There are lots of friendly tuk-tuk just outside the hotel, and many lively restaurants & pubs nearby around BKK area. I would recommend this place for short period of stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayu_Ranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I spent more than one month at the Golden Gate. It's a great value at $15 per night for annex rooms (no elevator) and $5 for breakfast. Location in the BKK I district is excellent. Lots of friendly tuk-tuk drivers outside the hotel, and they'll all know your name within two days! If you want simplicity and a reasonable price, you can't beat this place. I will stay here again. Staff members are helpful, and Pala in the main building will be happy to help you arrange side trips to Siem Reap, Sihanoukville, and other parts of Cambodia. Leave your laundry outside your room in the morning, and it will be returned that afternoon without charge. Rooms have free wifi, a refrigerator, TV, and air conditioning. Many restaurants closeby.

Room Tip: Rooms near balconies are the best. Balconies have tables and chairs giving you extra space.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Golden gate is a no frills, but nice and clean hotel. My room had two beds, good AC, clean bedding and towels. Its one of the nicer fair priced hotels. I liked and would come again. Very Friendly staff and if you are interested in that type of thing, a brand new open air western night club just opened up about 3 doors down.

Room Tip: stay on the back side to avoid road noise.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Hi everyone , if you are looking for short term stay then this hotel is fine , but for the longer term you shouldn't . There are lots of other guesthouses in the same location in cheaper price and also bigger rooms. They have kitchen facilities also .

Thanks

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank siva1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Golden Gate is an ideal place to stay for the long-term business visitor. By choosing a deluxe room one gets a much larger room with a kitchenette area that has a microwave, preparation area, cupboards, fridge and sink.

Also, the hotel is ideally located for eating out and for supermarket-type shopping.

However, what really makes all the difference is the hotel staff. Over the past five years, it has been very comforting as a regular visitor to meet up with them all again. They all work as a team and create a very friendly homely atmosphere, a real bonus if one is staying long-term.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room, has more space plus a kitchenette area
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews