We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, cheap and friendly”
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #104 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic, cheap and friendly”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Building B for a month while working, the facilities are old and run down but the place was very clean and safe, nothing went missing. Laundry was essential and perfect for my needs. Breakfast was average. You can ask for no breakfast and get $5 each day off your price and go have breakfast at artillery or the nice cafes around the street for cheaper and better. Especially loved the evening receptionists at building B Gany and Him whom I ended up chatting to many nights. Tips: Try to get a room with windows, cutlery, plates, kettle and stove available on request, don't take their breakfast option.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank hellojoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    60
    49
    15
    3
See reviews for
10
25
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I hadn't expected a lot and wasn't disappointed - it was a dump. My room was somewhere underground more like a dungeon. No natural light or windows. Spooky corridors to navigate. Doors are made of plastic and walls thin so noise came in from everywhere. At least the room and bathroom were clean despite plumbing problems ie toilet wouldn't stop running. Had fridge and TV but no safe - needs a safe as plastic door not secure. Fridge stopped working during night and food spoilt. had to have it fixed up. No free water which is unusual. Trying to think of some good things but hard.

Room Tip: My best advice - Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Value for Money, Located in the prime location surrounded by good restaurants and major attractions. Free Laundry was a Bonus. The staff were very friendly and rooms were neat and clean with the basic amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohanRamBIGFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights - besides the price, the good points are the location, it's fairly safe, the free laundry service (saved me from getting an almost certain stain on a favorite white shirt), friendly staff, decent internet (for Cambodia) and the breakfast (nothing amazing but better than what I've had elsewhere in this town). Bad points are the place is quite run-down looking, my room seemed clean enough but did have a certain smell to it, and you can feel how they cut corners to keep their costs down: I have never had such a small bar of soap (and no shampoo), no newspapers to read in the morning, not even any customary drinking water in your room.

A lot of NGO workers and student tour groups stay here, which helps give the place a certain feeling of security compared to the dilapidated rooms - prison bars on my windows, the regular door lock hardly worked on my room so the bolts felt really necessary.

I'd definitely stay again, but it will never be the sort of place I'll look forward to staying at.

Room Tip: No elevator so be prepared if you get the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsiaExpatIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Actually i wrote about 2 weeks ago but it was disappeared. Don't know why , watever it was terrible whole night i killed 3 roaches and i m sure there is a hive i heard lots of weird sound whole night.... So big roachs attack, even fly.
If u stay here never stay in first floor

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dong Ho Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is my second time staying at Golden Gate. The hotel was full so we had a standard room. It was very basic - no window so no access to fresh air, smelt of stale smoke, bathroom drain blocked, walls were mouldy. A few nights later we managed to upgrade to a deluxe room. It is a few dollars more each and was well worth it. I especially liked the glittery wallpaper! Room had a bath and lift access rather than 3 flights of stairs. Brekky was basic but fruit was always fresh and pancakes hot. loved the washing service. Location is very handy to everything.

Room Tip: Go deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btifgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed with a group which was doing volunteer work in Cambodia. We stayed in standard rooms without windows but they were clean and the service was good. Free laundry service was fantastic. The bathroom was an experience to be remembered. But the water was hot when we learned how to turn it on. The security boxes had to be seen to be believed - but they worked for me & that is what matters.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Pandan Boutique Hotel
Pandan Boutique Hotel
#44 of 270 in Phnom Penh
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anise Hotel
Anise Hotel
#28 of 270 in Phnom Penh
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
#82 of 270 in Phnom Penh
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#61 of 270 in Phnom Penh
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
#38 of 270 in Phnom Penh
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Property: Golden Gate Hotel
Address: No. 9, Street 278 | Sangkat Beng Keng Kang 1, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Phnom Penh
Golden Gate Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing