We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
23
65
48
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
65
48
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree laundryshort or long stayindependence monumentnoodleswifiac
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 155 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel upon my arrival (for the first time) in Cambodia for business. It is very good value for money and has most of the basics (e.g. working internet, AC and en-suite bathroom), but everything is pretty basic. But at this price, one can't complain really! It seemed clean and secure enough and although it was fairly quiet inside, I suspect that at times, the noise from outside could be enough to keep some awake.

It is well located in an area popular with tourists and although the hotel has an in-house restaurant, better eating places are available right outside. By European standards, it is all good value (which makes such a pleasant change to most of Africa and the Caribbean!) There is a decent supermarket nearby (Lucky Supermarket), plus plenty of other shops.

For a relatively short stay, this hotel is OK, but is likely to be too limiting for more than about a week.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markthriscutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Unhappy experience at Golden Gate. Booked it based on positive trip advisor reviews, but having stayed in several hotels in Phnom Penh around this price I was very disappointed. The included breakfast is a plus point but quality of the buffet was poor and my choice limited to semi-warm pancakes and eggs with one piece of manufactured ham.

The room was large and very clean, but with zero natural light. More troubling for me was the atrocious bed which was back-breakingly uneven and weak. When I complained the next morning I was told I should have said something earlier, but I did not feel inclined to request a change of rooms upon retiring at midnight.

I was not able to take advantage of the fabled free laundry service as I was only staying one night. They only collect your laundry between 7am and 12 noon.

When the inquired if I would be staying another night at the same rate I was pleased to say 'no thank you'.

Upon checking out I was asked to pay $2 for the water provided in the room. I was not impressed with this and explained to the reception team that I had not been told of this cost in advance. Along with the other issues, as I related them to 'Theary' the net result was one unhappy customer.

I asked to speak to the manager to resolve the issue but was told he was not in the hotel and not available via telephone. I asked who was in charge and was told by Theary 'we all are'. Finally I asked what the reception team could do to prevent me walking away from the hotel as an unhappy customer. The response: 'I have no idea'.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwbabyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having spent nearly 6 weeks at the Golden Gate Hotel, we got to know the staff and the hotel pretty well. Pallah on reception is fabulous and can help with anything you require. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel is in a great location. The free laundry service is a great bonus. Just put your laundry in the basket outside your door each morning and it's back washed and ironed the same day. What a great service. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Have visited Cambodia for past six years stayed in GG many times
Good location close to restaurants and food stores(lucky up the street) Tuktuks outside you door for transport.
Good clean rooms main hotel good value ( Deluxe rooms at the front / standard rooms are poor in my opinion) but the annex is better but they do not have a lift in the annex
best twin rooms on 4th floor (long walk) and on the lower floors suites with kitchen many with long term stayers as well as standard doubles (no windows).Can be a bit noisy in front rooms due to bar across the road.
Breakfast is OK room service is good fast and staff friendly.
Some staff have very good english others not so good but try their best to be helpful
Not normally a backpacker place more NGO stayers westerners who work in PP but did have bad experience with two french young men loud music,drugs and a prostitute .Management very slow to react but eventually they were kicked out as many rooms have single women so this type of behaviour is not acceptable. This type of behaviour would not have happened three years ago better security then.
PP is a place that you want to feel secure at night you are dependent on the staff to provide that hopefully the hotel has improved in this area.
Has been our base in PP since 2005 mostly good memories believe it gives value for money if you get the right room.

Room Tip: Some rooms small and dingy rooms at back of main building( dose have a lift) are very close to other buildings no view except of a wall - Best value rooms in annex top floor (4)clean, large, good aircon and windows with a view
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whereswalshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is located close to all major sights in the city center. The single room was spacy, with a/c and fan and private bathroom (20 USD). Unfortunately no window (only something what pretended to be window:-)). The room was with breakfast - breakfast was nothing special in comparison to other PP hotel. Free laundry each day - it could be handy if you spend more nights. Wi-fi in the room was working all the time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meresanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews