We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #98 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

All the other reviewers have said it. The hotel may not have the resort amenities but for those of us who work, the location and the value the staff add are so important. There are many restaurants and shops around, ANZ bank is just around the corner. Wat Lanka is so close you can join in the meditation there. Lucky supermarket is conveniently close as well.

We have stayed in this hotel for months sometimes since 2002 so we know the staff well and the owners have become really friends. The staff, Phalla, in our recent stay had pants shortened for my husband, pictures scanned for me and make photocopies for documents we needed in our meeting. Just love the noodle soup for breakfast.

Room Tip: The one in the picture is where we always stay but there are several choices of rooms at different p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    60
    49
    15
    3
See reviews for
10
25
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel upon my arrival (for the first time) in Cambodia for business. It is very good value for money and has most of the basics (e.g. working internet, AC and en-suite bathroom), but everything is pretty basic. But at this price, one can't complain really! It seemed clean and secure enough and although it was fairly quiet inside, I suspect that at times, the noise from outside could be enough to keep some awake.

It is well located in an area popular with tourists and although the hotel has an in-house restaurant, better eating places are available right outside. By European standards, it is all good value (which makes such a pleasant change to most of Africa and the Caribbean!) There is a decent supermarket nearby (Lucky Supermarket), plus plenty of other shops.

For a relatively short stay, this hotel is OK, but is likely to be too limiting for more than about a week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markthriscutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Unhappy experience at Golden Gate. Booked it based on positive trip advisor reviews, but having stayed in several hotels in Phnom Penh around this price I was very disappointed. The included breakfast is a plus point but quality of the buffet was poor and my choice limited to semi-warm pancakes and eggs with one piece of manufactured ham.

The room was large and very clean, but with zero natural light. More troubling for me was the atrocious bed which was back-breakingly uneven and weak. When I complained the next morning I was told I should have said something earlier, but I did not feel inclined to request a change of rooms upon retiring at midnight.

I was not able to take advantage of the fabled free laundry service as I was only staying one night. They only collect your laundry between 7am and 12 noon.

When the inquired if I would be staying another night at the same rate I was pleased to say 'no thank you'.

Upon checking out I was asked to pay $2 for the water provided in the room. I was not impressed with this and explained to the reception team that I had not been told of this cost in advance. Along with the other issues, as I related them to 'Theary' the net result was one unhappy customer.

I asked to speak to the manager to resolve the issue but was told he was not in the hotel and not available via telephone. I asked who was in charge and was told by Theary 'we all are'. Finally I asked what the reception team could do to prevent me walking away from the hotel as an unhappy customer. The response: 'I have no idea'.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwbabyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having spent nearly 6 weeks at the Golden Gate Hotel, we got to know the staff and the hotel pretty well. Pallah on reception is fabulous and can help with anything you require. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel is in a great location. The free laundry service is a great bonus. Just put your laundry in the basket outside your door each morning and it's back washed and ironed the same day. What a great service. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Have visited Cambodia for past six years stayed in GG many times
Good location close to restaurants and food stores(lucky up the street) Tuktuks outside you door for transport.
Good clean rooms main hotel good value ( Deluxe rooms at the front / standard rooms are poor in my opinion) but the annex is better but they do not have a lift in the annex
best twin rooms on 4th floor (long walk) and on the lower floors suites with kitchen many with long term stayers as well as standard doubles (no windows).Can be a bit noisy in front rooms due to bar across the road.
Breakfast is OK room service is good fast and staff friendly.
Some staff have very good english others not so good but try their best to be helpful
Not normally a backpacker place more NGO stayers westerners who work in PP but did have bad experience with two french young men loud music,drugs and a prostitute .Management very slow to react but eventually they were kicked out as many rooms have single women so this type of behaviour is not acceptable. This type of behaviour would not have happened three years ago better security then.
PP is a place that you want to feel secure at night you are dependent on the staff to provide that hopefully the hotel has improved in this area.
Has been our base in PP since 2005 mostly good memories believe it gives value for money if you get the right room.

Room Tip: Some rooms small and dingy rooms at back of main building( dose have a lift) are very close to other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereswalshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is located close to all major sights in the city center. The single room was spacy, with a/c and fan and private bathroom (20 USD). Unfortunately no window (only something what pretended to be window:-)). The room was with breakfast - breakfast was nothing special in comparison to other PP hotel. Free laundry each day - it could be handy if you spend more nights. Wi-fi in the room was working all the time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meresanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I traveled to Phnom Penh as part of a school group and, for the first stop during our first time in Cambodia, I found our time at the Golden Gate Hotel particularly enjoyable. The facilities are clean and accessible; and my friend and I shared a spacious room on the first floor of the new wing, with a great little balcony overlooking the bustling street. The Golden Gate offers free WiFi, breakfast, and a laundry service with your washing returned the same day.

I found every member of staff to be simply wonderful. On several nights, a group of friends and I stayed out quite late playing sey -- a Cambodian game rather like hacky sack -- with some of the hotel's staff and tuk-tuk drivers from across the road. They were extremely patient with our terrible skills! I also had complete faith in my floor's cleaning lady, who was very sweet.

The Golden Gate is in a great location on a busy little street full of cafes, bars, spas, etc., and there are of course many tuk-tuks lingering around to get you where you need to go. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. The people here particularly made my first few days in Cambodia well worth remembering.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Concora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.7 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#62 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anise Hotel
Anise Hotel
#25 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#99 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#97 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandan Boutique Hotel
Pandan Boutique Hotel
#49 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#79 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Property: Golden Gate Hotel
Address: No. 9, Street 278 | Sangkat Beng Keng Kang 1, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Phnom Penh
Golden Gate Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing