We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs, terrible service, unsafe transport arrangements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Juliana Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #103 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs, terrible service, unsafe transport arrangements”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

A good hotel is key to a successful visit to a new city. You are supposed to be able to trust them to look after you so you don't get into trouble and want to come back.

The last of many broken straws of this hotel was when we asked them to book a taxi, they didn't book one of the hundreds of registered metred taxis but instead up rolled up someone's mate who spoke zero English. The hotel porter tried to shove us in the taxi and overcharge us. Instead of being dropped in front of one of the major attractions we asked for, we were dumped nowhere near our intended destination, where the guy shrugged his shoulders and drove off. I'm still not sure how we got out of there alive, basically we found another hotel about 3 blocks away who called us a proper registered taxi so we could get out of there

Btw, lots of bedbugs, old blanket covered in sheets used as bedding. Air-con is like in a hospital, so smells from other rooms get filtered into your room. Fill in the blanks. Airport hotel, so poor location.

Not up to the standard of other hotels asking less money in Cambodia

Room Tip: don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stormerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    158
    82
    52
    19
See reviews for
37
112
31
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

THIS IS DEFINITELY NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL.

We stayed at this hotel in March 2014. The reception area is so small you can barely swing a cat in there. We arrived at around 11 p.m. No staff around EXCEPT FOR ONE MAN at the reception desk who handed us our keys. We had to lug our suitcases up to the elevators which were far from the reception, Nothing was open so we had no food and the restaurant etc. was closed and the hotel is NOT centrally located so we went to bed hungry. The room was tiny.

We were woken up around 4:30 a.m. and when i opened the window curtain, it was like looking out on the world as we faced a huge courtyard full of apartment buildings so you could hear children crying, people starting their morning chores etc. NOT a pleasant experience after flying for more than 22 hours!!!! i would not recommend this hotel. However, the breakfast in the morning was good so no complaints there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel was undergoing refurbishment after a fire, when I stayed there, so small temporary reception. Also fully booked by large Korean tours, so was difficult to find seating at dinner and breakfast. Otherwise quiet location. Breakfast not as good as other hotels in Cambodia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeynabozbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Spent 3 nites at the Juliana hotel, it was comfortable, quite and pleasant. Staff has very limited English and only 1 menu for the entire restaurant! The hotel is a good value and would stay there again.
$3 tuk-tuk ride gets you most any where including the tourist area along the river (many nice restaurants and shops). US dollars are accepted everywhere (small newish bills) and many ATMs dispense dollars. For some real excitement rent a motor bike ~$6-10 day. Go to the Russian Market for shopping.

Room Tip: Good value for facials, foot and full body message at the hotel ($15 +$1 tip)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marc_2726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I don't know what we paid, since our cost was included in our program. However, this might have been the best hotel we stayed in Cambodia...which may not say too much. Clean spacious room. Nice pool. I don't remember having any problems with the wifi. We organized a van to the killing field through the hotel, and felt that it was reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilorchid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in this hotel twice, each time for one night. It was arranged by our travel agent as part of a tour. Previously we stayed at Eureka Villas (which I have reviewed) and I much preferred Juliana, definitely a grade up. The reception area is off to the side and up a couple of steps but the hotel staff met our car and carried our bags - so no problem. Apparently there has been a fire and this accounts for the lobby being off to the side and the reception staff worked from behind a desk...but so what?? we sat down and got checked in / out, they bought us a juice. No problem. We had no issues with construction or anything like this. Our room was a good size, clean and the water pressure in the shower was fantastic. We ate one (dinner) meal downstairs at the restaurant - it is in a covered room but open on one side - next to the pool. The menu was limited and obviously the food was prepared in a kitchen some distance from the dining area, the waiters delivered the food on covered plates. The dinner was good (my wife says - very good) and arrived promptly - no problem. Enjoyed eating el fresco and watching the bats skimming over water, lit up by the lights in the pool. What I couldnt understand was that no fresh fruit juices were available with the meal. We expect good quality fresh juices with any meal, part of the reason I like travelling in Asia. Breakfasts were OK (better than Eureka ) but you have to get in early - on the second stay we have a lie in and the hot food had been cleaned out by 9 - 9:30. We just used Juliana for single night stays between tours so the location wasnt an issue for us but we would have to agree that you would need a tuk tuk ride to get to central markets or the like. We never paid more than $2 to use a tuk tuk in Phnom Penh but we were usually with Cambodian friends who knew their way around. Anyway, short answer for us was that we liked Juliana, we were happy to go back. I really don't know why this place has so many negative reviews. Maybe we were lucky but I didn't get that impression. We didn't use the spa / massage at Juliana but we did outside, and for $8 and hour, exceptional value, a must do.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor but I honestly think it doesnt matter which level you are on, there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank q'meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a bad experience on our 1st day of our 3 night stay here. We had been traveling for 4.5 weeks thru Australia, Vietnam & now Cambodia our son was tired & emotional (he is 2.5years old) someone at reception made fun of him & teased him while he was crying, that was unacceptable. We let the manager know who seemed to take it under advisement. I just felt that it was definitely not up to the standard of hotels we had stayed in for our whole trip. The hotel is under repair & renovation after a massive fire so the kitchen is only operating for basics so not good for room service & breakfast were pretty average as well. The location was pretty horrid as well when I asked the night porter which way to go for a walk he suggested not going as it was very dangerous, I love going for walks so I found this quite upsetting. For a little extra we could have stayed at the Raffles which was in a better, safer more child friendly location. There is a sharks fun restaurant downstairs which horrified both myself & my son (the large dried fin in the window is scary especially after just going diving with these amazing creatures in port Lincoln, south Australia). For the rest of our stay everyone was helpful especially the male reception staff but I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I did have a great massage downstairs for 2 hours that was pretty awesome but still didn't make up for the numerous downfalls.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiepauldarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.7 mi away
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
#61 of 267 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#4 of 267 in Phnom Penh
122 reviews
1.4 mi away
TEAV Boutique Hotel
TEAV Boutique Hotel
#15 of 267 in Phnom Penh
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#27 of 267 in Phnom Penh
612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arunreas Hotel
Arunreas Hotel
#3 of 267 in Phnom Penh
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
#36 of 267 in Phnom Penh
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juliana Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juliana Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: Juliana Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: 16 Juliana 152 Rd., Sangkat Vealvong Khan 7 Makara, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juliana Hotel Phnom Penh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Juliana Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliana Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Juliana Hotel
Juliana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing