We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy and a bit worn”
Review of Hotel Cambodiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cambodiana
Ranked #98 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Finding a good hotel in Phnom Penh is not always easy and can be quite expensive as well. I stayed at this rather large, and a bit off the center strip hotel for one night. It took some time before the reception could find our reservation. It seemed that we were booked on the VIP floor, which had its separate reception.

The rooms were ok, but a bit old. The breakfast ok, but the breakfast staff wasnt too forthcoming and there were ants on the buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cambodiana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 399 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2009

I just returned from my second stay at the Cambodiana. In advance, I had requested a river-view room and the staff accommodated my request. I had a very nice room with an outstanding view. The room was clean and well-attended with adequate bottled water and bathroom items. I did not find the towels to be shredded nor gray!
The included buffet breakfast has just about everything—both western and asian cuisine. The staff is very cordial and eager to please. The location is outstanding with a view of the confluence of the Tonle Sap and Mekong Rivers right from your room window. The price is a bit more that what I would like to pay but for what I got, I will stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arizonawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

This is a good, basic hotel with a great buffet breakfast. The hotel is well located and within a short tuk tuk ride to the Russian Market and other attractions. Be careful crossing the street. Phnom Penh has precious few traffic lights and the constant speeding parade of motorcycles requires courage and prayer.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuwildcat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Not to bad. Old hotel with a dreadful past in the KR age. A favorite hangout for government officals and their staff. Many parties of Khmer VIPS. The rooms are not so good anymore - to say it nicely- and a big annoyance is the behaviour of Japanese and Korean guest, smoking like crazy with the doors to their room open.
The staff is very good and the breakfast is everything you could expect. Including the awful coffee like anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RandstadJefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2008

i only stayed 1 night in this hotel and it really left a great impression!! 1st of all the room is really 1st class and real posh looking. i've got a twin sharing room and the beds are big and springy making my last night in cambodia feeling well-rested.

What i love most is that u can enjoy the great view of the sky transforming from dark to light while having ur complimentary breakfast @ the hotel restaurant. (if u wakeup early enough!)

really disappointed that i only got a night stay at Cambodiana...

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank iruka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

I chose this hotel because I thought it was reasonably priced. However, considering what you get, it's too much. The lobby is decent but the rooms are fairly rundown and really need a facelift. For example, the bed mattresses are so old that they have no support and the bathroom sinks were chipped and didn't look quite clean. Also, the service left a lot to be desired. During my stay, the safe battery was low and it took 1 hr and 3 phone calls before they sent someone up to fix it. Also, for the last couple of days, the phones weren't working and there was no warning from management even though they were aware of the problem; I had to go down to reception to order room service but the the woman there refused to order room service for me and told me to go to the restaurant and do it myself.

On the plus side, the location was good.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ciphertext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Considering to be in Cambodia, the service offered can be considered above the average. The staff is definitely not well prepared and trained like in the rest of SE Asia, but OK. The most important thing is that the room is really clean.
The Hotel is located at the end of the city river bank and many rooms have a nice view on the Mekong. No problem at all to reach any point of the city: just outside the hotel there is h24 a taxi stand. Don't forget to negotiate the fee before to catch it!
The swimming pool is not so big, but enough to be very refreshing after a whole day spent around the city. During our stay the whole garden ground was under renovation: guess now it is much nicer!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kinothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#28 of 272 in Phnom Penh
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 272 in Phnom Penh
746 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Phnom Penh Hotel
Phnom Penh Hotel
#89 of 272 in Phnom Penh
398 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,985 reviews
0.8 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#20 of 272 in Phnom Penh
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambodiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambodiana

Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $90 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cambodiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the famous Mekong River, the magnificent Hotel Cambodiana is located in the heart of Phnom Penh's central business and tourist districts, offering visitors convenient access to all that Phnom Penh has to offer. ROOMS & ACCOMMODATION 239 rooms -Superior, Deluxe, Mekong Club Floor, Junior Suites and Executive Suites. Accommodation for long stay-guests is also available. FOOD AND BEVERAGE Banqueting and Conferencing with 10 Meeting rooms; 2 Restaurants (L'Amboise and Mekong Restaurant); 3 Bars (Breeze Poolside Bar, Lobby Bar, QBA); 1 Bakery Shop (La Brioche Bakery); 24-hour Room Service; Outside Catering Services. Ample outdoor spaces (Mekong Deck, Chaktomuk Garden, Promenade) for private function SHOP AND OFFICE SPACE Total 41 units of office space and shop. HEALTH AND LEISURE Open to hotel guests and Physique Club members, our recreation and fitness facilities combine top of the range equipment with the best Mekong view in Phnom Penh. Gym facilities with steam and sauna, Swimming Pool, 2 Tennis Courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cambodiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodiana Hotel Phnom Penh
Cambodiana Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing