We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather big hotel with all fascilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cambodiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cambodiana
Ranked #99 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
272 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Rather big hotel with all fascilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

After approx 14 days at Hotel Cambodiana I have not found any weak sides or fallacies, the only things are the temp on the floor in the bath room and a fix mounted shower. It is a very good hotel and acceptable in all ways.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerBaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    125
    119
    61
    26
See reviews for
43
109
36
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at the Cambodiana hotel for 8 nights in Dec. We've stayed here before, and choose it because it has a good sized pool, with seating in sunlight all day, a well equipped (if not particularly modern) gym, very good staff and it is centrally located. We've tried other international brand hotels in Phnom Penh (we normally stay with Starwood and Mandarin Oriental in SE Asia) but none in PP tick all these boxes, and at less than £30 per night inc breakfast, the Cambodiana is very good value.

It has its faults - the rooms are quite shabby, and nearly all are smoking rooms so cigarette burns abound over everything. Also, very few have King size beds, so you have to be very clear about this when booking, and follow up before you arrive if this is what you want - we've never failed to get one. But they are very spacious, have good quality TVs, safes, refrigerators, and are very clean.

The shabby theme follows through into the gym and pool area - but having once paid £200 a night to stay in a 5 star hotel in PP that had one working treadmill and no aircon in the gym, and so much foliage around the pool that the sunshine couldn't get through, I'll take a bit of shabby over glitz! They are improving the pool area, and it does have great views over the Mekong.

We had the buffet breakfast everyday - not the widest choice, but fresh cooked eggs, salad, fruit and nice bread - and an endless supply of very good coffee was great for us.

Service throughout is friendly, efficient and quick. No problems getting taxi to airport - none of the usual 'hotel limousine only' lines that you get elsewhere.

This is not a luxury hotel - it can be quite basic in some areas and whether it's for you depends on what you want out of your hotel. Gym, pool, location and service at a great price are what the Cambodiana offers - it's functional, not luxurious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beansbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I have had the opportunity to test several hotels in Cambodia. One should not expect to find the same level of service as in Vietnam. This hotel could be good if some rooms did looked out onto an noisy industrial area and an amusement park. Mine was a superior room and was exactly located between both.I had to move to a business room with an extra charge. The food is ok, and the staff kind. Worth to mention that my credit cards were not accepted upon checking out due to connexion issues. I had to pay cash my extras. This hotel would need refurbishing to reach international standards. Nicely located.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We recently stayed at the Cambodiana Hotel and found it to be a very efficiently run hotel with friendly and helpful staff!! The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. We were part of a group tour and we booked an extra night before the trip started and really enjoyed our stay. The morning breakfasts were excellent with a cook taking egg orders and making pancakes on a griddle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbirdfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two days in December, and unfortunately didn't pay attention to the negative reviews on TripAdvisor. They are all true. This is a hotel that seriously needs a management and facility overhaul. The rooms are very dated, cigarette burns throughout (even on the bathroom counter!), dingy, worn carpets that should have been replaced years ago, mould on the deck chairs and the tiles around the pool, etc. Although when I booked the room I specified that I wanted a room with a large bed, instead we were given a room with two doubles. When I asked for a room with a queen or king sized bed, we were shown a room on the ground floor that doubled as an office space, and were told that nothing else was available. However the hotel was clearly not full, so I don't believe that this was the case. The river view rooms do have a nice view, however no balconies. The breakfast was poor, for example the orange juice is powdered, not fresh, the fruit selection is limited to watermelon, bananas and pineapple cores, and the rest for the most part was a tasteless, greasy buffet. I regret not paying attention to the TripAdvisor reviews and am posting this review to warn others to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

A pricey hotel that is not good value. Threadbare carpets smelling of jasmine unsuccessfully masking stale tobacco. Chipped enamel in the bathroom and a fine retrospective collection of cigarette burns on the counters. The black mildew on the pool cushions ads a certain antique charm. Walking down the dark hallways feels like you've fallen into "The Shining", look out for Jack Nicholson. The in house restaurant prices are much higher than usual for Cambodia. We didn't eat there, so can't peak to the quality. I don't know if Phnom Penh has better hotels, but I resent paying for this type of pretence.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingDude A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This place seems to have a much greater belief in itself than reality. The pool was touted as being amazing but was an average, cold little rectangle with lots of slippery paving around and a seriously overpriced bar and bistro menu. Weird to have to walk through the swanky foyer to get there. Aside from the pool and foyer, the hotel is very tired and dingy and the decor dated. A lot could be done with more hall lighting. The wifi (not free) was intermittent and often would cut out just after you entered the passwords to get in. Staff efficient but not overly friendly. Tennis courts were easy to book and equipment hired out too. We had to swap a room on arrival as the stench of damp and smoke was unbearable - we were told we should have requested a nonsmoking room if the smell bothered us (we confirmed with our travel agent on our return that she had done this). Breakfast was amazing though - the best we had in Cambodia!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravellersNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#33 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
0.7 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#51 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambodiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambodiana

Property: Hotel Cambodiana
Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cambodiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the famous Mekong River, the magnificent Hotel Cambodiana is located in the heart of Phnom Penh's central business and tourist districts, offering visitors convenient access to all that Phnom Penh has to offer. ROOMS & ACCOMMODATION 239 rooms -Superior, Deluxe, Mekong Club Floor, Junior Suites and Executive Suites. Accommodation for long stay-guests is also available. FOOD AND BEVERAGE Banqueting and Conferencing with 10 Meeting rooms; 2 Restaurants (L'Amboise and Mekong Restaurant); 3 Bars (Breeze Poolside Bar, Lobby Bar, QBA); 1 Bakery Shop (La Brioche Bakery); 24-hour Room Service; Outside Catering Services. Ample outdoor spaces (Mekong Deck, Chaktomuk Garden, Promenade) for private function SHOP AND OFFICE SPACE Total 41 units of office space and shop. HEALTH AND LEISURE Open to hotel guests and Physique Club members, our recreation and fitness facilities combine top of the range equipment with the best Mekong view in Phnom Penh. Gym facilities with steam and sauna, Swimming Pool, 2 Tennis Courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cambodiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodiana Hotel Phnom Penh
Cambodiana Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing