We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friend was disappointed with the Hotel”
Review of Hotel Cambodiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cambodiana
Ranked #98 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friend was disappointed with the Hotel”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I went to pick my friend at this Hotel and the location is great and lobby looks quite impressive. However, my friend was disappointed with the room because it has not been refurbished and looks old. He also complained that the TV is old and TV reception poor. The pillows is hard to sleep on and he is not used to it, so gave him a sprained neck.
We waited a while for him to check out during his last day and we were late for our breakfast appointment with customer.
Therefore overall he was disappointed with the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCAM_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    128
    120
    62
    27
See reviews for
44
109
36
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the most impressive building in Phom Penh and in the world ... as a hotel!
It needs for sure a renovation and after this may become fantastic.
The service is good but can be better.
Verry good pastry for breakfast
Rooms with a view to Mekong River are verry good!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaMariaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Looks quite not on the outside - but do not waste the cash that is joint will drain from your pockets - rooms are OK - but some a just awful - brick wall views that are supposed to be Riverview Rooms - demanded a $300 deposit to say there - Lifts barely work AND to top it all off....had staff sneaking into the room while I was ASLEEP - to check the mini-bar...I woke up with someone in MY ROOM - and they just laughed...totally unacceptable - only redeeming quality is that they have a pretty good buffet breakfast -

Room Tip: demand to see the room first - if its a Superior Riverview - they may give you a room on the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkyMark1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We supposed to stay in Cambodiana for two days, but stayed there only for one day. Because the rooms, bathroom and toilet were very old and unclean. Room had a bad smell. Servis is terrible, breakfast is very poor. Our patience ended when the toilet stoped functioning and keeping our stuff floated on top. We paid 100$ for that one day, and really regret it. Next morning we moved out. Please dont stay at that hotel. It does not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bema55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

During our travels in Thailand, Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia this was by far the worst hotel we stayed in. From the outside it looks impressive but that all changes once inside. Our room which was large but very much in need of refurbishment had large widows which overlooked a brick wall some 1 metre away.

The dining room resembles a works canteen and the corridors are surveyed by multiple CCTV cameras - very reminiscent of a hotel I stayed at in Moscow in the early 70's. The hotel has a great location and exterior - everything else is a big let down.

Room Tip: Avoid staying there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I think Riviera Travel should seek alternative accommodation as this is a very 'tired' hotel. It's clear that it's stuck in a time warp and that there is little or no money spent on the upkeep. The corridors were like something out of an old Eastern Block hotel, with frayed decor and threadbare carpets. Large bedrooms with good views over the Mekong river, but this was the really only good thing about them. The water in the bathrooms was very hit and miss! Lifts were the slowest we encountered during our trip and we were stuck between floors for a short while. The staff seemed very disillusioned and although pleasant, they were not too keen to put themselves forward. The restaurant was dire, more like a staff canteen than a smart restaurant. Apart from breakfast which is pretty standard there was no motivation for us to remain in the hotel to eat. We went out to dinner and this took us through some very interesting areas of Phnom Penh which we'd otherwise not have seen, and I'm certain that there far are better hotels. The only really good thing to report was that our laundry came back the brightest white I've ever seen! Reasonable location and only a tuc tuc ride into the main areas. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and would by choice, never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funtington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel in March 2013 fortunately for only 2 nights. We were on a tour with Riviera Travel. This was the worst hotel we stayed at during our trip to both Vietnam and Cambodia. Our Tour Manager tried to tell us that the hotel's location was so good it was worth putting up with the hotel but we could not agree with that comment. It was a good 15 minute walk down to river front to bars/restaurants. The walk was not unpleasant but it was very hot and humid. The hotel itself - 5 of our party and 2 other guests were stuck in a lift for some 15 minutes. Some may say that 15 minutes is not too long, and you may be right, but it was not an experience I enjoyed, especially as emergency bell in lift was not working. One of the other guests with us fortunately had the hotel's telephone number in his mobile and rang reception to let them know we were stuck up on the 5th floor. Staff arrived soon afterwards and between them and us we managed to force the doors open! It was disconcerting because having stayed there for a night and wandered around the hotel I had no confidence in the ability of the management - lifts were being attended to by engineers the day before this happened, guests were almost always queuing for lifts as staff were always using the same lifts. H&S around the pool is unheard of - though you have to remember this is a developing country and what happened to me was rather amusing - I lowered myself into the pool expecting it to be about a metre deep and much to my surprise I dropped down at least 2 metres! Considering I am not a swimmer who ever gets her hair wet this gave me quite a shock. Paving around the pool not suitable - it was some sort of stone but it got so hot you really couldn't walk on it at all. I was glad I didn't have the children with us. Finally on our second and last morning there was a very large (dead) cockroach on the corridor leading to our bedrooms on 3rd floor - the amusing thing here is that the staff just left it there! All in all I was glad we were leaving early that morning. I could not recommend this hotel and would definitely not stay there again. There are better hotels in Cambodia, you do not have to accept this low standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#30 of 267 in Phnom Penh
593 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Phnom Penh Hotel
Phnom Penh Hotel
#83 of 267 in Phnom Penh
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
#36 of 267 in Phnom Penh
884 reviews
0.3 mi away
NagaWorld Hotel & Entertainment Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambodiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambodiana

Property: Hotel Cambodiana
Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cambodiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the famous Mekong River, the magnificent Hotel Cambodiana is located in the heart of Phnom Penh's central business and tourist districts, offering visitors convenient access to all that Phnom Penh has to offer. ROOMS & ACCOMMODATION 239 rooms -Superior, Deluxe, Mekong Club Floor, Junior Suites and Executive Suites. Accommodation for long stay-guests is also available. FOOD AND BEVERAGE Banqueting and Conferencing with 10 Meeting rooms; 2 Restaurants (L'Amboise and Mekong Restaurant); 3 Bars (Breeze Poolside Bar, Lobby Bar, QBA); 1 Bakery Shop (La Brioche Bakery); 24-hour Room Service; Outside Catering Services. Ample outdoor spaces (Mekong Deck, Chaktomuk Garden, Promenade) for private function SHOP AND OFFICE SPACE Total 41 units of office space and shop. HEALTH AND LEISURE Open to hotel guests and Physique Club members, our recreation and fitness facilities combine top of the range equipment with the best Mekong view in Phnom Penh. Gym facilities with steam and sauna, Swimming Pool, 2 Tennis Courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cambodiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodiana Hotel Phnom Penh
Cambodiana Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing