We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel on our holday”
Review of Hotel Cambodiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cambodiana
Ranked #89 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed April 12, 2013

During our travels in Thailand, Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia this was by far the worst hotel we stayed in. From the outside it looks impressive but that all changes once inside. Our room which was large but very much in need of refurbishment had large widows which overlooked a brick wall some 1 metre away.

The dining room resembles a works canteen and the corridors are surveyed by multiple CCTV cameras - very reminiscent of a hotel I stayed at in Moscow in the early 70's. The hotel has a great location and exterior - everything else is a big let down.

Room Tip: Avoid staying there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 410 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

I think Riviera Travel should seek alternative accommodation as this is a very 'tired' hotel. It's clear that it's stuck in a time warp and that there is little or no money spent on the upkeep. The corridors were like something out of an old Eastern Block hotel, with frayed decor and threadbare carpets. Large bedrooms with good views over the Mekong river, but this was the really only good thing about them. The water in the bathrooms was very hit and miss! Lifts were the slowest we encountered during our trip and we were stuck between floors for a short while. The staff seemed very disillusioned and although pleasant, they were not too keen to put themselves forward. The restaurant was dire, more like a staff canteen than a smart restaurant. Apart from breakfast which is pretty standard there was no motivation for us to remain in the hotel to eat. We went out to dinner and this took us through some very interesting areas of Phnom Penh which we'd otherwise not have seen, and I'm certain that there far are better hotels. The only really good thing to report was that our laundry came back the brightest white I've ever seen! Reasonable location and only a tuc tuc ride into the main areas. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and would by choice, never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funtington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel in March 2013 fortunately for only 2 nights. We were on a tour with Riviera Travel. This was the worst hotel we stayed at during our trip to both Vietnam and Cambodia. Our Tour Manager tried to tell us that the hotel's location was so good it was worth putting up with the hotel but we could not agree with that comment. It was a good 15 minute walk down to river front to bars/restaurants. The walk was not unpleasant but it was very hot and humid. The hotel itself - 5 of our party and 2 other guests were stuck in a lift for some 15 minutes. Some may say that 15 minutes is not too long, and you may be right, but it was not an experience I enjoyed, especially as emergency bell in lift was not working. One of the other guests with us fortunately had the hotel's telephone number in his mobile and rang reception to let them know we were stuck up on the 5th floor. Staff arrived soon afterwards and between them and us we managed to force the doors open! It was disconcerting because having stayed there for a night and wandered around the hotel I had no confidence in the ability of the management - lifts were being attended to by engineers the day before this happened, guests were almost always queuing for lifts as staff were always using the same lifts. H&S around the pool is unheard of - though you have to remember this is a developing country and what happened to me was rather amusing - I lowered myself into the pool expecting it to be about a metre deep and much to my surprise I dropped down at least 2 metres! Considering I am not a swimmer who ever gets her hair wet this gave me quite a shock. Paving around the pool not suitable - it was some sort of stone but it got so hot you really couldn't walk on it at all. I was glad I didn't have the children with us. Finally on our second and last morning there was a very large (dead) cockroach on the corridor leading to our bedrooms on 3rd floor - the amusing thing here is that the staff just left it there! All in all I was glad we were leaving early that morning. I could not recommend this hotel and would definitely not stay there again. There are better hotels in Cambodia, you do not have to accept this low standard.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Sad to say, a hotel which is commanding such a strategic location and looking so grand did not live up to expectations in upkeep and service. They even swipe and made me sign my credit card for a USD50 bond! This can only be refunded after 2 weeks I am told by the staff! There is no free wifi unless you stay in the luxury suites! Most if not all other hotels including cheap ones all around town gives free wifi.
I was allocated an apt unit that requires me to climb upstairs to sleep and downstairs to go toilet. This is not stated in the website. There was a dead cockroach and the smoke alarm was beeping! So please make sure you verify on booking that you don't get caught booking into such apts.
Breakfast spread was good and as expected.

Sorry I think the management must really review their operations and keep up with the time

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomWong888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a family reunion in Phnom Penh over New Year and stayed at this hotel. The rooms were comfortable with a excellent view of the Mekong River. The location is great...it seemed most of the markets and othere attractions were only a short tuk-tuk ride. The hotel has all of the amenities including a swimming pool, bar and restaurant that served a exceptional breakfast buffet. We were there for New Year and the hotel put on a fantastic dinner buffet and show. We stayed several days and thoroughly enjoyed it. I doubt you could find a better hotel in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: get a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Let's put it this way: Cambodiana has better days in the 70's and 80's. Although, everything is intact and rooms are big, it has a sad atmosphere.
Here are the good things about the hotel:
Location is just unbeatable, right where things happen and by the river. Breakfast is a royal treat including noodle soup and dimsum apart from the usual continental and american breakfast. Big swimming pool to plunge in after a hot humid sweaty day in town. Price for the room is reasonable. Spacious rooms with two queen size beds.
Here are the disadvantage:
It seems like there is a loud bar somewhere in the hotel or next to the hotel with loud music till at least midnight. So, do ask for a quieter side of the hotel. Wifi can only be provided for one device. You have to pay extra for more than one device. It's a lot of log on and off to switch between smartphones and laptops in the end. The credit guarantee is returnable in 2 weeks time. As a business traveler who needs a lot of credits, this is a bit too long to get your blocking recovered. Pillows are a bit high and hard and from a cheap quality.

Room Tip: Better ask for a higher level rooms. Avoid rooms on 2nd floor as it is closer to the bars with live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in five hotels on Gate 1 Discovery (small group) Tour, the inaugural tour of Southeast Asia (Cambodia, Thailand, Laos and Viet Nam). Of the five, the Cambodiana's rooms ware the most spacious and largest. The beds were very comfortable. We had a beautiful garden view out our wall to wall picture window. The complimentary buffet breakfast was huge with a great choice of breads, fruit and both western and Asian entrees. The Cambodiana may be an older hotel, but it's still grand!!! We stayed March 14 and 15, 2013.

Quertosomo

Room Tip: A room on the river side may be more desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#28 of 274 in Phnom Penh
633 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phnom Penh Hotel
Phnom Penh Hotel
#85 of 274 in Phnom Penh
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
#55 of 274 in Phnom Penh
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#73 of 274 in Phnom Penh
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.7 mi away
Almond Hotel Phnom Penh
Almond Hotel Phnom Penh
#60 of 274 in Phnom Penh
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambodiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambodiana

Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $93 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cambodiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the famous Mekong River, the magnificent Hotel Cambodiana is located in the heart of Phnom Penh's central business and tourist districts, offering visitors convenient access to all that Phnom Penh has to offer. ROOMS & ACCOMMODATION 239 rooms -Superior, Deluxe, Mekong Club Floor, Junior Suites and Executive Suites. Accommodation for long stay-guests is also available. FOOD AND BEVERAGE Banqueting and Conferencing with 10 Meeting rooms; 2 Restaurants (L'Amboise and Mekong Restaurant); 3 Bars (Breeze Poolside Bar, Lobby Bar, QBA); 1 Bakery Shop (La Brioche Bakery); 24-hour Room Service; Outside Catering Services. Ample outdoor spaces (Mekong Deck, Chaktomuk Garden, Promenade) for private function SHOP AND OFFICE SPACE Total 41 units of office space and shop. HEALTH AND LEISURE Open to hotel guests and Physique Club members, our recreation and fitness facilities combine top of the range equipment with the best Mekong view in Phnom Penh. Gym facilities with steam and sauna, Swimming Pool, 2 Tennis Courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cambodiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodiana Hotel Phnom Penh
Cambodiana Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing