We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel but not for the price.”
Review of Hotel Cambodiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cambodiana
Ranked #90 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel is good with nice big rooms and sea or city views however you can get similar for half the price. Breakfast was nice and the outdoor pool was good as well. All room service was incredibly expensive for Cambodia. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easy-to-impress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 418 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Visiting the Cambodiana Hotel was like a trip back in time to the late 1960s, the time before the Khmer Rouge ravaged the country a decade later. Sadly, this hotel seems to be a "has-been". Along with the more upscale Le Royal hotel in Phnom Penh, I could easily see this hotel having been *the* place to stay 40 years ago. Not anymore. It does fine, and offers a good enough value. It's just not what it once was, so don't expect the place to be a standout among all the other hotels.

The exterior of the building is palatial, and quite impressive. Once inside, you'll feel the time warp. Who is the president again? Nixon, right? Indeed, the place is badly in need of a remodeling. The actual location of the hotel is near the center of Sisowath Quay, but it is not right out the front door. For the record, I would consider the center of the Sisowath Quay to be right where the Foreign Correspondents Club is. It's a 20-minute walk to the center, or a $1 tuk-tuk ride.

The hotel has live entertainment most nights, a legacy of its heyday, and it draws in people that are not staying in the hotel, even on weekdays. While there, the Filipino band (it's the live entertainment most nights) was quite talented with playing English-language pop songs. They take requests, too. Just make sure the request is Top 40 American pop, or the request will probably be passed over! I could not believe they did not know the Rolling Stones' "Start me up"! I had a blast though. Get your beer buzz before going. The cheapest beers there are $6 each, which is very high for Cambodia (drafts were $0.50 at many of the restaurants on Sisowath Quay).

The A/C needed attention during the stay, but even after fixing, it was never quite cold enough for me. I am too comfortable with Dubai's A/C, so I admit to being a snob about this. In the shower stall, there was a little bit of mildew. Remodeling the rooms would take care of this.

The room had a great view of the Mekong and the pool area (huge pool, btw). Kudos for this.

In lobby, there is an impressive wooden model of Angkor Wat, that's about 4 meters square. It's worth a picture.

In sum, for the right price, stay here if you want to see a mainstay hotel of Phnom Penh. To those at Cambodiana reading this, put in some new A/Cs, remodel the place, and you'll be back in the game.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room. There is not much to see on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulino636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during our Cambodia trip. On our way from Siem Reap to Sianoukwille we made a stop in Phnom Penh and stayed in Cambodiana hotel for two nights. It's a good hotel in a good place - just about 10 minutes by foot from the King's palace. But at the same time we faced some shortcomings. We booked the room with one King size bed. But upon arrival we had been informed that only room with two single beds available. The room itself was not very clean. There were some stains on the carpet. And sometimes hotel's elevator had been jammed. So, I can't say it's exactly 5-star hotel. But it's not bad hotel with good location. I can say it's good 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DmitryRussia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were on a three week tour of Vietnam and Cambodia with Adventures Abroad and stayed here two nights. The outside of the hotel is impressive until you walk around and realize that the hotel is gradually deteriorating. The gardens aren't maintained, the rear of the hotel by the river has been neglected for years. The elevators were painfully slow. I was reminded of the days when I used to do mall walking for exercise when walking down the corridor to our room. When you get off the elevator on the floor to your room there is a giant lobby, totally wasted space. There is deferred maintenance - carpeting is torn, etc. Not sure if criticizing the hotel is appropriate when one considers that Cambodia is the poorest country in SE Asia. Trying to cross the streets near the hotel is suicidal - much like in Hanoi. The breakfast buffet was fine. Free water is in the bathrooms like all hotels in Vietnam and Cambodia. The bar off the lobby is very comfortable and the service is good if you want a drink before dinner.

Room Tip: There is none
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The entrance to the hotel looks amazing but that's about all it is.
The corridor and room smelt, the room is outdated and definitely in need of an upgrade.
Breakfast was not great, location it is a bit out from the main area
The mini bar was very expensive in comparison to other hotels which I stayed at.
And the location is a bit far from the main strip with all the restaurants

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hotel location is good near to many places of interests like Royal Palace, Wat Phnom, Nagaworld casino. Rooms was spacious to fit 2 people. It was clean, showers are hot, air-conditioner is cold. I had a river view room was awesome when you see the sunrise shining into the room in the morning. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Do request for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisKwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

From the outside the Cambodiana looks very grand but it all starts to go downhill when you get inside. We were given a room key and went on the painfully slow lift to the 4th floor and down a long, long corridor only to find that the chambermaid was only just starting to clean the room. Back down the long corridor and the snail pace lift to reception to be told we'd have to wait 15 minutes until the room was ready. Decided to go to the bakery next to reception for a sandwich but they had run out and were incapable of making a fresh one. Back to reception, asked where to get a snack and just got shrugged shoulders but luckily someone told us we could get food in the bar. Not the best start. Next morning we got a wake up call we hadn't asked for at 6am. Rooms are in need of refurbishment and are not value for money.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
NagaWorld Hotel & Entertainment Complex
4.3 mi away
Dara Airport Hotel
Dara Airport Hotel
#99 of 281 in Phnom Penh
99 reviews
10.1 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#69 of 281 in Phnom Penh
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#30 of 281 in Phnom Penh
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Gate Hotel & Resort
Palace Gate Hotel & Resort
#31 of 281 in Phnom Penh
88 reviews
1.9 mi away
Phnom Penh Hotel
Phnom Penh Hotel
#89 of 281 in Phnom Penh
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambodiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambodiana

Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $81 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cambodiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the famous Mekong River, the magnificent Hotel Cambodiana is located in the heart of Phnom Penh's central business and tourist districts, offering visitors convenient access to all that Phnom Penh has to offer. ROOMS & ACCOMMODATION 239 rooms -Superior, Deluxe, Mekong Club Floor, Junior Suites and Executive Suites. Accommodation for long stay-guests is also available. FOOD AND BEVERAGE Banqueting and Conferencing with 10 Meeting rooms; 2 Restaurants (L'Amboise and Mekong Restaurant); 3 Bars (Breeze Poolside Bar, Lobby Bar, QBA); 1 Bakery Shop (La Brioche Bakery); 24-hour Room Service; Outside Catering Services. Ample outdoor spaces (Mekong Deck, Chaktomuk Garden, Promenade) for private function SHOP AND OFFICE SPACE Total 41 units of office space and shop. HEALTH AND LEISURE Open to hotel guests and Physique Club members, our recreation and fitness facilities combine top of the range equipment with the best Mekong view in Phnom Penh. Gym facilities with steam and sauna, Swimming Pool, 2 Tennis Courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cambodiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodiana Hotel Phnom Penh
Cambodiana Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing