We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a guide”
Review of Royal Palace

Royal Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Phnom Penh Full-Day City and Architecture Tour
Ranked #4 of 120 things to do in Phnom Penh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Still the dwelling place of the king, this palace contains the Silver Pagoda, whose floor is made up of 5329 silver tiles, each weighing 1.125 kilograms.
Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Get a guide”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Don't wear sleeveless clothes when visiting the Royal Palace. We engaged a guide there who explained the history and culture. Otherwise we would be wandering around the grounds aimlessly.

Although we weren't allow to enter the main hall, we were able to view from outside, and visualise what it would be like if the king was there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tragedy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,923
    2,294
    1,195
    254
    99
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Royal Palace”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A beautiful place to visit. Suggest going early in the day before the heat. It is well worth hiring one of the guides for $10 for about a 45 minute tour. After that you can wander around as leisure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimCazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lots of elaborate buildings and packed with school parties. You cant enter the main buildings. No shade but a few cool spots.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveller123159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stunning buildings & gardens”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived just after lunch and there were long queues waiting to get in. Fortunately as there was only two of us we were sent to the front of the queue. The buildings are stunning and the grounds are beautifully kept. My only complaint is that there is nowhere to sit down in the shade to take it all in. If the weather is sunny my advice would be to take an umbrella and a fan.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brummyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well Organised route to follow”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Beautiful buildings to admire. Allow one hour maximum. Get there early to avoid the heat of the day and also to avoid the hordes of schoolchildren that were a little unruly. Climbing of steps may be difficult for older people.
Downside to the exhibits was that the signs were set at the back of the item and too far away to read.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace also viewed

 

Been to Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing