We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit”

Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing...
Ranked #2 of 119 things to do in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This former torture and detention center is now a museum dedicated to the victims of the Khmer Rouge.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

incredibly heart-wrenching visiting this place. we must never forget the innocent lives lost during the Khmer rouge.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shreyahmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,490
    2,656
    594
    86
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A vital bit of recent Cambodian history for all travellers.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We came to Toul Sleng after a visit to the killing fields, so we knew what to expect. It was originally a school, but was converted into a prison after the Khmer Rouge had moved all of the citizens of Phnom Penh into the countryside. It is here that the interrogations and torture took place during the days of Pol Pot. Once confessions had been extracted from the victims, they were taken en masse to the killing fields. It is a harrowing place, because the Khmer Rouge documented everybody who passed through, so on the walls you see pictures of young people, women, children, all innocent citizens who were supposedly found guilty of crimes against the state. Evidence of the torture used to extract “confessions” can still be seen, it is chilling to behold. On the afternoon of our visit, we were privileged to meet one of the survivors of this ghastly place, a quiet dignified gentleman by the name of Chum Mey. He has written the story of his time in the prison, his torture and how he came to be spared. I recommend his book and a visit to the prison.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrMichaelJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quietly horrific”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

S21 is somewhere you visit because you have to. People died here, horrifically. The Killing Fields have a sort of beauty now, despite the unutterable horror that took place there, but there is nothing beautiful about S21. An ex-school (which for a teacher who has taught in buildings quite like these in Africa) is itself disturbing, it's almost more than can be conceived of, what went on there. Couldn't help wondering if something similar was happening right now in North Korea which bore some resemblance (and if so, could we do anything about it?) The photos are not as harrowing say as those in the War Remnants museum in Saigon, but being in situ are absolutely shocking. I'd say if you only had one site you could visit, "do" the Killing Fields not S21, but if you can do both; do them.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrid and poorly done as a tourist attraction”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We knew when visiting the museum that it wasn't going to be a pleasant experience however we thought it was poorly done and didnt offer much of an educational experience into the history. The money that people pay to visit the museum should be put back into providing educational materials of a higher standard than posters on walls and a TV screening of poor quality. The killing fields is much better for an educatioal experience with the headset tours and reflective personal perspectives.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bethanyabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“How could Khmer kill Khmer?”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our guide was very informative and handled our questions with respect and honesty. It is very upsetting to see the cells and the photo displays. Meeting the survivor of the prison, a calm, serene old man, was soothing - a gentle man despite his memories.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing