We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sobering reminder”

Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Historical Phnom Penh Small-Group Tour, including Genocide Museum and Killing...
Ranked #2 of 119 things to do in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This former torture and detention center is now a museum dedicated to the victims of the Khmer Rouge.
Phnom
2 reviews
“Sobering reminder”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Not for the faint of heart but a very real reminder of our collective past and the evil that lirks when good men do nothing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,490
    2,656
    594
    86
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

It is difficult to rate S21 as 'excellent' considering the atrocities that occurred there. What is excellent is that Cambodia has and is coming through that period of their history so very well. Not sure I could feel the same way - pick myself up and carry on. But the Khmer people are one of a kind. Simply beautiful. I recommend this spot to visit; it will open your eyes to the ugliness of some and the resilience of others.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
643 reviews
284 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Grim”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum before visiting the Killing Fields. They are similar in some ways in that you hear some of the same stories and see some of the same photos. I'd say either was a must do, but maybe not both unless you have lots of time available. It made me think that no matter how hard life is for todays Cambodians (and it is) it must seem so stable after those dreadful dark times.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank justjans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A must see in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

It is worth getting to know your Cambodian history before you embark on this visit. It is powerfully sad, upsetting, tragic and makes you thank your own freedoms and where you come from. We wanted a guide, but there was non at the time, so we paid the entrance fee and tagged along with a few couples private guides, attempting to look like we were not listening! There is not much information around the complex, just artifacts and photos of faces that are long gone.
I don't recommend taking photos, this is not a place you want to share on your facebook page, this has to be seen in person and realised whilst there.
How awful ... thankful to have seen, and grateful for my life here in Canada :-)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank wolfcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sobering day”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

As 38 year old during the Cambodian War I remember the news at the time and so was a little conditioned to what to expect on my visit. However, as I recall, the news never told the detail. This visit certainly filled in the blanks for me. Mark Twain quoted something to the effect "If you been to a place then you are not qualified to comment". This place is a case in point for those who criticise visiting. It is best to visit the prison and after visit the Killing Field. A tuk tuk from your hotel will drop you at the prison and wait to take you onto the Killing Field and then wait to bring you back to your hotel.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjohno11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing