We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really relaxed space, nice vibe, with the softest beds so far on my travels.”
Review of The White Rabbit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Rabbit
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really relaxed space, nice vibe, with the softest beds so far on my travels.”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I originally planned to go to the Mad Monkey but went to the White Rabbit instead which I am glad I did. The atmosphere isn't really about partying but a more relaxed vibe and people are still social. Zack behind the bar is really cool he will give you recommendations about places to go in the area and he is just a really nice person to chat with. I stayed in room 4 upstairs for $6 a night and I was really impressed! The air con is so nice on a scorching day and the beds are really comfortable! The bathrooms are pretty good for hostel standard I've had a lot worse! The bar is a nice place to chill it is pretty small but there is a blackboard where they write down places to go at night. The staff aren't the fastest but they are friendly. Overall I would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rissj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    53
    26
    17
    6
See reviews for
1
35
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed one night here, whilst on my way to Kratie and coming from Kampot. The australian guy (and sorry I don't remember your name) because everyone keeps just calling him 'Australian guy' checked me in. He's quite friendly and knowledgeable, definitely needed there. After checking into the dorm and a quick bite of street food, I returned to the small lounge area for happy hour. They have cheap Angkor beer on tap and I liked the social vibe having a small bar area provided. It's too bad they can't expand it though, as it's just one line of tables against the wall and a high top. They would need to knock out a wall though, no room. Anyway, ya I chatted with some nice people and chilled a bit. The "aussie" owner was gathering a group together to go watch his friend play at Top Banana. Although, I had an early bus to catch to Kratie I joined. All in all, it's a good hostel and compared to Top Banana probably a lot more chill. It was a Tuesday there, one dude with a guitar and a washboard player, and it was packed to the gills with drunk people. White Rabbit is chill, but still provides social opportunities. The only other thing, ya some of the staff sucked. One girl in particular, I felt like I was putting her out of the way when I asked for another beer, as compared to her other companion working who was super nice. The slightly rude girl kept picking at her nose (she had a cold) maybe just rubbing it, but it grossed me out. So I tried to avoid her on beer refills. One more thing, I hear a lot of complaints about the 'American owner.' Yeah, he's not social but so what. He obviously isn't owning a hostel for that, the 'Aussie' provides that aspect, so long as he isn't the one involved with greeting check in or outs, or anything else, it doesn't matter.

Room Tip: I just slept in the regular dorm, the first one right next to the hot shower. If you do want a hot s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed at the White Rabbit for 2 nights and wasn't really impressed. Some staff were helpful, while others barely acknowledged us. We sat at the table one morning waiting to order breakfast, but no one came- even though the staff member was sitting at the front desk doing nothing at all.

The food from their restaurant is also average at best.

Our room had a fan and air conditioning, very basic furnishings and a tiny bathroom.

The only thing I enjoyed was the lounge area with a large selection of movies.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMN1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

A very clean, safe and relaxed guesthouse/dorm for travellers. The lounge is very cozy and ppl are supernice! Simply the best place to stay in Phnom Penh if you have a budget trip and you dont wanna spend too much money. The beer is cheap and internet works well :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The 'Rabbit is one of the best hostels I've stayed in... Run by a great bunch of expats, has a real comfortable relaxing vibe with good food and great drink prices. Not crazy like the Mad Monkey etc, but the perfect place to base yourself whilst in PP. The staff are only to happy to help with any advice, bookings etc, and will take you out every night to the best bars and clubs and help you to party hard if you please.
I'll definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank damo_pilat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed in a double bed with bathroom. It had AC and a fan which both worked well. However the window in the room had only a very thin curtain and it looked out into the corridor so people could see in pretty much the whole time. My boyfriend and I both felt the service was pretty cold, and it was like the staff really didn't want to be there or help you out. Had a very backpacker vibe and because we didn't use the ps2 that became rather annoying as it was very loud (although they do switch it off at 11pm which was good).
It was quite far away from everything and you needed to get a tuk tuk ride anywhere really but they all hang out outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiecampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night as a stop over to siem reap. The tut tut driver found it difficult to find but eventually we got there.

It had a really nice atmosphere, tv room, book swapping.
I stayed in the 10 bed dorm. Really spacious, clean, own power point and light. The bathrooms were good too, and a nice powerful shower. It's good to feel clean again and sleep in a clean bed!

The staff helped sort out my bus trip and recommendations for food.

Best nights sleep I've had in a while

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
Blue Dog Guesthouse
Blue Dog Guesthouse
#36 of 327 in Phnom Penh
151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#5 of 243 in Phnom Penh
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 269 in Phnom Penh
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#72 of 327 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
1,154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#66 of 269 in Phnom Penh
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rabbit

Property: The White Rabbit
Address: #40A, Street 294, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 243 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing