We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent option in Phnom Penh”
Review of The White Rabbit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Rabbit
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Decent budget option in Phnom Penh, has a bar area for socialising with good happy hour prices. Not much natural light in the room but thats fairly standard, it was clean and in a good location for seeing the sights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 162 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Having moved to Cambodia in late 2013 I have spent many a night here socialising as have to say it feels like home! The staff are great, the food is great and I've met some great friends here already! Ask for a Vince martini or "The Vince" as it's his specialty!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Drabs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Simple place to be for backpackers. Have been to various backpacker hostels around Southeast Asia and this one was easy to get used to. Has a bar with great happy hour prices on the lower floor, dorms are above. If you want to relax there's a nice TV room with international channels too. Accessible via public transport and easy to find local Khmer food nearby at Boat Noodle Restaurant. Very cheap stay but public transport is needed to get to Tuol Sleng Prison, Killing Fields and riverside. Not a big deal though since you can pretty much save up on accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley_Chong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Awesome clean, chilled hostel with a great atmosphere. The dorms were some of the cheapest in Phnom Penh and the staff were awesome too, especially Zach behind the bar. I would recommend the place to anyone, its always buzzing with young friendly travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

stayed here for a night. staff were welcoming and friendly. bar downstairs is good

stayed in the top dorm (18.bed) rooms were clean and the beds comfy. had a good nights sleep and thankfully others were quiet when they came in.

toilets and showers ok. floor always tended to be wet through in the toilet for some reason. showers only hot on floor two.

only real negative was the wifi didnt work above floor one. you can connect to a free source but it doesnt always stay on

would recommend!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfanatic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here everytime I have come through Phnom Penh in the last month of my Cambodian travels and I really enjoy my stays.
It's a comfortable place with good vibes from the staff, mainly Zack behind the bar!
I only had Khmer food in my stays but it was great! I would definitely recommend! It's located in a pretty central place to some good bars and restaurants.
It's good for the casual one night stay or many nights.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank aaamy1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in the 14 bed dorm on the top story. Both my friends and I were sick and we found the rooms very quiet and cool to sleep in both at night and during the day. The bathrooms were basic but cleaned very often and the beds were comfortable. We walked most places and found the hostel to be in a great position to attractions, supermarkets, local food and other hostels including Mad Monkey and Top Banana. The communal area and restaurant/bar downstairs were also great, though my only qualm is that we didn't find it as easy to meet people here as in other hostels we had stayed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skennedy232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 274 in Phnom Penh
999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Dog Guesthouse
Blue Dog Guesthouse
#31 of 334 in Phnom Penh
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#7 of 248 in Phnom Penh
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sundance Inn & Saloon
Sundance Inn & Saloon
#20 of 334 in Phnom Penh
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 334 in Phnom Penh
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aura Thematic Hostel
Aura Thematic Hostel
#13 of 248 in Phnom Penh
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rabbit

Address: #40A, Street 294, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $4 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing