We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with a budget”
Review of The White Rabbit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Rabbit
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place with a budget”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our stay at White Rabbit was really good. Overall the place is good, rooms and showers are clean. The bar is nice and food is good. The staff was really nice and helpful, we spent much time chilling with them. The location is also good though you can find better areas in Phnom Penh. But I would definitely recommend it for people traveling on a budget and looking for a nice clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmogwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    53
    26
    17
    6
See reviews for
1
35
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apia, Samoa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stay a week or so there and the owners are interesting. One of them is from the States and it is a complete jerk. Any question to him was replied with a smart mouth answer. I did not mind it too much. I just didnt talk to him much.

The other one is a Kiwi and is pretty cool but yes, a pothead. He wasn't the jerk the other one is but he does talk alot weed alot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterVandever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hostel is kept clean for the most part. The private room was plain a bed nightstand lamp and little stand for clothing and a window to an alley. No new towels or room cleaning in the 3 days we stayed.....I do feel if you can't put TP in the toilet someone should do a 5 minute clean up.
This was the first place I believe I did not get a bar of soap with my room, but no big deal. Oh room also had a AC unit and fan both working well.
We did not eat here but a lot of people were. The bar is nice and cozy beers are 75cents at happy hour. They close the bar at 11pm to keep the noise down.
If you stay in a private the rooms are a little smoky from the TV room which is right outside your rooms.
All and all I liked it and the staff are nice as well.
Tina bartender also very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theeyesoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The dorms are clean and comfortable. The bar has a good selection of drinks. The hostel has a large lounge area offering films and games, however the owners/guests are smoking weed which is off putting. Difficult place to meet people. Would not recommend.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank D88k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hostel looking for a hostel that was clean and practical.

From the moment i entered I was welcomed by one of the owners (Zack) and everyone at the bar. Throughout my stay everything was very relaxed and I even hung out there in the day having down time and watching some of the many movies that were available.

The rooms were new and clean, as we're the showers and all of the staff were very helpful. I would, and have recommended white rabbit to anyone.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irishlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Pretty decent, with a bar downstairs that serves food too. Had a washing machine which was handy for our sweaty attire. There were a couple of fans in the room, but they weren't particularly useful, proper AC would have been good. Hotel staff were helpful. Not far walk from the waterfront, Golden Palace and other sights. Here we planned to get the river boat to Vietnam, however we had to get the bus instead as the water levels were too low. Not far by taxi to the Killing Fields of Choeung Ek, definitely worth a visit if you're into the history of the place, as grim as it may be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petec84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiyaphum, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What are the basics required of a hotel room? It must be clean, have storage for clothes and soap in the bathroom, right? Not according to the three utter buffoons who run this joint.

Said owners appear to have stumbled into owning this auberge, most likely having run out of money to get them home while travelling south east Asia and pitting all their remaining dollars into purchasing a big place to lounge around in.

Guests are treated with contempt for daring to blunder in on ganj time round the PS3, while there is quite the juxtaposition between the charming attentiveness of the Cambodian staff and the aloofness of the American owners. It is also clear that there is a degree of disdain between these two factions.

I did not dare believe the dirt strewn across the floor of the room. All it required was a quick mop! The bathroom was okay, with a moderately good power shower. However, ventilation was a significant issue. There was no natural daylight and as far as I could tell, the air conditioning unit was surely an antique. It certainly had no effective use whatsoever throughout my stay here. There was nowhere to put clothes, while the bed was average to decent. And, believe it or not, they have actually raised the prices here towards mid-range levels. They tried to charge me $18 for this shower of offal!

As previously mentioned, the Cambodian staff here were fantastic but I would advise that they look elsewhere for management that regard their performance the way it ought to be regarded.

As a postscript, do not allow the PS3 to draw you in as a selling point. It is located in a dingy, smoke filled lounge where the Americans and one permanent, decrepit, stay-in guest control proceedings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#5 of 225 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#20 of 225 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Nomads
Hostel Nomads
#19 of 225 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dog Guesthouse
Blue Dog Guesthouse
#39 of 317 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#8 of 225 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.2 mi away
19 Happy House Backpacker
19 Happy House Backpacker
#122 of 225 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rabbit

Property: The White Rabbit
Address: #40A, Street 294, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The White Rabbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing