We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to avoid busy town”
Review of 3 Mangos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
3 Mangos
Ranked #51 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place to avoid busy town”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was comfortable as well as very accommodating.

1. Pros:
- Spacious room that having both fan and AC.
- Comfortable bed and pillows.
- Have great swimming pool to cool down after long hot day outside.
- Good restaurant with delicious dishes and reasonable price.

2. Cons:
- The room is very basic (I got 22$/night room, R.4), when I stayed there, there wasn't toilet paper provided until asking, also washing hand soap.
- The room itself needs to make some renovating. The corner of room where is supposed to be closet is dirty and wet.
- One night I stayed, water was cut off for about 2 hours by government. It's not a big deal but causing some certain inconveniences. I talked to Eden and he said it's occasionally happening, however, my own opinion is trying to have back-up plan in long term for guests' basic needs.

3. Something in you should notice:
- The guesthouse is located in residence area, so little bit away from backpack and night market area (2$/one way for tuk tuk, it's also not easy to catch a tuk tuk from this place), so if you don't mind to stay away from the crowd with extra paid for transportation then this is it, otherwise, think carefully (especially for solo female travelers).

4. Hospitality:
- At first, I would give this place 3/5 because of its value. However, the hospitality was very nice, so I gave one extra score for it. Eden and his partner are really nice and friendly people, also his staffs. They always try to make your stay be pleasant and being very helpful.

In general, it's a nice place to stay, however, the room needs to renovated to lift up its values.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smoothie1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
15
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went to 3 mangos to meet up wiv my mate jimmy for 3 days it was so good I stay 6 days Eden da boss was very nice man and staff wer excellent food very good nice clean room nice pool defo go stay der in June for a week or two

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangatit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I spent 7 nights at 3 Mangos and loved it! The room was large, clean, with free wifi, hot water, aircon, and an ensuite. I spent most of my time there chilling out by the pool, but it is located very close to other attractions like the Russian Market and Toul Sleng (the genocide museum). It is a short moto ride to the riverside. The owner, Eden, is a lovely guy who goes out of his way to help in any way he can. The food is a mix of British pub food and Khmer food, large portions and reasonably priced. The fish and chips are amazing! There is a regular expat crowd that comes to the bar who were all very friendly, too. I definitely recommend staying at 3 Mangos, I know I will be staying there when I pass through Phnom Penh again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Spent just one night here before leaving flying out of Cambodia. Was pretty blown away by what I got for US$20 compared with other places I'd stayed in Phnom Penh - a sparkling clean, spacious double room with tv, a lockable draw, fan, aircon, private bathroom with bath and hot (yipee!!) shower. And then there are the other facilities - the pool, bar, restaurant, huge balconies, and lounging rooms.
The staff are really friendly and Eden, who runs the business with his Khmer wife, is a sound guy - really chilled and interesting to talk to as he has lived in Cambodia for quite a while. He helped me out letting me use his phone and even let me have a late check-out as my flight was an evening one. When I thanked him, he said he considers looking after people part of the service.
The menu is mostly western food with lots of British food, but there are some Khmer dishes on offer too. They have Anchor on tap and the bar always has a really chilled vibe, with lots of expats coming by who all seem to know each other and are all really friendly to talk to. I had a lot of good conversations sitting at the bar.
Finally, I really liked the location of 3 mangoes too - in the BKK area. Tuol Sleng genocide museum is nearby, as is NatuRaj yoga, The Flicks cinema, the Russian Market, and street 278, which has lots of slightly pricier restaurants aimed at foreigners, and some cheaper, really tasty more Khmer-oriented eating places in the surrounding streets/blocks. If you want to get to the riverside area or elsehwhere in northern Phnom Penh from BKK, it is very easy - $3 on a tuk tuk or $2 on a moto (for tourists, anyway).
The other good thing about 3 Mangoes is you are supporting a business where the owner genuinely seems to care about and look after his Khmer staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbourgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

On top of having Wi-fi, air-con, Tv and DvD, Pool and bar facility's it also had some of the friendliest staff I’d experienced n Cambodia. Eden (the owner) was extremely helpful with organising things to do in Phnom Pehn and our onward journey. I’d highly recommend staying here. Great value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DArthur73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Intended to stay there for about 5 days, got settled and I stayed about 9. Rooms large and spacious with ensuite. Great pool and bar, staff and owner are very friendly and chilled out. TV a tad snowy but it didn't matter ( who comes to Cambodia to watch TV?). Food very good value for money. Has WIFi Accsess but if you don't have a laptop/ Tablet the owner is happy to lend you his.
Def' recommend this place to anyone. I even intend go back to stay there on my way back through Phnom Pehn.
Overall great for friends and the solo traveler if you want a chilled out place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2 and was very happy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litlejen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at 3Mangos for a couple of days in Phnom Penh and I was really happy with the experience. It is a budget guesthouse but with great friendly and very helpful stuff and nice location allowing for easy walk to key interest places like Russian Market or the Riverfront. 

The rooms that I had were both spacious and clean although the tv was snowing all the time and they could do with a bit of fresh pain and touches of character. The one great thing was the swimming pool opened 24 hours and a rooftop bar where other expats were watching football games. 

Overall I can recommend this nice and friendly place to any budget traveller to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visionary_vanguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.8 mi away
California International Hotel
California International Hotel
#214 of 267 in Phnom Penh
9 reviews
2.5 mi away
CCC Hotel
CCC Hotel
#129 of 267 in Phnom Penh
70 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dara Airport Hotel
Dara Airport Hotel
#64 of 267 in Phnom Penh
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#20 of 267 in Phnom Penh
427 reviews
5.3 mi away
the 252
the 252
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,221 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Mangos

Property: 3 Mangos
Address: #28 Street 360 | Bun Keng Kang, Phnom Penh 1111, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated centrally in the Leafy Bun Keng Kang area of the city, 3Mangos has 8 en-suite bedrooms, situated on the 1st floor with residents balcony overlooking the courtyard bar, swimming pool, mango, banana and coconut trees. On the second floor at the back of the property is the Loft Sports/Movie Lounge and terrace. We have an extensive movie collection, satellite TV for a host of sport and the terrace which is perfect for enjoying your evening meal or a cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 3 Mangos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing