We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible room, friendly staff though” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malis Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malis Guesthouse
Ranked #140 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Utrecht
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible room, friendly staff though”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Went here based on the positive TA reviews. Maybe we just had bad luck but the room we stayed in wasn't any good. It was dirty, especially the bathroon had not been cleaned. There were bugs and the room was damp. On top of that almost everything in the room was btoken. There was no window except when you count the one onto the very dark common hall. We didn't get much sleep because somewhere around there was a very loud TV playing until very late. The very friendly staff and convenient location couldn't make up for all of this, would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomenEelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Guesthouse is located centrally, 5 minute walk to the riverside. Rooms are basic but well equiped. Staff is very friendly and can arrange good transport. cheap restaurant. We arrived early and received a temporary room. This was very kind.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Jack is so helpful and very willing to help with anything you want to do ie. organise visas, give directions, booking transport.. The girls that work here are really lovely, Jenda (i hope i got that right!) is so friendly and chatty! (spitting image of Miss Dynamite!) Food here is cheap and tasty! We loved the curries, burgers and vegetables with noodles. Wifi is very good on all floors, beds are comfy, prices are great ($10pn (for large room with fan that couldve slept 4) to start off with, reduced to $8 because we stayed longer) Location is great as its close to the riverfront and Central Market, only $3 in a tuktuk to Russian Market or Flicks Cinema (highly recommended for rainy days!) All in all, a great choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiddleyBumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked a double fan room for $8. The bed was very comfy. The room was basic but served all of our needs perfectly. Hot water, fan, tv, clean room etc. Location is very close to the river and everything that you might need. The manager was very helpful, booked our bus to Sihanoukville. We also had some washing done, very cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMarion1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Definitely would recommend this place. Great location next to the river and all the bars/restaurants, the rooms were spacious (we had 3 double beds for 2 people!) 3 decent fans kept the room fairly cool. the bathroom was clean but the tiles were abit mouldy, which isnt a massive issue. The service was fantastic! Jack organised our night bus to Saigon for a v. good price, and also dispensed value advice about what taxi's to use in saigon and told us where the best place was to get our riel exchanged! The service in the hotel was 10/10 for a budget hotel.. Great stay! (No lift tho, and 4 stories!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMatt112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oulu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Staff is great and rooms, food and drinks are reasonably priced. Very close to Wat Phenom and river side, night market, central market and Sorya mall is at walking distance. Fan for 8$ and ac for 10$, including tv, wifi, private bathroom with hot shower. Only thing missing was fridge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asiaexplor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed for almost two months and they were more than willing to work with us on a reasonable rate. Clean rooms and very nice staff. Perfect for us because it's location is not too far from river but far enough away from all the noise.Restaurant is pretty good and cheap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
2.3 mi away
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
#37 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malis Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malis Guesthouse

Property: Malis Guesthouse
Address: No. 153, St. 110., Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing