We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I rarely write a negative review”
Review of Lucky Star 2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lucky Star 2
Ranked #216 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I didn't get to stay in the Lucky Star 2 hotel as they gave my room away to someone else who hadn't booked. Even though I had already paid for the room a week ago. This review is for the Lucky Star 1 which they transferred us to so I feel is an accurate reflection of Lucky Star 2's service and company.

My friend and I had left our luggage there earlier in the day which was just placed against the back wall of the lobby so we took all our valuables with us. They still have my room away!

I have been in Cambodia for 3 weeks so have stayed at a few hotels. Some at $35 per night, and some at $10 per night. The Lucky Star 2 should have been mid range, but I guess I will never know.

There seem to be 3 Lucky Star hotels on the same stretch of road. We arrived at the wrong one where the staff didn't speak English and so they just pointed to the right. We assumed this meant we needed to go next door. But the Lucky Star 2 was actually down the road, across another street. Really not far to walk unless you are laidened with a heavy backback which we were when the Lucky Star 2 advised they had given our room away. They told us to go back to the hotel we had just come from as they had room but we were not offered a tuk tuk despite our luggage.

We were supposed to get a superior room with balcony, mini bar, hot water, wifi, air con and sofa. We had none of these things as the hot water, wifi and air con were broken and the room was definitely not superior.

Someone knocked on our door which we answered within 5 seconds. There was nobody at the door when we answered, and the only people around were hotel staff who were all staring at us. I think they knocked to have a look at the white people as they rudely stared and did not reply to my Hello every time we left the room. We expect this on the street but not in a hotel.

There were people smoking all around the hotel and cigarette butts on the floors.

We went to complain about the room but reception don't speak English and just pointed to the hotel across the road (which is also a Lucky Star!). We asked if what she meant was for us to go there and she nodded.

So! We packed our bags and went to leave the hotel but the staff called us back before we crossed the road to ask us where we were going! Turns out, that the pointing woman meant that amenities I had asked for were available across the road but that they had no a available rooms.

They called an English speaking woman over from the hotel who said that this was the only hotel we could stay in and we could not have a refund. We were clearly annoyed with this so she she took us to the hotel across the road where we met the only redeeming feature of this company. A man who spoke brilliant English and who apologised for what had happened. He even offered us his Internet dongle. But after a few phone calls he confirmed that he could not offer us anything else. He did give us a refund though and also made a call to another hotel (Hang Neak Hotel also has a review from me) in order to book us in.

So $5 out of pocket after tuk tuk to new hotel and the extra cost of the new hotel room, and 1.5 hours later we were finally able to go for dinner!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

I'm just puzzled by this hotel. It's a decent hotel that must have cost a lot of money to build, but it's out in the middle of nowhere! There are no amenities close by for English speakers, the streets are filthy and the only place to consume food was a commercial shopping mall aptly named the lucky mall, lucky because we're were lucky to find it after an hour walking around. If we hadn't have found that mall we would have starved. Meals became a chore, the choices between several poor replicas of western fast food chains made us dread meal times. We actually spent a full day in that mall because there was nothing else to do in the vicinity. A full day wasted in an arcade/ looking around shops. The only redeemable aspect of this hotel is the spacious rooms with cable tv, although the cockroaches do let it down a bit. The wifi only works in the lobby and is dial up era slow, the staffs English is poor and the laundry service overcharged us. Stay here if you want to give your money to tuk tuk drivers rather than spending an extra 2 dollars a night to stay in an actual relevant area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jord000123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place was fine, clean, staff were friendly, spacious rooms. We had a good view over Phnom Penh (not beautiful, PP isn't beautiful but it is charming!). Price was reasonable for a twin room, I'd return if I was travelling with a mate again. It's a little far away from the main attractions but if you get a tuktuk driver for the day you can probably pay <$25 for the day to get to the Killing Fields, S21, National Museum, Royal Palace and home again. I'd recommend a tuktuk driver because negotiating prices to 336 St one-way is a pain - drivers tend not to know where it is and then spend ages looking for it on a map then tell you it's far away (it's not really) and so quote you much higher than necessary. Anyway, cheaper to get a driver for the day. It being far away would be inconvenient if you want to go back home several times a day but if you can set out in the morning and not return til evening it's perfect. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Upon arrival at Lucky Star, you will that there are Lucky Star 1, 2, 3 and 4. All of them charge the same price, but Lucky Star 1 has a fully functional receptionist area that has people who speaks english.

The rooms here are big. Kinda like a chalet for many people. Basic amenities are provided. I think this hotel also doubles up as an apartment for people who are staying long term in phnom penh. Overall, although this place is a little far from the sisowath quay, it is actually quite a good place to stay to experience the local way of life.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm_See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lucky Star 2 was a nice break from dorm rooms without the expensive cost of a hotel. The room was large with a double and twin bed, a clean and functioning washroom, and complimentary bottled water everyday. On the downside, the hotel provides very little services for guests and there was no safety deposit box in our room. With that being said, we didn't have any issues with our belongings going missing. Also, note that the hotel is situated away from the tourist area, but it is only around a $3 tuk-tuk ride away. I would recommend this place to everyone travelling on a budget and seeking comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Courtenay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

this hotel is far away from the backpacker district, but it has averything you need in walking distance: restaurants, a good market, a shopping mall with a decent food court and shops to buy whatever you might need without getting the overpriced tourist thing.

if you don't want to see only tourists and hear the words: motobike, tuk tuk and marihuana and /or "you need a lady?" then this is the place for you.

it is a huge building with hundreds of rooms, with hot water in a proper shower, sattellite tv and A/C. the staff speaks a little english and will not try to sell you a tour or a bus ticket, the rooms are clean, big and if you are on the higher floors you get a nice view of the city.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the less you hear from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rolando s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

$15 to stay here, perfect hot water shower and large beds, the wifi was a little slow but for this price you cannot complain! $2 tuk tuks to town and they even kept our bags in a closet after we checked out. Highly Recomended

Room Tip: all rooms have really nice views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashley_stewart25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Lucky Star Hotel
Lucky Star Hotel
#218 of 274 in Phnom Penh
35 reviews
4.7 mi away
You Eng Hotel
You Eng Hotel
#183 of 274 in Phnom Penh
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skypark Guesthouse
Skypark Guesthouse
#157 of 274 in Phnom Penh
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
NaNa Hotel & Caffe Restaurant
NaNa Hotel & Caffe Restaurant
#138 of 274 in Phnom Penh
75 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#77 of 274 in Phnom Penh
371 reviews
1.8 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#195 of 274 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Star 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Star 2

Address: 38-40, Street 336 Sangkat Phsar | Deumkor, Khan Toul Kork, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $15 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Star 2 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Lucky Star 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing