We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Khmer food at reasonable prices”

L'Orchidee Restaurant
Ranked #87 of 1,414 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Dear Customers, Please be informed that our kitchen will close at 10:00pm, so our last order will be 9:40pm. The rest of you who have already enjoyed your meal, you can continue staying until late. Thanks, L'Orchidee Restaurant
Paris
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Khmer food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

L'Orchidee restaurant is a hidden jewel... Just a few minutes from the russian market, it's easy to find but still in a quiet street. I went two times in two days and really enjoyed the local food, really tasty, very clean and plenty of it! The French owner with his Khmer wife are offering a nice range of Khmer cuisine mixed with a few typical French dishes. The place is refreshing and I certainly highly recommend it to anyone in search of simplicity and taste.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brunozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchideeRestaurant, Owner at L'Orchidee Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear customer,
We want to thank you for this nice review. And we are very pleased with the fact that you appreciate so much our restaurant.
You noticed that our dishes are tasty and clean. We are, indeed, focusing on the quality and freshness of all products used in our dishes as we believe it makes a huge "plus" when arriving in the plate. And this is something we are not going to change or bargain...
Furthermore, I like when you mention about our "simplicity" as it is really what we are looking for... A place, simple in its approach and concept. A place where people come, spend a good time, enjoy nice food and, finally, feel relaxed after their lunch or dinner...
After all, isn't it the most important... :-)
We wish you many new travels, full of nice encounters and discovery...
The team from l'Orchidee Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    48
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a great meal at this restaurant. It is out of the main tourist area but worth the $3 tuk tuk ride. It is near the Russian Market and the food is delicious. Had plenty of food for 5 people for $30. Owner is French and gave us great recommendations on what to order and what was enough. Had frogs, tongue, chicken with lemongrass, pork with ginger, and shrimp. Some new foods for us but all fabulous. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchideeRestaurant, Owner at L'Orchidee Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your very nice comment.
As a restaurant we are alway pleased to advice our clients about different type of food they should try.
Our objective is clearly to make people discovering new flavors, new meals. And we alway try to find the right balance between our customer's choice and what comes in the plates. So yes, if we think that, maybe, people ordered too much we never hesitate to advice... After all going to a restaurant must be, and must remain, a moment of pure pleasure and a nice "souvenir".
As a end; if your visit to our restaurant gave you a good feeling about Phnom Penh and about Cambodian food; then We are more than happy.

We wish you a very nice stay in Cambodia and we hope to see you again in a near future...
... And between us ; next time even adults will get a small piece of cake ;-) :-)

Best regards
The team from l'Orchidée Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Easily one of the best restaurants in PP. Try the Bak Choi stir-fried, fried rice with Kapi, and the Amok is an absolute dish to die for! Don't forget to check out the pecan beer: beer with orange liqueur.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Selinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchideeRestaurant, Owner at L'Orchidee Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Client,

We wish you a very nice year 2013.
And we want to thank you for your kind review.
We are, of course, very glad and proud that you appreciate so much our food. Coming from you living in Thailand, where the food is amazingly good and fool of flavors, such a comment is to be taken as a real compliment .
Of course we offer some refreshing drinks, both with or without alcohol. But for those with alcohol we always insist that they must be drink with moderation ;-)
And as we speak about drinks. If you authorize me, I would like to correct one think. The spelling of the beverage you mentioned is "Picon bière" :-P
We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again at our restaurant. After all we are "neighbors", aren't we ? :-)

Warm regards
The team from l'Orchidée Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A secret treat”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We ate at the with Cambodians friends on our first night here and have been back since. The food is amazing. We ate the Khmer food which was fresh and appropriately flavoured. The salads were delicious including a number of different green mango and green Papaya options. The local soup was also a treat. The fish was fresh and beautifully presented. Service was attentive, but not over the top.
There were not a lot of tourists and the clientele was mostly local - a telling sign.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GGMCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchideeRestaurant, Owner at L'Orchidee Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Customer,

First, we wish you a very happy year 2013.
Thank you for your nice comment which shows that we are in the right direction.
When it comes to regional food, there are many meals to discover and new flavors to taste. And this is really one of our goal to make them known and appreciate by others.
We will continue to improve so we become better, and we will continue to search for new taste, new flavors.
We wish you many other happy travels around the globe.

Best regards
The team of l'Orchidée Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Khmer Food”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you want to try Khmer cuisine this is the place to do it. The French owner and chef really knows how to make delicious and delicately flavoured dishes whether it be Khmer or European. The atmosphere is great and the service very friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahlbland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchideeRestaurant, Owner at L'Orchidee Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear customer,

l'Orchidée Restaurant wish you an happy new year 2013.
A big thank you for your nice review.
As you mentioned it, a nice atmosphere is very important to us as we always wanted to create a place where customers can feel comfortable But, more important, we want people to experience and enjoy nice food.
The pleasure we have, all of us, when we see our customers enjoying their time at our place is our best reward. Be sure of that.

Enjoy your time
Best regards
The team from l'Orchidée Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Orchidee Restaurant also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to L'Orchidee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing