We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Mexican Food”

Taqueria Corona Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 1,404 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Newly opened Mexican restaurant promising an “authentic taste of Mexico.” Cochinita pibil, carne asada, tequila shrimp, 'Texas chain-gang chili,' carnitos, Mission burritos and Ensenada fish tacos. Full bar, margaritas, Mexican beer and more. Fully air-conditioned. Western managed.
Pouch Cove, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were very impressed by the quality of their great variety mixed drinks which may in turn have lead to greater enjoyment of their food. Fast friendly service even with a table of sixteen Aussies next to us. Thanks for the shots mates! We will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    98
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“My Phnom Penh Canteen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

TOURIST TIP: If you sit down in a Phnom Penh restaurant and the menu is offering pasta, pizza, Cambodian, Thai, burgers, Mexican and seafood: RUN!

Normal caveats: I am from SoCal, been to Mexico, my mom’s uncle’s cousin by his second marriage has three Mexican friends; in other words I have a little experience in this food area…

After years of disappointing experiences eating “Mexican/CaliMex” in Asia it took me months of driving past Taqueria Corona before I could bring myself to face yet another massive disappoint. Boy was I wrong!

Since that fateful day, Taqueria Corona has become my go-to place in Phnom Penh when I want a good meal, prompt friendly service and a relaxing ambiance. I should note that on average I go to Taqueria Corona 4 times per week, so that means you have ~20% chance of finding me there if you go. Not kidding.

The real miracle of this place is the consistency; a rare commodity among purveyors of foreign foods in Phnom Penh. I would note that I had no knowledge of the owners before I set foot in Taqueria Corona, but I have since come to admire their dedication to quality and ensuring a positive customer experience. This is again a rare thing in my wonderful city. The prices are also quite good for the quality of food and well calibrated to the market.

On the food & drink:
1) Hands-down best margaritas in town (and plenty strong)
2) Sizzling fajitas are great and portions generous
3) “Allen Style Nachos” are a grand feast
4) If you like spicy, ask for their excellent homemade variety
5) Specials like the “Echo Park Burrito” are a nice touch
6) No funny taste!! For some reason this is a problem when ordering Mexican food at many other places in town. I have not been able to figure out what it is exactly, but so many places in Cambodia have weird tasting salsas. Best I can figure is that it’s because the cooks (through no fault of their own) are adding extraneous ingredients. These also happen to be places that offer Cambodian food, pizza, burgers and everything else on their menu so I'm sure a little dash of soya in the salsa is possible. At TC there is none of that nonsense. It helps that Will [the chef/owner] actually knows what Mexican food should taste like.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AT_Cam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
“A great mexican food restaurant were it in Phnom Penh or San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Can't say how much I and my family love this restaurant. This is not just a one time experience, but over multiple times and menu items. Great friendly service in a cozy, relaxing atmosphere. All the menu items are great, but the carnitas tacos and baja fish tacos are exceptional.
Definitely the best Mexican food you will find in Phnom Penh on a standard that would be successful anywhere closer to the Mexican border.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sodaisei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
152 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Back For Round Two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's funny; I regularly review on tripadvisor and had forgotten I'd already reviewed Taqueria Corona. Went there tonight with my husband, our second time in a few months, and the owner came up to us and was incredibly nice. The black bean nachos, barbacoa tacos, and margaritas were all excellent. I came home ready to write a stellar review, and found that I already had back in August when I first arrived in Cambodia. This is a sign of consistently excellent service and food. Make it a must-do on your trip. (Also, they had Sierra Nevada Pale Ale for all you American beer aficionados!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

FabulouseMexican food - really tasty, although not spicy enough for us. Friendly staff. A little pricey for Cambodian standards, but we thought it was worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherylEJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Corona Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Taqueria Corona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing