We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A New Favourite!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taqueria Corona Restaurant

Taqueria Corona Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 1,382 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Newly opened Mexican restaurant promising an “authentic taste of Mexico.” Cochinita pibil, carne asada, tequila shrimp, 'Texas chain-gang chili,' carnitos, Mission burritos and Ensenada fish tacos. Full bar, margaritas, Mexican beer and more. Fully air-conditioned. Western managed.
bangkok
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A New Favourite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had tried other Mexican restaurants in Cambodia, and had given up the idea of finding a good local place to run to when the desire for cold beers and tacos hit us. But then we found Taqueria Corona. With fresh corn tortillas, shredded pork, spicy salsa and icy margaritas, its surely going to become a regular haunt for us.

The food falls more on the tex-mex side of the border, but the menu has some mexican dishes here too - including ceviche and my personal favourite, fish tacos (tacos con pescado). Asha reckons the Nacho's were some of the best she had eaten - with just the right amount of salsa, cheese and sour cream spread throughout.

The beers are cold and the margaritas even more so. The staff - and there area lot of them - make every effort to be friendly, enquiring after each drink and dish if it is ok, and beaming when we say it is.

Its not the cheapest restaurant in Phnom Penh - a plate of three tacos (with rice and beans on the side) costs $6.75 But we will be back for more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slow_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    98
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not that great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Heard some good comments from a colleague about this place, so was excited about trying it out. The nachos (with and without meat) were pretty good. Quesadillas was alright, nothing to write home about. My friends order red enchiladas, the taste was bland and there was no cilantro or some other fresh flavor additives on top. Service was only alright.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatFoodisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Deciding on a break from Khmer cuisine we decided to try this restaurant on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor. The service was good and the food really good, a light touch but not skimping on flavour.

There was a good selection of dishes and in all honesty this was probably the best Mexican restaurant that I have been to anywhere in the world, no stodgy, heavy or greasy food here. I would have liked it a little more spicy hot, but this is difficult for any restaurant as no two people have the same requirement. I didn't discover it until my last night there otherwise I would definitely have gone back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crunchsational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing Mexican Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Tonight 5 of us went to this restaurant and I am sad to say it did not live up to its rating.

For those of us who have lived, worked, in North, Central or South America, including Mexico we were hopeful that it would be close to being authentic. Unfortunately it was not close. The chips and salsa were fresh ($4.5), but the salsa was bland and unseasoned. The chips were not corn chips they were white flour more like a triangle cracker. The nachos were basically the same white flour chips with toppings, that were bland, not with much topping and not a large portion. All for $6.00 ( $ 4.50 plus $1.5 for meat to be added as a topping). The main course dishes were about $7 a piece. We had Shrimp Tacos (2 were served even though the menu said three would be served), and came with 4 small shrimp per taco with a cabbage filling that was a very different. One meal was two burritos which were ok, but were not finished because the person did not like them. Two meals were of the same dish the Enchiladas -- One person liked them and one left them without finishing them and lastly an order of go quesadilla which were good. The rice and black beans had no seasoning so they could have been from anywhere in the world, but not Mexico. They did not have any real options for hot sauces, taco sauce or other salsas.


One person had a Margarita which they liked and one had a Pina Colada which was sent back because it was something but not a Pina Colada.


All and all dinner came to about $57 without tip, for Phnom Penh that is expensive and given the cost of the food here the expectation is it would have been much better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank USAMagellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Never thought I would Higly Recommend a Mexican restaurant in Phnom Penh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Traffic jams on our way to Viva! (food nothing special but great frozen margaritas) on the riverside on a saturday evening made us decide to re-direct our tuktuk to Taqueria Corona. And wow, a good decision that turned out to be. First time to go there since it's opening in June. Normally I am not a great fan of the typical Mexican fare but we'll definitely come back here. Apart from serving great margaritas, including frozen, the food is very well prepared (so much better than the greasy stuff you get served in the few other 'mexican' places), staff is very attentive and prices are very reasonable for the quality and portion size. We had several dishes - quesidallas, tacos, fajitas - and everything was great. One of the kids ordered a burger which according to him was in the top-3 for Phnom Penh and the fries that came with were the best in town. So, all in all everybody, adults and kids, were very happy and pleasantly surprised with a new place serving the best mexican food in town. So, yes, higly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pdv999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Corona Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Taqueria Corona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing