We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant hotel - very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #36 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellant hotel - very friendly”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed here as part of an organised tour. Excellant hotel. Service very good - able to check into room early. Good facilities. Good location. Would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, Director of Sales at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Thanks for your support in selecting our hotel during your recent trip in Phnom Penh. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed stay with us

Heart-felt thanks for sharing your experience to the globe via trip advisory as one of the reliable sources for most travelers.

We do hope to have a chance to welcoming your good-self, friends and family to our hotel again soon to enjoy our heart-felt warm hospitality

Taking this opportunity, we wish YOU and your beloved ones an advance Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2011!
Thanks & very best regards,
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    448
    164
    26
    7
See reviews for
80
285
83
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Randwick, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

This Sunway hotel is centrally located if either on business or leisure. Located across the wide, manicured street is the US Embassy and others within the easy walking distance. Should you have leisure time, you are literally out the door and to the left is one of Phnom Penh's famous landmarks ~ WatPhnom...If you are lucky, you will witness Sambo the aging elephant...however, please only observe and do not RIDE him as he does look more tired than you feel in the Heat of Phnom Penh! Should you wish to take a wander to the Riverside cafe area, it is only a 2min Tuk-tuk trip away as well as the famous HOT- Russian markets. I felt very safe outside the hotel and landmark areas even though most guide books had warned all travellers to be extremely cautious in all areas of this developing city! This hotel is quite unique as apart from its superb location it also has a unique room category located on the 1st floor ...suites with kitchens and cooking facilities which is a real bonus if you are travelling with younger children wanting specific catering requirements or simply requiring that additional space for a few nights. However, the very, best kept secret of the hotel is the fully equipped gymnasium and the spa facilities (very reasonably priced) on the basement level of the hotel. Both the all-day dining restaurant and the English-club style bar area are excellent Food and Beverage outlets beaming with over-attentive staff ready to offer you their true Cambodian flair ~ all staff we encountered spoke excellent English and understood our requests during our visit! Overall, a superb hotel in a fabulous location offering international standards plus MORE!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellissimoFantastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, Director of Sales at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Thank you very much for your support in selecting our hotel as the venue for your accommodation during your recent trip in Phnom Penh. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and warm hospitality.

Heart-felt thanks for sharing your experience to the globe via trip advisory which is one of the reliable source for most travelers.

We do hope to have a chance welcoming your good-self, family and friends again to our hotel with a heart-felt warm hospitality

Taking this opportunity, we wish YOU and your beloved ones an advance Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2011.

Thanks & very best regards,
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Thanks to Tripadvisor did I choose this hotel, and I will surely come back! The staff is very helpful, the room is spacious with the cleanest bathroom I ever have seen, and the food is delicious as well. My room did face the street, but there was no noise at all, and I slept like home.

My only "problem" was to locate the lightswitch to the bathroom. It is on the keyholder/main switch.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thanks for your comment related to your stay in our property a few days ago.
It is very important for us to have guests writing their feedback and we appreciate your time and effort to do so.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in Cambodia with the always genuine Khmer hospitality.
Kind regards
Francois Hemery, General Manager, Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I found all staffs are very helpful, efficient and kind.
Breakfast was good quality, Nut and fruit bread is excellent.
Well done to you all (Sunway Hotel’s staff). A wonderful stay and I would like to come back.

I also recommend this hotel to all my friends and other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thanks for your comment related to your stay in our property a couple weeks ago.
It is very important for us to have guests writing their feedback and we appreciate your time and effort to do so.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in Cambodia with the always genuine Khmer hospitality.
Kind regards
Francois Hemery, General Manager, Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I was staying at SUNWAY for the second time. Plus points -
1. Very supportive and helpful staff.
2. Though the option for food is limited, chef and F&B manager will do all they can to satisfy you. I had left a comment about not being happy with the taste and quality of food I had for lunch. Next day morning Chef Sokuthea and F&B manager Sophal meet me during breakfast and listened to my complaints and assured that it will be taken care of. This speaks a lot about the "customer satisfaction" policy of the hotel.
3. Front desk too was very helpful and co-operative. One day, in the night I wanted to go out to buy water. The front desk manager told me that it is not safe to go alone and he asked on of the security guys to walk along with me to the 24 hour shop!!
4. there were many other good feeling experiences everyday.

CONS:
1. The hotel is expensive, in my opinion.
2. Internet costs USD 15 for a day!!!!!
3. Far off from action area. Though Tuk-Tuks are available, it costs USD 3 - USD 4 to go Riverside.
[---]

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Thanks for your comment related to your stay in our property a few days ago.
It is very important for us to have guests writing their feedback and we appreciate your time and effort to do so.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in Cambodia with the always genuine Khmer hospitality.
Kind regards
Francois Hemery, General Manager, Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

The Sunway is a nice hotel, however the hotel does not have pool, which would be handy in Cambodia's hot weather!

The internet is also extremely highly priced, almost to point of comical when you think how cheap wifi internet is to set up!

The breakfast buffet was really nice and had plenty of choice even for the fussiest of eaters.

The room were clean, comfortable and had everything as you would expect. The hotels location is quite good with plenty of tuk tuks out front eager to show you the city.

All in all comfortable hotel, and I would recommend it, if you don't won't a pool and don't need internet in the room!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam240477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed there last year for 3 nights while in PP. The hotel itself is ok, but also it´s located in an area of some embassies, you shouldn´t walk around alone in nighttime - there are many spots with "strange" people just outside the hotel, dirty streets and smell all over PP. At least, take a Taxi or TukTuk. Back to the hotel: It offers good food and drinks, maybe that´s why there are mostly western people there. The room wasn´t that good like the rest, but one really good thing was the massage area downstairs. Fair price, good work. As there isn´t much to choose from in PP yet, book this hotel before getting surprised by something else.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costablankoscheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, September 6, 2010
Thank you for your comment related to your stay in our property last week.
It is very important for us to have guests writing their feedback and we appreciate your time and effort to do so.
Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you again in Cambodia with the always genuine Khmer hospitality.
Kind regards.
Francois Hemery, General Manager Sunway Phnom Penh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#15 of 267 in Phnom Penh
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#34 of 267 in Phnom Penh
286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#31 of 267 in Phnom Penh
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Phnom Penh Hotel
Phnom Penh Hotel
#85 of 267 in Phnom Penh
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#14 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: 1 Street 92 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#18 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the city center at one of Phnom Penh’s exclusive areas, Sunway Hotel is a 4-star international chain hotel, comprising of 138 spacious guest rooms and suites as well as 10 meeting rooms. Surrounded by lush greenery amidst colonial buildings, the hotel is a walking distance to Mekong river front, major shopping, ministries, embassies, banks and tourist attractions and it is only 20 minutes drive from Phnom Penh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing