We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt safe inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #35 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel was nice enough if a little bit dated in decor but it was clean and the staff were friendly.
With the ridiculous heat outside a swimming pool would have been nice but we knew there wasn't one there when we booked so not really a drama.
Happy hour in the bar was very good and utilisedthis before heading down to the riverfront.
Breakfast was pretty much what you expect and the airconditioning made it more comfortable to linger in there than venture outside.
We had the buffet dinner on our second night here which included steak, chicken and lamb chops cooked to order. Great value.
Staff were friendly and helpful - although some minor language challenges.
There was a plethora of cyclo drivers parked on the street outside making travelling down to the riverside much easier in the heat.
Whilst I probably wouldn't return to Pnomh Penh having been there and done that - I did feel safe in the hotel despite some unrest 2 streets away and thank them for that.

Room Tip: Costs about $3 for a cyclo down to the river front. Check the price before you get in!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam (Helly13),
We appreciate the positive and encouraging comments and for having chosen to stay with us.
Although you have noted on the unlikely return to Phnom Penh, however we remain hopeful in having the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
There are newer reviews for Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 906 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed a couple of nights as part of a Vietnam Cambodia tour.
All in all a very nice hotel. Staff efficient and spoke English. Breakfasts and dinner all served buffet style with plenty of choice and of good quality, no going hungry here.
Regular happy hour in the bar making the drinks more than affordable and for more than one hour!
Well situated overlooking the American Embassy but very close to shops, markets and river.
The room was a real good size with all usual amenities.
Plenty of things to see in immediate vicinity if you just fancy a stroll but the heat in April was fierce, remember to take plenty of water. There is a small park nearby, in use by the locals if you fancy a picnic
American dollars in common use alongside their own currency, the riel, so you don't need to exchange any dollars into riel. You will just get riel in change.
There is a fair size 7 - 11 type store just across the road with a good selection of items which is quite handy.
Tip. If you want a massage, get it booked. Spaces get used up pretty smartish.
Me and 'er indoors loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a nice view of the world going about its business.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeromeozeroone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Sir (mikeromeozeroone),
Delighted to have received your favourable comments and thank you for having stayed with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and once again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

we were there in march and cannot fault it in any way ,the staff were great ,the meals the rooms and service were excellent ,couldnt of stayed in a better hotel, it was close to most things just a 5 to 10 minute ride to markets ,great sauna and steam rooms gym spa,manytypes of massages all was a great stay for us ,although my wife got sick on the last day had to go to hospital 3 days .the hospital was also great as were the staff

Room Tip: all rooms are good im sure most face the pool area great view
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natureguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Sir (Natureguy2),
Thank you for the positive and encouraging comments, and we hope that your Mrs. have had a speedy and full recovery.
Meanwhile, we hope to welcome you and the family back soon, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I arrived at 11:30pm, was checked in by the efficient staff in a few minutes, given the breakfast location and had my bags brought to my room immediately. I crashed at midnight, ate like a queen at the buffet the next morning and was gone by noon. It was clean and quiet and the food was great. I wish I could have stayed longer, but I was on my way to Kep the next day. I was able to find my way around quickly to pick up supplies and had plenty of offers from Tuk Tuk drivers if I wanted to go further than a quick walk. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful.
Deb N

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Ms. Deb,
It was a pleasure receiving and learning of your wonderful experiences while staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Ideally located for sightseeing. Only a short walk to both the night and day markets and the river. Plenty of restaurants to chose from by the river. The rooms are what you would expect for a city hotel. Reasonably sized with standard furnishings. We had breakfast each day of our stay, there was a reasonable choice of western food. We had lunch one day and that was good. There was a very long 'happy hour' in the bar, all drinks were half, price which made them a good buy.
The staff were friendly and the service was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam (Pat D),
Appreciate the favourable feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stay here for 3 nights
Nice location, nice hotel
We booked a room with balcony and that was lovely,also clean,would recommend asking for a balcony.over looks USA embassy.
Breakfast was ok ...staff rather slow both in restaurant and bar, overall a lovely hotel ..nice staff ,clean and just right for what we wanted ,we would use again if in the area .

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bigbum0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us and for the positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed 2 night in February as was recommended by our tour company. The hotel is a little tired and could do with updating. We noticed a sign in the lift saying the hotel has a non smoking policy with effect from 14 January. I myself smoke but my husband does not and he said it felt smokey in the lounge/bar and lobby area.

The room was clean and tidy but the bedrooms do need updating especially the bathroom. We noticed one bedroom opposite ours had white furniture compared to our dark furniture so perhaps they are updating the rooms.

Our evening meal was ok. Came some half hour late even through everyone else in the restaurant had been served. Breakfast was ok but no eggs on offer. I had to ask the chef to get the toaster to work but that was not heating properly so no toast.

The hotel has a good location not far from the river front where there are many restaurants, bars and food stores. You can walk but take you life in your hands as the roads are busy with every form of transport. If you want to take a tuk tuk they are just outside the hotel. The hotel is opposite the American embassy and yet on the park area in front of the hotel there are prostitutes there all day and night.

No pool and only balconies to deluxe rooms.

If this hotel was updated then we would probably give it another go if we returned to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room with a balcony
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAFCWombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you on the feedback and kindly allow me to clarify on some of the comments posted;
a) Non Smoking- all our guest rooms and public areas are designated Non Smoking, however smoking is permissible at the enclosed Smoking Room in the lounge and external porch area
b) Breakfast egg- available and served fresh, any style, from the buffet egg station
c) Guest room - work in progress, to upgrade the overall fixtures and furnishing
d) Dust park area- the authorities are diligently working to eradicate the ill social activities
Meanwhile necessary improvements have been taken on and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#36 of 270 in Phnom Penh
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Mansions
Central Mansions
#64 of 270 in Phnom Penh
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#15 of 270 in Phnom Penh
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#13 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,975 reviews
1.4 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#27 of 270 in Phnom Penh
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: 1 Street 92 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#18 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $80 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the city center at one of Phnom Penh’s exclusive areas, Sunway Hotel is a 4-star international chain hotel, comprising of 138 spacious guest rooms and suites as well as 10 meeting rooms. Surrounded by lush greenery amidst colonial buildings, the hotel is a walking distance to Mekong river front, major shopping, ministries, embassies, banks and tourist attractions and it is only 20 minutes drive from Phnom Penh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing