We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpasses the Name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #36 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Surpasses the Name”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Was expecting a chain hotel with the name Sunway, but this hotel far surpasses any chain. We were upgraded to a suite which overlooked the American Embassy. It had a lovely large patio off the bedroom. We were treated to an amazing light show of thunder and lightening so really couldn't enjoy the patio but the sunrise from the deck was beautiful. Staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Ms. Sue,
We are delighted to receive your positive and encouraging comments and hoping for your return in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    448
    166
    26
    8
See reviews for
81
287
83
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I dropped my key pouch and left for home. Wrote an emial to the GM and they replied almost immediately that they found my key pouch.Totally impressed by honesty of staff as key pouch was branded and expensive.

Althought my stay was short - gd food, friendly staff will make me come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Tan,
Thank you for your complimentary and encouraging feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We only stayed for 1 night in this hotel as a stopover before our flight home. The hotel was clean, tidy and did the job. It was perfect for our needs. If you are looking for a base for business, a quick stopover, or you aren't spending a lot of time in the hotel, then I would say this hotel ensures that you get what you need and there won't be any surprises, so it's a safe option. However, if you're looking for somewhere a little luxurious, or unique, and you intend to spend some time actually in the hotel itself, then this wouldn't be the optimum solution.

The rooms were a reasonable size for a city hotel (3 adults stayed in 1 room with a double and an oversized single bed) and the facilities were more than amenable.

We utilised the restaurant for an evening meal and for breakfast. The food was very good, and the menu was varied, giving options for both local and Western cuisine. The breakfast is delivered via a very extensive and fresh buffet. However, I would suggest that the service could be improved a little (e.g. I got tea when I asked for coffee, my rare steak was rare, but cold etc.). That said, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

I can't comment on the pool, as we didn't use it during our stay.

The location is one of the more pleasant (and possibly safer) areas of this poverty stricken city (from what we could tell) with the American Embassy and other government buildings all around. Although we didn't have much time in Phnom Penh, we did wander outside the hotel and take a walk in the local vicinity. The hotel is just across the road from the main temple there.

It was also situated relatively near to the airport, so great for an early morning flight.

Bonus - take a look out the window in the early evening and you'll see wild monkeys climbing the building! It is quite a sight!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Journey_GirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Madam (GirlSydney),
Thank you for your positive feedback and the necessary improvements have been taken on the comments noted. We hope to welcome you back soon and once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Gallen, Sankt Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights after a trip trough Cambodia and before flying to Thailand. The hotel is situated centrally and in close distance to many local attractions, shopping aera and a market. The way to the airport was suitable esp for our flight in the early morning. The staff was supporting us whenever needed, friendly and efficient. Overall, we had an excellent stay in the hotel, exactly what we were looking for our stopp over place of residence in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Peter,
We appreciate your favourable comments and for stay with us. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very good hotel. Convenient location directly across from the American Embassy which was actually pretty funny--it is a veritable fortress, the embassy that is. Exceptional staff makes you feel at home--amazingly gracious and friendly people. Fine breakfast buffet for all tastes Asian or Western. Clean and comfortable rooms. Good beds. Pack an assortment of adapters for the electrical sockets--most are the big three prong style and can be in odd locations and never near the bed. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Despardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sir (Despardo),
Thank you for staying with us and your encouraging feedback while we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for a night after before leaving for a tour. Very convenient for the sights and only 30 mins from the airport. The rooms are nice and the beds very comfortable. The food and service were both very good, and the prices very reasonable. The hotel decor is slightly outdated but clean and serviceable. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Itfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam (Itfox),
Your kind feedback and choice for having stayed with us is very much appreciated and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice hotel to stay in Cambodia as there are not many decent hotels available around town. The staff are very friendly and helpful, respond to my request almost immediately. It's convenient - having tuk tuk right outside the hotel and just about 15 minutes to town, central market and other eateries.

A new coat of pain and some refurbishment is recommended as the place do look like it needs one.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking and higher floor if possible. I like the room facing the US Embassy and it has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvin_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Alvin,
Thank you for having chosen to stay at Sunway and for the positive comments while hoping to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#32 of 267 in Phnom Penh
285 reviews
0.6 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#15 of 267 in Phnom Penh
549 reviews
1.4 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#28 of 267 in Phnom Penh
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Phnom Penh Hotel
Phnom Penh Hotel
#86 of 267 in Phnom Penh
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Mansions
Central Mansions
#61 of 267 in Phnom Penh
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: 1 Street 92 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#18 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the city center at one of Phnom Penh’s exclusive areas, Sunway Hotel is a 4-star international chain hotel, comprising of 138 spacious guest rooms and suites as well as 10 meeting rooms. Surrounded by lush greenery amidst colonial buildings, the hotel is a walking distance to Mekong river front, major shopping, ministries, embassies, banks and tourist attractions and it is only 20 minutes drive from Phnom Penh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing