We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #36 of 273 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Best Hotel I ever stayed. Cant wait to do it again. Top shelf so good I almost felt out of place. NOT!
I could easily get use to this hotel. Although I didn't see a pool on my visit, I have no doubt if they have one it would be in line and on par with the rest of the facilities. And for the smokers room its more of a smokers lounge. Air condition and clean. A pleasant surprise and a silver lining.
Its the little things.

Room Tip: Deserts are half price after 6pm in the foyer window display.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillG229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    435
    161
    25
    7
See reviews for
78
276
81
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location is near to wat phnom , just a walking distance. great room and very good service. i really praise all the staff, very helpful and friendly. i can feel that i being treated as VIP during my stay. This hotel is just nearly perfect if it comes with swimming pool. foods is great with wide variety can be choose from the menu. Buffet is one of the best, i nearly spend 3 hrs enjoying my breakfast as i spend 4 days at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yc_lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

There are 2 kinds of hotels in Phnom Penh-either riverside or city side.This i right in the middle very near Wat Phnom-the famous landmark-great location albeit not riverside.The majestic Wat Phnom or Phnom Temple is next to it even closer than Raffles Le Royal.The rooms adequate and has a balcony.Amenities in the room workable.Staff friendly and cost wise moderate.One coffeeshop which handles itself as the F&B location.Workable and if you just use it to sleep and take tours.Nothing grand but workable.Locationwise you are opposite American Embassy(if that makes you feel safe or otherwise),next to ministries(so becomes dark after work hours) and Raffles Le Royal Hotel(if thats a consolaton that you arepa ying a fraction of what Raffles charges)

Room Tip: Take the room where you can see Wat Phnom from balcony-majestic site
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
213 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed in Sunway, mainly because some of the chain hotels were fully booked. I was there over Easter weekend for a charity project and had difficulties to find a free 5 star property and finally, I opted for Sunway with very low expectations. Though, I was wrong : this hotel is very nice and well managed. it is not a Raffles of course, though good value for money.

I reserved a room with a big terrace (207). The terrace is very nice with a good view, though you never use it. It was at the sun side and it is so hot that you cannot sit on your terrace, not even in the evening. The room was very spacious, with fast, free internet and an easy-to-use light-AC-..; control system. Everything is not new and you see that the hotel is older, though it is all very well maintained.

Breakfast is good and I had lunch once in the hotel and this was also very nice and good. Check in,Check out is very efficient and frontdesk people are very helpful. Overall, a positive surprise !

Location is great. You can easily walk to the riverfront or otherwise, a TukTuk is easy to get. Wat Phnom is just next to the hotel.

I also used the gym which is a bit outdated and noisy (I forgot my headphones) but which is doing the job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a fantastic property. I was initially a bit worries about staying at a non-branded property that I wasn't familiar with but it is a well managed property for this area.

Location is just fantastic. Your just few bucks away via "tok tok" from central market, city center, Kings palace and many of the cultural attractions.

Room is average in size. Clean.
When requesting a room ask for a view of embassy. It's beautiful. I believe it is a ODD numbered room.

Restaurant on property is good too. Breakfast was enjoyable and is included with your room rate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Four years ago, I visited Angkor Wat, Siem Reap. At that time, I wanted to visit Phnom Penh, because it's the capital of Cambodia, but I was a member of a tour, then I couldn't change the course. This time, other than town walk as usual, I had one interesting purpose. It was a column about "Loyal Dog Hachiko" in Phnom Penh appeared in Asahi dated 27/1/2013. "Loyal Dog Hachiko" is the most famous dog in Japan and its statue is located in Shibuya, Tokyo.
Almost all Japanese know about this dog.
I stayed at this hotel for one night. This hotel is located at north part of Phnom Penh, and between Wat Phnom and Raffles Hotel Le Royal. This means it is calm area. This hotel is 4-star hotel and, of course the room was clean and comfortable. Before I go out for sightseeing, I showed reception ladies a paper in Japanese about "Loyal Dog Hachiko" and explained that opening ceremony was held on 26/12/2012 in front of a book shop at the center of Phnom Penh. And asked if you know about this fact and the name of the book shop. One of them answered
"I don' t know about the dog, but this shop must be Monument book shop on Norodom Blvd.".
I walked Norodom Blvd looking for the shop but I could't find it as far as Victory Monument.
After visiting Silver Pagoda (royal Palace was closed), I came back to Norodom Blvd. again and found the book shop at last. I was deeply moved. In this way, I could attain my object and I was very happy. When I came to the International Airport to go to Bientiane , I found the branch of this shop at the tax free area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadahiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A good introduction to Cambodia.

The staff were pleasant and efficient. The facilities were good and the Spa an excellent way to unwind after a long flight from UK.

The only downsides were that the bar was relatively expensive and there was no pool.

It's in a great location though - close enough to the centre to get in easily and far enough out to be quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GilliCaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#29 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#14 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
0.6 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Mansions
Central Mansions
#62 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.4 mi away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#38 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: 1 Street 92 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#19 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#21 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the city center at one of Phnom Penh’s exclusive areas, Sunway Hotel is a 4-star international chain hotel, comprising of 138 spacious guest rooms and suites as well as 10 meeting rooms. Surrounded by lush greenery amidst colonial buildings, the hotel is a walking distance to Mekong river front, major shopping, ministries, embassies, banks and tourist attractions and it is only 20 minutes drive from Phnom Penh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing