We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand but a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #14 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Macau, China
Level Contributor
210 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Grand but a little tired”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel offers an insight into the French colonial era, being a rather grand, 1920's building, which has been spared any substantial renovation. My room was a so-called "personality" suite, located on the second floor, the name attesting to its having hosted an eminent personage from colonial times. The room was high-ceilinged and floored with dark hardwood timber. A small terrace could be accessed through a French doors, though signage suggested it was unwise to leave the doors open for ventilation, due to the presence of monkeys and mosquitoes.
The central feature of the room was a large four-poster bed, which was very comfortable. An overhead fan proved a useful alternative to air conditioning at night. Otherwise, the room featured the amenities normally associated with superior accommodation, including an in-room safe, coffee machine, amply supplied minibar, and a good, working desk.
The only disappointment was the bathroom, which, while large, showed signs of wear and tear. Water flow was a little erratic, and the pipes had a distinct vibration to them when running water. The shower door seals were insufficient to stop water pooling on the floor outside the shower.
Service was excellent, beginning with a welcome drink on arrival, while registration formalities were completed. Breakfast is a little meager, consisting of a continental buffet, with omelettes and other egg dishes cooked to order, but the selection of fruit and breads available more than compensated for limited cooked choices.
In fairness, I didn't have the opportunity to venture into the grounds, or to enjoy the pool. Certainly my experience was as good a I have had in a hotel in Cambodia.

Room Tip: The hotel is low-rise; I think only about 5 floors. I had a room at the front of the hotel, bt there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenstOat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of the hotel on TripAdvisor, and for your detailed review after your recent visit. It was our pleasure to welcome you to the Raffles Hotel Le Royal, and we are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback, and our engineering team will see that your points of improvement are acted on immediately. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, and correct some of your impressions.

With kind regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    457
    111
    46
    19
See reviews for
259
837
121
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have just spent the first two nights of Our Cambodian holiday in this luxurious hotel. Reminiscent of a time gone by but perfectly renovated & maintained every aspect of our stay was superb. The breakfast buffet sumptuous with fresh fruits, omelettes to order, an incredible range of juices & freshly made pancakes to name a few. The tom yum prawn soup was the best we have tasted ... So good we had it twice; at room service & day 2 by the pool. The pool courtyard is a tropical paradise & the entire hotel a tranquil sanctuary from bustling & chaotic Phnom Penh. A wonderful way to start an Asian holiday.... If u can possibly afford it spoil yourself & go... Worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frno72 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcoming you to the Raffles Hotel Le Royal, and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit as a perfect start to your vacation and holiday.

We hope you have great memories of Phnom Penh, and hope we have the pleasure of a return visit hopefully soon.

With kind regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at the Raffles at the beginning of our recent two week trip to SE Asia. After 26 plus hours of travel from NYC, being greeted in the cool lobby with smiles, a refreshing cool towel and drink kicked off our adventures in classic Asian- hospitality form (oh, how Western hoteliers could learn a thing or two from their Eastern counterparts!)

As others have noted, the Raffles is a cool, colonial oasis in the city - a bit like being transported back to French Indochina - with all of today's creature comforts (the air conditioning in our room worked so well it was actually a little too cold for my liking).

For me, the greatest strengths of the Raffles le Royal were the careful maintenance of the entire compound and the genuinely warm service. The TLC that goes into keeping this place up to exceptionally high, world class standards was clear both inside of the hotel and out. Everything is pristine, from the marble in the lobby to the floors of the corridors to the lush vegetation outside. The staff couldn't have been sweeter or more helpful and genuinely kind in every encounter. Even if there was a stumble in language here or there, they truly knew how to make their guests feel welcome. For example, it was my partner's birthday during our visit and he was feted not once, but twice (!!) by different staff members with birthday cakes and wine. A special thanks to Bun Rath who hand delivered a cake, wine and handwritten card to him. His sincerity touched us both!

The graciousness of its staff aside, what surprised me most (and what never translated for me from the reviews I'd read) was how formal the hotel feels in relation to the Raffles in Siem Reap, where I stayed 9 years ago (and where we visited later in our trip). That hotel feels less Royal and more, well, almost homey (as opposed to Grand). The Raffles le Royal has a more urban elegance, with a few casual venues: the bistro for breakfast and light meals, and the coffee/sundries shop.

A couple of other notes: the salt water pool is large and inviting, enclosed in a peaceful, palm tree lined courtyard. The gym's outdated equipment and smallish space, along with its weak air-conditioning, was somewhat of a disappointment, although serviceable. We enjoyed two very good massages at the spa. Finally the formal restaurant is simply not to be missed - we had the best meal of our entire trip there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaisieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate you most kind review of the Raffles Hotel Le Royal, and are very glad to read that you did enjoy your visit and stay with us. It was a great pleasure to welcoming you, and we thank you for your detailed review of your impressions.

We hope you will visit us soon again, and look forward to your next stay.

With personal regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2014

There is no better hotel in Southeast Asia. I'm willing to be there is no better hotel in the world for the price. Staff are exceptionally courteous, the grounds are beautifully kept, and the pool is a perfect oasis.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David Gannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear David,

Many thanks for your most kind review, and for sharing your impressions of the Raffles Hotel Le Royal. We are honored to be one of your favorite hotels, and we do look forward to your next visit – hopefully soon.

With personal regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

One of the very best hotels in the world. I would most certainly return again. I will use the Raffles Group of Hotels more often from now on. Do not be put off by the price, the experience and the service is worth every penny

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham Strachan... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Graham,

It was a pleasure to read your reply. We are delighted to see that you did have a comfortable stay with us, and it was our pleasure to welcoming you to Raffles Hotel Le Royal, and to introduce you to Raffles.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back one day soon, and look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We live in Phnom Penh for years, and it becomes a tradition to stay at Raffles hotel for my wife birthday (but not only), which i mentionned for the first time in the reservation.
The hotel offered us few things, including a birthday cake. They even sent me an email to ask which flavor we like!

The hotel is quiet and relaxing, rooms are well designedand comfortable, service is perfect. Even guests says hello to each others in the corridors. The food is great in all restaurants, don't miss the outstanding breakfast!
Staff at the swimming pool offered some ice creams to all swimmers in the afternoon. Staff at Monivong cafe took care of our kids. The Spa uses high quality products from France, Dermalogica.

Luxury is about details. In Raffles, you have them all!

I read some negative comments regarding the wifi speed, probably from guests arriving from Europe. I would like to say this is much faster than any other hotel in Cambodia!

This is the first review I write on Tripadvisor (or others). Congratulations to all the staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Bruno,

Thank you for choosing the Raffles Hotel Le Royal to celebrate your wifes birthday, and for giving us an opportunity to make your weekend a little more special. It was all our pleasure to welcoming the two of you, and we are delighted that you did have an enjoyable weekend.

Please do not wait until the next birthday to spoil you, and do feel free to stop by for a relaxing break at any time. We are here for you, and look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

A fantastic hotel, taking advantage of a wonderful building and location by putting together a truly classy outfit. The service is very good - I can see how it is overbearing for some, although it is surely better to offer to help too often than too little.

The Elephant bar is wonderful, especially with half price drinks during happy hour. Smoking indoors may not appeal to all, though the air is well cleaned and it only added to the atmosphere for me.

The historic building has been beautifully refurbished and it is in a very convenient part of town. Is by no means the cheap place to stay, but everyone visiting PP should treat themselves to a couple of nights at least - it is worth it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Matt,

Many thanks for sharing your impressions of the Raffles Hotel Le Royal, and for your kind post on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read about your experience, and appreciate your take on the service oriented attitude of our colleagues.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day soon, and look forward to a return visit.

With kind regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,437 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 267 in Phnom Penh
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,921 reviews
2.5 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Property: Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing