We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possible the complete package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #15 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
148 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Possible the complete package”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. What an experience. We loved every second. The check in was slick and we were shown to our executive suite room by our personal butler. The room was spacious, with classy decor. It had a small kitchen and lounge area, a bedroom next door and a spotless bathroom. Our son had a bed made up in the lounge which didn't impact on the space. We even had 2 balconies which overlooked the pool.
We had just broken our camera by dropping it in Singapore and were disappointed as it was only the beginning of our holiday. As we past a Nikon shop on our transfer to the hotel we asked by chance if our butler could take it to find out what was wrong and if it could be fixed. Within 30 mins he was back with camera which was now fixed(apparently something just needed clipping back into place inside) we were so grateful and asked what we owed. $5 was the answer just for the tuk tuk. What amazing service and we are incredibly grateful.
Whilst there we enjoyed lunchtime snack and cocktails around the pool. Which were excellent value for money.
We wanted a personal tour to the killing fields and some other sights. Our butler arranged it for the day and length we wanted, with a wonderful English speaking guide at a fabulous price. We were interested in the history of the hotel and our butler happily took us on a tour of the hotel and showed us various suites for example the Jackie Onassis suite (which was actually smaller than ours) but charming all the same.
The elephant bar was a delight. Fantastic atmosphere amazing service and staff. The femme fatale cocktails were wonderful and the bar staff even wrote down the recipe for me. The drinks were inexpensive and served with a selection of nuts, salsa etc. it was never over crowded and had a real old world charm about it.
Breakfast was superb, great food and service again nothing was too much trouble. We ate on most nights at the hotel due to heavy rain showers in the evening. Sometimes in the elephant bar and once in the restaurant. We ate outside but undercover, mosquito repellent and smoke rings were provided. They catered for my child's needs well and the food was delicious. Quite quiet in the restaurant but a few tables came and sat outside as well, but it didn't spoil the atmosphere as it felt almost like private dining.
We have stayed at raffles Singapore a couple of times and although it is something very special to us, raffles Phnom Penh somehow surpassed it, as for us it was the complete package. Great raffles service, room quality, food, set within a historic hotel but at a reasonable price and without the huge quantities of people. Would return in a heartbeat. Thank you for a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    456
    110
    45
    19
See reviews for
258
831
120
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I guess this is what you can expect from a luxurious experience at the Raffles. The hotel is beautiful and very well maintained. Unfortunately for us, part of the terrace near the pool was being renovated during our stay (with work starting at 7am in the morning...). Our room was beautiful -even if quite small- bed super comfortable and staff is very well trained & nice. A small improvement may be for the staff to give a bit more 'space' to their guests, i.e not asking every 2 min during breakfast if everything is going well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Raffles Le Royal as your residence in Phnom Penh. I would like to extend my apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced, while emergency repairs were carried out. All repair works have been completed, and the entire Pool Area is again an Oasis in Phnom Penh.

We are very glad to see that this did not change your overall experience, and are very glad that you enjoyed your time with us in Phnom Penh.

Please do be in touch when your travel plans include Phnom Penh the next time so I may be able to assist with a reservation myself.

With best regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed in a Raffles Hotel after Singapore and Seam Reap and the experience each time has been exceptional. I arrived in Phnom Penh at a time when there was some disruption due to the political situation. Bust as soon as you walk through the door you relax and feel like you have been whisked back 40 years to a paradigm which also has all the traditional modern comforts like cable TV and WiFi. EVERY member of staff I encountered was very friendly and professional and made me feel very much at home. Breakfast was great and I can certainly recommend the coffee and the waffles !. The wine list was also surprisingly good for Cambodia. A lady from the marketing department was also really helpful and knowledgable regarding making recommendations for going out and about around the city and seems to know all the best places and the "movers and shakers" - thanks again Noemie !. Also, try and go on a Thursday night - teh Elephant Bar makes probably the best cocktails on Phnom Penh and Thursday evening is their "High Heels" night and well worth heading down for.

Room Tip: The new wing was built in the 1920's and has a more "colonial" feel to it. Depends on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review and your loyalty to Raffles Hotels and Resorts! We certainly appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your visit to Phnom Penhs’ Palatial Residence.

Our special thanks for mentioning Noemie and her tips to find your way around the Night Life in town. Also for highlighting the Fashion Thursday in the Elephant Bar, which started with a High Heel Theme, where the Fashion Theme will change on a weekly basis.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day soon, for a Thursday Evening in the Elephant Bar when visiting us the next time.

With best regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at Raffles in Phnom Penh for 2 nights, and was upgraded to a Jacqueline Kennedy suite. The room was beautiful and the service was fantastic, but not as good as Raffles in Siem Reap. Good location and beautiful old world charm. Definitely stay here in Phnom Penh

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smbsstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at both of our hotels during your visit to Cambodia last month. It was our pleasure welcoming you, and we appreciate that you had an enjoyable experience at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and at the Raffles Hotel Le Royal.

We appreciate being your hotel of choice as well for future visits to Phnom Penh, and we hope you will return soon to Cambodia, and visit us again.

With best regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Raffles Hotel. Every single person we encountered, without exception, was warm, attentive and helpful. The manager was great. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the food is delicious. The only thing I wasn't so thrilled with is the hotel's cancellation policy. We were going to cancel our trip due to the protests going on in Phnom Penh and concern about bring our young children there but were told that we would have to pay for one night anyway due to the 48 hour advance cancellation policy. Ultimately, we looked into the risks and determined that it would be fine so we went on the trip anyway -- and it was fine -- but I think we should have been able to cancel our reservation with no penalty due to the political situation. It was clear while we were there that tourists decided not to visit for the same reason. Also, loud mosquito fogging (I think) woke us up at 6 am on Saturday!!!

Room Tip: Next time I'll try a pool facing room since they might quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_GenMgr, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that your visit met your expectations.

We do hope to welcome you back to the wonderful city of Phnom Penh and to Raffles Hotel Le Royal again in the not too distant future.

With best wishes

Pieter van der Hoeven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Exceptional service awaits you at Raffles Le Royal. We arrived in the evening and were immediately overwhelmed by the kind and attentive service and the thoughtfulness of a welcoming drink.

The sense of history and the loving restoration of this grand hotel further enhanced the enjoyment of our stay here.

The location suited our needs perfectly as we thoroughly enjoyed the leisurely stroll to the Riverside area or alternatively utilising the plentiful tuk tuks from the entrance of the Hotel.

A highlight aside from the service was the buffet breakfast. An exquisite selection of quality options was the finest we enjoyed on our travels in Asia. We enjoyed our leisurely breakfast and the chance to engage with the delightful restaurant team members. As our four day stay drew to an end we felt a tinge of sadness to be leaving our new friends but look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_GenMgr, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to meet you during your recent stay and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Our team in Cafe Monnivong await your return, as do all our colleagues.

We look forward to being of service again.

With kind regards,

Pieter van der Hoeven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was like stepping back in time to old world French colonial! Location average but within tuk tuk distance of restaurants and such. Our room was comfortable with a charming balcony overlooking the pool area. In the evening it rained hard and we went for a swim in the pool below the plumeria trees. It was magical. The breakfast was phenomenal and the best so far on our Asian tour. Happy hour at the lobby bar was fun and great friendly employees. However, they either need to learn to pour a real drink or else lower the price. Could barely see the gin at the bottom of the glass before nearly a whole can of tonic was added!

Overall, we would suggest this hotel to friends visiting Cambodia and would definitely return. Also of note is that Cambodia mostly runs on US currency so be sure you have some, and no rips and tears on the bills.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank issek1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_GenMgr, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Phnom Penh and we are delighted that the charm of Raffles Hotel Le Royal was too your satisfaction.

I will personaly double check the gin and tonic's are being poured correctly at the Elephant Bar and appreciate greatly the feedback.

We look forward to being of service again in what we hope is the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Pieter van der Hoeven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
2.5 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Property: Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing