We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Destination Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #14 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Even if the Raffles were not so great, people would still want to stay here because of the history. It's a destination in of itself like Disneyland. But, it was still very pleasant and I thoroughly enjoyed the massive breakfast spread which included everything from fresh noodle soup to microgreens to milk fruit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiksAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your most kind review on Trip Advisor. Raffles Hotel Le Royal, which opened in 1929, is indeed Phnom Penh's palatial residence and a must see of the architectural landscape of the capital.

I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast at Café Monivong. We are emphasizing strongly on quality rather quantity and aim to provide a breakfast experience one would enjoy in a grand mansion.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.

Personal Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

A beautiful hotel experience.. This hotel is very old and traditional with a lot of history.The service was impeccable. Beautiful breakfast buffet with fabulous food from fresh squeezed juices to whole wheat croissants. Waffles and French toast is made to your specifications. The Elephant Bar has a nice atmosphere and a happy hour every night. We really enjoyed the piano player there each evening. The location was very convenient to make your way around the city. We enjoyed a morning at the pool where bottled water and pineapple on a stick was brought to us for our refreshment,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy71356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted that you found the service in our beautiful hotel to be impeccable whilst enjoying the historical ambiance. Our culinary and service colleagues are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast at Café Monivong. Our team at the Elephant Bar along with pianist Roel were delighted about your praises and send their heartfelt regards.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.

Best wishes,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

from the moment you see your driver in full uniform greeting you at the airport you know you have made the right choice. After a smooth drive from the airport the grand entrance to le royal
is finished nicely by the uniformed doorman in traditional headwear. Check in was so quick you barely have time to finish your welcome drink. Nice clean room with balcony where you can really appreciate the peaceful oasis that le royal is in an otherwise noisy as bustling city.
The elephant bar is another great escape from the chaos outside ,good range of beers, they had hoegaarden when I was there. and the wine also seemed popular on another table.
If its the heat you need to escape from this hotel has two swimming pools and plenty of shade, very refreshing after a days sightseeing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbarry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor and for recommending Raffles Hotel Le Royal.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's palatial residence in the hopefully near future.

Best personal regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Currently enjoying a 4 night stay at Raffles. The hotel oozes charm and elegance but at a price.
The staff are exceptional and remember your name when they greet you and even when you arrive you get a personal welcome chat from the duty manager.
The elephant bar has the best cocktails I have ever tasted but unfortunately is let down by allowing smoking even though clearly the majority of customers do not smoke. Happy hour from 4 till 9.
There are two beautiful pools one for adults only but the poolside ambience was on occasion spoilt by noise from renovation work to the hotel building.
But overall an amazing hotel and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityhooper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review and I am delighted that you are enjoying your stay with us. Really delighted that our charming colleagues make you feel at home by addressing you by your name and looking well after you.

My apologies for the smoking issue at the Elephant Bar which I fully emphasize with you. Smoking is still an integral part of socializing over drinks and snacks for our local patrons, hence we are currently looking into this matter. The necessary repair work on the roof's timber awnings are nearly finished and I am sorry about noise disturbances during the past week.
I trust you continue to enjoy your stay at our colonial residence and thank you again for choosing Hotel Le Royal for your stay in Phnom Penh.

Kindest Regards,
Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for about 5 nights on a business trip in late march. Overall a very pleasant experience. Quality of rooms, food and general service. There was a minor hiccup when they charged my credit card for minibar consumption which didnt happen, but luckily this was rectified and charges reversed when i wrote to the hotel about this.

For those used to the more swanky and newer hotels in Asia, will be disappointed since this hotel and in general all the Raffles chain of hotels in SE Asia are colonial structures and would appeal to those who appreciate such aesthetics.

The only very minor issue regarding service is that there is too much of "Thank You" and How are you" from the staff. Its a bit of an overdose at times but its quite common in these parts and not specific to this hotel i guess. A smile and nod of head can be just as polite and courteous as the words maybe?

I would not hesitate to stay here again although the prices here are quite steep but rest assured you be receiving quality service for this.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My sincere thanks for your review on Trip Advisor and for highlighting both compliments and areas of opportunity. Guest feedback such as yours is of high value and we consistently use such during our training sessions. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I travel quite often, and there are some properties that always have something a bit different. The Raffles Phnom Penh is one of them.

The pool is great, the rooms spot on.

I love the history, and its always my preferred spot in Phnom Penh.

We stayed at Christmas last year and it was a lot of fun

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyjourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted that your enjoyed your time and evaluate our hotel and experience as "awesome". We are all glad you had a great time during Christmas and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's palatial residence.

Personal Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel in PP, a real gem of a place to stay. It's a mix of classic old world colonial charm and current 5 star luxury. Staff were friendly and accommodating without being over bearing. Food and wine was delightful and the rooms a real treat. The Elephant Bar was a lovely place to start the evening before dinner, and the pool a great place to spend a lazy afternoon. My only slight complaint would be that the pool table in the bar is an anachronism, it's not necessary in a high class cocktail bar. The teenagers playing were polite and well behaved but they really ought to have their own space to play in! Other than that minor gripe this is a fabulous place to stay in a fascinating Asian city.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ShaunyBoy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful words! Our team is delighted that class, tradition and reputation were met in abudance. This is fantastic motivation for all of our colleagues who consistently strive very hard to exceed our guest's expectations.

We all send our best wishes and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Phnom Penh's colonial residence.

Kind Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1.0 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#28 of 274 in Phnom Penh
586 reviews
2.5 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $213 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing