We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but not relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #16 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable but not relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This a beautiful, grand yet charming property, with great, high ceilinged rooms, extremely comfortable beds, and a wonderful atmosphere. Really, everything you could want from a luxury hotel. Once outside of your room however, the solicitousness of the staff is simply overwhelming. No sip from a glass is left unreplenished, plates are removed as you are chewing the last bite, every staff member (and this hotel has an enormous staff) has memorized your name and asks how is everything, when did you arrive, where have you been, where are you from etc etc. Over and over and over. There is no such thing as unobtrusive service here. If you want to feel like the Emperor of Japan, this is the perfect place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Otto1494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your detailed feedback via Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed the style of our historic hotel. Whilst I am always glad to know that my colleagues give their very best in caring for our guests and to comply to luxury service standards, I certainly took note of your point relating to "unobtrusive" service. We are grateful for your illustrations and will utilize such carefully during behavioral service training.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Raffles in the hopefully near future.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    445
    109
    45
    18
See reviews for
256
817
119
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Raffles Hotel Le Royal (or the Le Royal as all the tuk-tuk drivers still know it as), is not only a wonderful hotel it is also played its part in the troubled history of Phnom Penh. It was here that the international journalists were held before being expelled from the country by the Pol Pot regime. As such it is represented by another hotel in the film 'The Killing Fields' as there was no access to Cambodia at the time that film was made.

Whether you choose to stay at the hotel or not it is worth stepping outside the hotel and onto the green opposite as on there is a memorial to the journalists killed covering the troubles.

The hotel is in the embassy area of the city, about a ten minute tuk-tuk ride from the waterfront and royal palace. Wat Phnom is a ten minute walk from the hotel. Tuk-tuks are available from outside the hotel and should cost $3-4 to get to the waterfront, however this needs to be negotiated in advance.

The Raffles hotel is a wonderful colonial building built around a shady courtyard in which there are two large swimming pools, one shallow one for children and a deeper one for adults and lap-swimming.

My party consisted of my wife and two teenage children. We stayed in interconnecting pool facing rooms, The rooms have high ceilings, are not large by American hotel standards, but are a perfectly decent size. The beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms included a separate tub, sufficient to have a proper bath. The showers had both a rain head and a conventional one. There is free wifi both in rooms and around the hotel. There is both air-conditioning and ceiling fans. If you are looking for a bright and airy room then the pool-facing ones are not that. They are not gloomy, but neither are they bright. Being on the ground floor and by the pool (with a small balcony), there is not total privacy if the net curtains are fully pulled back.

Breakfast is eaten in one of the long colonnades - bright but shaded. It is a typical buffet served in Asian hotel a mix of Western and Asian foods.

On checking-in I was told that my rate didn't include breakfast, however when I showed that my booking clearly stated that breakfast was included this issue was resolved immediately.

There is good attention around the pool with cold towels and water being brought at an appropriate frequency. Food and beverages are also available around the pool though these are charged at around four to five times the price you would pay in Phnom Penh.

The hotel will arrange for pick up from the airport. The charge is $33, which is not an inconsiderable amount given the short distance to the hotel from the airport.

The concierge organised a trip to The Killing Fields and S-21 for my party, This was well-organised and the quality of the guide was very good. However there are several alternative ways of arranging these trips online and before you travel.

The concierge was also able to book restaurants across a range of prices and cuisines.

The service in the hotel was excellent and from the moment of arrival the staff addressed me by name which was impressive.

I would certainly recommend a stay at this wonderful, historical hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your stay was memorable and our charming colleagues looked well after you in style.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's palatial residence.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Given that that is the top hotel in Phom Penh one would expect it to be good. We decided to splash out at the end of a tour. Good decision. Staying here in colonial elegance is one of those experiences that you remember. I cannot think of anything of which to be critical. It was very good all the way from the young man who checked us in (and advised that my e mail requestshad ben met) to the door staff who bade us farewell.

Room Tip: Ask for a poo view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JA-Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our colonial residence. Thank you for your compliments with regards to our colleagues at the Front Desk and our Doormen.

We all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Raffles Hotel Le Royal.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We enjoyed it so much we changed our holiday so we could stay an extra 2 nights at the end of our break; service was excellent,bed very comfortable, shower brilliant, breakfast quality not quantity. Only comment of negative would be that food and drink prices compared to outside the hotel are expensive but it's just so good; you feel like you are in a cocoon of loveliness why leave; we did leave and go for adventures, drinks and food but it was just so nice to be back, in the cocoon! at the end of a sight seeing day or the hussle bustle after a meal out for the last drink or two of the evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macs-on-the-move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

I would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us at Raffles Le Royal and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We were all delighted that you extended your stay another 2 nights. Raffles Hotel Le Royal is indeed an "Oasis" within the capital city and we shall continously make all possible efforts to further preserve the uniqueness of our colonial residence in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind Regards,
Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Old world charm hotel that will take your stress away. The staff were most polite and attentive. We enjoyed especially the daily freshly squeezed fruit juices that was served at the buffet breakfast. The only problem we had was - you can hear the flushing of the toilet every time the room next door flushes (no big deal) Other than that, excellent service all the way!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noposhnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Raffles Hotel Le Royal. I am delighted that our polite and attentive colleagues created some memorable experiences for you. Whilst we have upgraded many of our facilities, including refurbishment of our bed rooms and suites, some rather "antique" features such as the non-silent (yet effective!) flushing system are kept from the bygone era.

Truly appreciate your evaluation of "excellent service" and look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.

Personal Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them. They knew what we wanted, andmhow to deliver it.
The property had character & charm, we could almost be forgiven for thinking we'd travelled back to French colonial times.
Restaurant food was good quality, and again, outstanding service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted that you evaluated our colonial residence as "Great Home away from Home". It is indeed our aim to make our guests feel that way and we are all pleased that our colleagues created enchanting experiences for you.

It is our mission to have Raffles Hotel Le Royal remaining as the prime palatial residence in Phnom Penh and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lovely colonial hotel with very attentive staff. Rooms clean and comfortable, however we had a room overlooking street which was quite noisy early morning about 6am, so no lie in. The restaurant was expensive and the service was slow, not impressed. The breakfast was good but not as good a selection to other hotels. I did not like the Elephant Bar, too many people smoking, and the decor is overdue for a upgrade, very old fashioned and tired, the food was better here and the cocktails good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geranium1HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Raffles Hotel Le Royal. We are very glad to see that you had a pleasant time with us in Phnom Penh!

Please accept our sincere apologies for being woken up early. Therefore I would like to offer my personal assistance, to ensure a room overlooking the pool upon a return visit. As we are constantly improving our services, we appreciate your comments about our restaurants and the Elephant Bar.

We look forward to your return visit to Phnom Penh, and welcoming you back hopefully soon. Please feel free to contact me directly to assist in any possible way. I took the liberty of sending a message through TripAdvisor.

With personal regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Property: Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#12 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing