We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #15 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
488 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

They call this a 3-star hotel but I would say that’s on a 3-star scale. The French colonial ambiance has been welcoming the likes of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, President Obama and other celebrities for over 80 years.We are greeted with a ginger tea that has a ginger rod and an orchid in it. We are escorted to our rooms, which have lovely colonial furniture and a balcony overlooking a double set of pools which are VERY inviting. Buffet lunch in the hotel is superb. I like this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the colonial ambiance along with your room, pool areas and your lunch at Café Monivong. I am delighted that you had a lovely time at our colonial residence and already look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    456
    110
    45
    19
See reviews for
258
831
120
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
212 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed with my teenage son 4 days in the Raffles. The hotel has a lot of charm and is in an excellent condition. Check in is very efficient. The room has all comfort though at the same time also the old charm : the electricity switches are the old ones, no card key yet (a real key), bathroom has something retro. Though at the same time, all works well and is in excellent condition. Only negative point : the airconditioning is very noisy. We also enjoyed the little balcony which is just big enough for 2 chairs though with a good view on the courtyard (we had room number 159).

Food and service is excellent. Breakfast is served on the terrrace outside (buffet) and we had difficulties to leave the breakfast table for sightseeling. Also the buffets in the evening and the food served at the pool are great. Try the elephant bar : happy hour from 4 till 9 and a great atmosphere. Strongly recommended !

I used the healthclub every day. Well equipped and very stylish !

Overall : we spent some great time in Phnom Penh and in the Raffles and we really liked it. Yes, we will be back !

Room Tip: The standard room (room 159) we had was excellent and we really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

I would like to personally thank you for staying with us at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, Phnom Penh. It has been a pleasure having you with us and we are all pleased that your stay with us was memorable and enchanting. Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor, your compliments about our colleagues and service, as well as for bringing the air-condition matter to my attention. We shall follow up on this immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Raffles Hotel Le Royal, our residential sanctuary in the heart of Phnom Penh.

With kindest regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Built by the French in the 1920s, restored and impeccably clean, this property is a stereotype of relaxed visiting. Large rooms, quiet spaces, classic decor, extremely attentive service, it is worth booking here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Resident,

Greetings from Phnom Penh and many thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the historic attributes of our palatial residence. Our heartfelt appreciation to you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Hotel Le Royal in the hopefully near future.

Best Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Raffles in January this year as part of a trip to celebrate our 20th anniversary . I cannot fault the hotel or its staff in any way truly classy with nothing been too much trouble . A huge thank you to Gerrit Thesing the director of rooms and of course Mr T our butler . The staff made every detail of our stay truly memorable . Thank you so much for the photo and everything else you did for us . For sure we will be back .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

I am delighted that your 20th anniversary celebration at Raffles Hotel Le Royal was memorable. Your special praises about our service and colleagues will be shared with the greatest of pleasure.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This by far the best value for money hotel in Phnom Penh. Nice and helpful staff good location and nice to be able to do some decent swimming after a long day site seeing.
Hope to stay there again on my next visit of Cambodia.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike020ins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to recommend Raffles Hotel Royal on Trip Advisor. Your kind comments relating to our service, location and leisure facilities will be shared with my entire team. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This may not be the cheapest hotel in PP but it must be the best. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

- Our ground floor poolview room was quiet & relaxing
- Monivong restaurant - excellent food, service and ambience. We had buffet and
a la carte dinners, and especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet not just because of
the choice & quality of the food but the calm atmosphere both inside & out and the
excellent service. LIked individual coffee & tea pots.
- Happy Hour in Elephant Bar - great cocktails reasonably priced - worth booking a
table as it does get busy
- Hotel limousine for tour - friendly informative driver
- Same day laundry service - dirty/dusty clothes returned spotless and beautifully
pressed
- Very visible management and it shows - ALL staff professional yet friendly
- Only slight grumble would be housekeeping seemed to be done at inconvenient
times. Maybe a 'Make up my room' sign as well as 'Do not Disturb' would be
helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aporo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor, we are truly humbled by your praises and detailed illustrations. Our teams at Café Monivong, the Elephant Bar, Laundry Valet and Limousine/Guest service department are all delighted by your comments which are of greatest motivation.

Thank you for sharing your comment relating to the "do not disturb sign". Each room is equipped with a "do not disturb sign switch" (adjacent to the main light switch). We shall check each room's "DND" signage in order to ensure good visibility, and appreciate your feedback, which assists us to continuously improve our guest's comfort.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Raffles.

Kindest Regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Raffles hotel. The staff were very friendly and the whole environment was to die for. I ate in the restaurant on two evenings and the choices were excellent. Breakfast was fantastic, with delicious bread and fresh fruits plus many more things to choose from. I was on a business trip so enjoyed the luxury as I wouldn't be able to afford it on my own.
I only got to see an afternoons worth of Phnom Penh, due to working, which was not enough. What i did see I thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Splash out and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Raffles Hotel Le Royal via Trip Advisor. I am most delighted that despite your busy work schedules, you enjoyed the ambiance and service of our colonial residence. Phnom Penh is indeed a charming city to visit and I hope you will have the opportunity to return in the near future in order to explorer the Kingdom's capital more leisurely.

With kindest regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
2.5 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Property: Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality. The luxury of time. The secret charm of Cambodia. One of Asia's essential destination hotels, Raffles Phnom Penh has been the iconic resting place for the well travelled since 1929. Located in the heart of vibrant Phnom Penh, our hotel has been part of the history of the city and welcomes, as it has always done, a diverse clientele of entrepreneurs, writers, journalists, royalty and intrepid travellers from across the globe. Rooms and suites have been respectfully restored to reflect a distinguished blend of Khmer, Art Deco and French colonial architecture. Dining is an essential part of the Phnom Penh experience. In keeping with history and a sense of place, the elegant Le Royal Restaurant serves modern French cuisine and Royal Khmer cuisine with original recipes graciously gifted to Raffles from the Royal Palace. Almost as famous as the hotel itself, is the Elephant Bar where local residents and visitors alike gather over wine, whisky and cocktails. The Raffles Spa offers relaxation, rejuvenation and fitness through a considered mix of local and classic treatments, gym and spa pool. Complete your visit to Cambodia with a stay at our sister hotel Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, a great hotel of the legendary Grand Tour of Indochina and virtually at the doorstep of the Angkor UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing